Customer Reviews for

Wish You Were Here

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Very Fun Read!

    A really fun book to read. If you like humor with romance thrown into the mix you will enjoy this book. I love a book that makes you laugh with great characters to keep you entertained. If you have read any books by Jill Mansell you will like this author as well. This is my first experience with this author but plan to read more by this author. Well worth your time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Cute romance

    Nice light romance. Perfect summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining second chance contemporary romance

    While holidaying in Corsica, eight years ago Beth Allen met and fell in love with Jack Thornfield. He apparently felt the same way as he proposed and she accepted. Only he vanished without a word. Heartbroken, Beth returned home to England's Lake District.

    Beth obtains a position running the European Sector of Big Outdoors travel agency. She is euphoric as the job seems great and her family needs the income ever since her father was injured in an accident. However, her excitement collapses when she meets the CEO, Jack. Stunned Beth agrees to work there only if Jack agrees never to mention dumping her and their relationship is to remain strictly business only. Beth and Jack still have the deep feelings but he tries to adhere to her stipulations until she heads to Corsica. Jack accompanies her hoping the magic will give him a second chance.

    This is an entertaining second chance contemporary romance starring a strong cast to include the lead antagonists, her family (her dad and sister Lou) and the office. Readers will want to know the reason he dumped her although the cause of Jack's vanishing without a regard to Beth's feeling as he owed her an explanation is weak for such a strong person. Still, fans will enjoy his attempts to regain the trust he nuked in vividly described Corsica.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    If you want to snuggle in on a cold winter's day and just leave the world behind to find a "page turning" love story, look no further! Phillipa Ashley has done it in "Wish You Were Here". You won't be able to put it down until yo

    How often have we wondered what it would be like to run into an love? Especially if that love was your one "true" love? What would we say? What would we do? Or so you thought your life was going along just fine and out of no where, you hear an old familiar voice and everything that you thought you had held together, is now laying like a big pile of jelly on the floor now. Read this "can't put it down" book, and see if some of those questions don't get answered. After reading this book I wanted to fall in love all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed the story, finished it in two days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Seriously

    Does anyone else notice the major typo on the cover? Its supposed to say first loves second chances . That's hilarious ... That in itself made up my mind about buying this book , even if its only 2.99. I can't stand poor editing , if they could let something like that slip their notice on the cover I can only imagine how horrific the inside must be. Seriously ....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A perfect summer read. Get out the sun lounger, turn of your Bla

    A perfect summer read. Get out the sun lounger, turn of your Blackberry and grab a cool drink because you won't want to put this one down. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Engaging Read

    Beth's father has had a stroke and her little sister is still in school, so Beth needs to find a job to help with expenses. But she never expected to work for Jack!

    Ms. Ashley's main female character is Beth, a strong young woman who is facing a lot of challenges at home and in her personal life. Beth is vulnerable, ready to find a man to settle down with but not satisfied with the one who wants her, and quite formidable at work.

    The main male character is Jack, who is good looking and in great shape and who has a past with Beth. He spends all his time working now and has no time for a relationship. However, that doesn't stop him from being pursued by a beautiful blonde journalist.

    Part of the charm of this story is watching the two main characters attempting to discourage the dates that are pursuing them and avoiding the attraction between them. They keep finding themselves in sticky situations where the sexual tension heats up to a foregone conclusion - and then getting interrupted!

    Author Phillipa Ashley lives in the UK which gives the story a European flavor. Ms. Ashley used a few words I wasn't familiar with, but that's part of what makes reading stories from other countries more fun. You learn new terms as you read along. The author uses Corsica as the setting for the ending of the story and her words give you a verbal image of the island and its beauty.

    The story has good continuity, a lively romance and foreign travel which makes it entertaining to read. I really enjoyed this tale of two star-crossed lovers who find their way back to each other.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1