Customer Reviews for

Wishes and Stitches (Cypress Hollow Yarn Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I think Rachael Herron has done a great job with this book! I loved reading it and it was as good if not better than her previous two releases. Ms. Herron is wonderful at writing characters that have serious angst and emotional issues. They're very easy to relate to bec...
I think Rachael Herron has done a great job with this book! I loved reading it and it was as good if not better than her previous two releases. Ms. Herron is wonderful at writing characters that have serious angst and emotional issues. They're very easy to relate to because we all have some sort of angst or pain in our own lives.

I really liked the characters of Dr.Naomi Fontaine and Dr.Henry "Rig" Keller. And once again the family members of Naomi and Rig also played very important roles not only in the development of the story, but they also had little side stories of their own.

I loved the little updates about Abby and Cade and Owen and Lucy. And there was a twist at the end that I did not see coming, but loved! My only complaint would be that Naomi forgave her mother quite quickly and easily after carrying around her feelings and thoughts for a long time. But I am eagerly looking forward to more books about Cypress Hollow and its inhabitants!

posted by csingh on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

2.5 stars

Did I enjoy this book: This was not a book that I read every free chance I had. I found this book to be rather slow. It was really hard for me to get into.

I did not feel for the main character, Naomi, at all. I did not find her sympathetic. I didn't get her. She wa...
Did I enjoy this book: This was not a book that I read every free chance I had. I found this book to be rather slow. It was really hard for me to get into.

I did not feel for the main character, Naomi, at all. I did not find her sympathetic. I didn't get her. She was a knitter - loved to knit - and she moved to a town that was full of knitters. Yet, she didn't share her secret with ANYONE but complained that she wasn't accepted in the town. I also did not buy her shyness and awkwardness. It seemed to contrived.

With that being said, I did get into the book at the last 50 or so pages. That was when I finally got invested and wanted to see how it ended. The ending was good.

I really liked Bruno, the office assistant, and Frank, Rig's father. Both of these characters were well-written and fun to read. I didn't care all that much for Rig. He seemed cocky and a bit of an ass.

Would I recommend it: I would not.

Will I read it again: Nope.

posted by Chrissy_W on October 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    2.5 stars

    Did I enjoy this book: This was not a book that I read every free chance I had. I found this book to be rather slow. It was really hard for me to get into.

    I did not feel for the main character, Naomi, at all. I did not find her sympathetic. I didn't get her. She was a knitter - loved to knit - and she moved to a town that was full of knitters. Yet, she didn't share her secret with ANYONE but complained that she wasn't accepted in the town. I also did not buy her shyness and awkwardness. It seemed to contrived.

    With that being said, I did get into the book at the last 50 or so pages. That was when I finally got invested and wanted to see how it ended. The ending was good.

    I really liked Bruno, the office assistant, and Frank, Rig's father. Both of these characters were well-written and fun to read. I didn't care all that much for Rig. He seemed cocky and a bit of an ass.

    Would I recommend it: I would not.

    Will I read it again: Nope.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Loved it!

    I think Rachael Herron has done a great job with this book! I loved reading it and it was as good if not better than her previous two releases. Ms. Herron is wonderful at writing characters that have serious angst and emotional issues. They're very easy to relate to because we all have some sort of angst or pain in our own lives.

    I really liked the characters of Dr.Naomi Fontaine and Dr.Henry "Rig" Keller. And once again the family members of Naomi and Rig also played very important roles not only in the development of the story, but they also had little side stories of their own.

    I loved the little updates about Abby and Cade and Owen and Lucy. And there was a twist at the end that I did not see coming, but loved! My only complaint would be that Naomi forgave her mother quite quickly and easily after carrying around her feelings and thoughts for a long time. But I am eagerly looking forward to more books about Cypress Hollow and its inhabitants!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Keep your tissues handy

    I think this is the best book in the series so far. The characters are fresh and I felt an immediate connection with them, caring what they thought and how they felt. There are some interesting plot twists that make the story intriguing, not predictable, and kept me reading long past bedtime and when I really wanted to be knitting. This story will stick in my head for a very long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Love this book!

    I'm a big fan of the Cypress Hollow Yarn series. Rachael makes the characters come alive and jump off the page for you. It was great to see all the "old" characters from the first two books. Can't wait for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book but don't always like the bad language in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Absolutely Love This Writer!

    I discovered Rachael Herron totally by accident - I picked up her first book on a whim at the bookstore for a good beach read...not because I read romances generally, but because I am a knitter. What a terrific find! I loved her first book so much, and the second was great, too. But out of the three in this series, this installment just felt like the best so far! I love the knitting aspect of the stories, but it is also really cute how she works characters from prior books into the background of the new stories. You get to find out what happens further along in their various stories - and it is so sweet! Usually, I find romances a bit overwrought, but this writer has a very modern voice and great writing skill, so her books just feel romantic without being cliched bodice-rippers. She made a convert out of me! My only recommendation would be to start at the beginning (How to Knit a Love Song), so you will understand the little side references to some of the characters on the periphery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Like all of Rachel's books, this one is charming if a little slo

    Like all of Rachel's books, this one is charming if a little slow. I was missing the mystery but loved the quotes at the beginning of each chapter. They are the true jewels in this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Recommended for those wanting a semi-hot romantic story

    Full of wonderful characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK

    Rachael Herron is an amazing writer!! I love all of her books but this one is my favorite. She draws you in and gives you clues and hints, but it really is a curveball at the end. I love the surprises and how they aren't obvious. She is absolutely one of my favorite authors and I am in agony waiting for her next book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Best of the three!

    Just a great book for a crisp, fall day. Reminds you of first love and the jitters that go along with it. This was my favorite of her 3 so far. I rarely read a writer more than twice that I want to read more, but Rachel Herron keeps it interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful story of love found in the unlikeliest of places!

    Naomi Fontaine's biggest dream was to live in a small town overlooking the beach. The kind where you can stop in the diner in the morning and have breakfast. Stopping at a table that is reserved just for you as you wave hi to everyone in town that's there for breakfast too.

    And that's the very reason why she has settled down in the small, beachside town on Cypress Hollow, to begin a new life for herself, to open up a small health clinic like her dad used to have and be the resident doctor. Living on an idyllic street reminiscent of any perfect neighborhood, Naomi Fontaine has found true happiness. A thriving practice with the local doctor as his partner who is retiring in a few short months. Not knowing if she'll have enough money to buy out his part of the practice, she can only hope the replacement doctor is someone she can work well with.

    The only problem with Naomi's dream life in Cypress Hollow is she can't bring herself to talk to anyone. Not even all those town residents she passes by on her way into Tillie's diner for breakfast. Nope instead she heads to the farthest table in the back where she tortures herself with the conversations she wished she was having with the people but instead only dreams of those conversations in her head. Why Oh why can't she find it within herself to just talk to people? Even the knitting she is struggling with, she can't manage to wander her way into the local yarn shop and ask for help. Nope, she resolves to stay in her little world until something changes.

    And it does in fact change when Rig Keller walks into the diner one morning. Not quite sure if he is indeed the same person she fell for at a medical convention in Portland, she cringes when she realizes that it is. She wishes she could just crawl into a hole and pull the rock in after her, but when his great rugged looks, and that to die for smile come walking her way, Naomi realizes her life is about to change.

    I received Wishes and Stitches by Rachael Herron compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review. This is such a great love story with so much extra thrown in, the reader is entertained from beginning to end at just what Naomi will do to finally make her dreams come true. Sometimes she gets in her own way instead of just being the bold doctor she was in Portland. Only the trust that was lost so long ago, will make Naomi realize she's been lost and hiding for far too long and it's time to really start living her life. This one rates a 4 out of 5 stars. There is some sexual content that may offend some readers, so be warned. All in all, a great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a warm charming contemporary medical romance

    Home to her late friend knitting expert Eliza Carpenter, Dr. Naomi Fontaine comes to Cypress Hollow, California to practice medicine. However, no matter how hard she tries, she remains the outsider. Her loneliness is accentuated whenever her mom calls; this time the topic being her little sister Anna calling and asking for money. Eliza tells her about her new life, but mom only gets excited when she assumes her daughter has a date, which she does not.

    A SUV hits a boy dashing into the street. Milo's Uncle Rig checks to see if he is okay while Naomi asks him let her examine the child. He informs Naomi that Pederson the lead in their practice just added him as the third partner without telling her. Naomi and Eliza had one incredible night in Portland at a medical convention, the only time in her life that she broke the rules of her rigid adherence. Now they must work together ignoring a strong attraction as he fears relationships after watching what happened to his brother and she fears relationships after her father died whens he was a teen.

    The return to Cypress Hollow (see How to Knit a Love Song and How to Knit a Heart Back Home) is a warm charming contemporary medical romance as neither doctor has a prescription to cure the love blues. With a nod to knitting and a strong support cast including their respective families and the locals, readers will enjoy the tale of two physicians in denial.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1