Customer Reviews for

Wishful Drinking

Average Rating 3.5
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An inspiring story of surving drink and drug addictions set agai

An inspiring story of surving drink and drug addictions set against the backdrop of Hollywood. Very entertaining. Some funny parts. Some sad parts. Overall a great read.

posted by Amanda_P on March 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Kinda Funny

Had some funny moments, but it only took me 45 of those moments to finish this book. A little too pricey for the material and the time it took to read. Save your money and wait for the paperback or buy it on ebay.

posted by jessie2 on December 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Kinda Funny

    Had some funny moments, but it only took me 45 of those moments to finish this book. A little too pricey for the material and the time it took to read. Save your money and wait for the paperback or buy it on ebay.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    An inspiring story of surving drink and drug addictions set agai

    An inspiring story of surving drink and drug addictions set against the backdrop of Hollywood. Very entertaining. Some funny parts. Some sad parts. Overall a great read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    Good, but...

    It's a good 160-ish page book, but would have been a GREAT 320-ish page book. What Carrie has to say is, well, Carrie, which is to say funny, biting and real, but I just wanted her to say a lot more.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review for Digital version.

    I have mixed feelings about Wishful Drinking, I enjoyed it for the most part, and I love Carrie Fisher, but I feel a little cheated. First, to get the technical stuff out of the way, I bought this as a digital book, and at 84 'pages', 10 dollars felt like a lot of money to pay for it. The actual hardcover is something like 124 pages, so I'm not sure if there were a crap ton of pictures left out or what, but that's a fairly big difference. There Were pictures in it, but I haven't yet compared the book to my digital copy to see what was missing. The stories were good, but there was a lot of detail and context missing, whether because she couldn't remember it or because she wanted to leave it out. Fair enough, either way. It was funny, but vague.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Wishful drinking - wish it had more

    It was an easy, quick read, finished the whole book in about 2 hrs. It was neat to have a look into Carrie's life a bit and see why she had issues adjusting to "normal" life but it wasn't very thought provoking. I wasn't sure what to expect when I got the book so I can't say I was dissapointed, but wish I had borrowed it from the library rather than purchasing it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The real princess Leia

    I wasn't surprised to notice that the drunken figure on the cover has the tightly knotted "cinnamon bun" hairstyle of Princess Leia. It is, without a doubt, Carrie Fisher's claim to fame. Thankfully, this book doesn't waste too much time discussing her role in the Star Wars films as that was only a few years of her interesting life. What can I say about her life, now that I've read the book? She has certainly had her share of drinking and drug problems. I also found that her personal preoccupations are given with a raw power and sharp edge that you see in her fiction, especially her debut novel, Postcards from the Edge. A worthy read.<BR/><BR/>And I know it's a bit early, but I'm a member of the media and can't resist sharing an INCREDIBLE new memoir that I received an pre-publication copy, called I Love Yous Are for White People: A Memoir (P.S.). I quite literally laughed and cried while I read it, and I think many more will do the same when it's released in a few months.<BR/><BR/>And my favorite non-fiction book of late is The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Carrie Fisher's Scattered Brains

    I found Carrie Fisher's biography to be quite entertaining albeit hard to follow at certain points. Her style of writing is to insert random details of her life all over the place with very little thought as to how to put them together. Granted, this could be because of the ECT, but my mother said she has read Postcards from the Edge, and that it had a similar writing style.

    Luckily for Ms. Fisher, this style works for her story, and keeps you entertain as you waft through the folds of her brain and discover what its like to be Hollywood 'royalty'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious and absorbing, you can't put it down...

    I was looking for a "break" from the mind-absorbing self-help read. I stumbled upon her book in B&N. I had heard of Carrie's struggles through various media outlets, but never got the scoop. The reviews/feedback got the best of me to get the book....and I'm very happy I did! Carrie's blunt and comical writing style just drew me in to find out more about her and her journey through life up to now. It's a short read so there aren't any wayward paths she wanders down. She keeps it simple and to the point on her feelings and the events transpired. It makes me want to hear more about her "secrets" and want even MORE to find the opportunity to check out Wishful Drinking, the show. Any Carrie Fisher viewer/fan from any of her movies will enjoy IMO.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I expected more out of this book.

    I bought the audio book version because I have a long daily commute and like to listen to books instead of the radio and because I really like Carrie Fisher and admire all she's managed to accomplish in her life despite being bi-polar. But I thought, for the most part, this book was a non-event. Mostly just boring. Carrie Fisher's narration seemed an awful lot like watching a student overact in a high school play. Too emphatic in places like she was trying to cue the listener to the fact that "here comes a funny part." Perhaps it would have been better to read it than to listen to it. I just expected more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy on the eyes and soft on the heart...a wonderful book from a wise and truly brilliant comic

    Where Terri Cheney describes in her book -- Manic: A Memoir -- her depression, electroshock therapy and use of prescription drugs and alcohol in a serious, heartbreaking manner, Carrie Fisher's book -- Wishful Drinking -- recounts many similar experiences from more of a "been-there, done-that" survivor's perspective.

    Fisher's inside stories of being the daughter of glamour couple Debbie Reynolds and Eddie Fisher, her marriage to folk-rock icon Paul Simon, being Princess Leia of Star Wars fame, learning that her husband and father of her daughter is gay, and dealing with being manic-depressive, bipolar and drug issues, is told in an honest, straight-forward and hilarious manner.

    We've all -- whether we live in Kansas or Beverly Hills -- had weird, strange disasters to befall us. It's just part of being human. And, while the event may seem like the end of the world to us at the time they occur, years later they become just another funny story we tell to our best friends to share a laugh with. This is that sort of book, only Carrie Fisher has had more weird, strange events happen to her than most of the rest of us would in five lifetimes!

    I loved the feeling of being privy to know what it's like to grow up in Beverly Hills, to learn what she thought of having such wealthy and famous parents. To hear the inside-stories of her father, ex-husband and George Lucas' owning her image from Star Wars' to make money off pez despensers, posters and a wide variety of other odds and ends.

    At some point, a lot of us who deal with trying to live in such a crazy world decide to either give up and be angry at life forever, or -- and it's a choice I admire and believe in myself -- we just squeeze the lemons in our life dry, add sugar (and more than a bit of humor) and make lemonade. Bravo Carrie ! Good job, great lemonade !

    R. Neil Scott
    Middle Tennessee State University

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    MEMOIR of Carrie Fisher

    I thought it was a really good read although it might have been less humorous than I expected it to be. It doesn't have much detail and it's a bit rushed but it doesn't disappoint. Surprisingly, It leaves you with a sense of accomplishment in having read the book because she goes through all the stages of her life. You could probably read this in two and a half hours so don't expect anything grand.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    Start of a good book.

    This is a good beginning of a very funny & entertaining book.....b/c it is only 87 pages long. It is hard to believe that someone who seems to like to talk so much has written so little and call it a book. It's not worth the $10.99 I paid to read it. Some of the 87 pages have one small picture or a few lines written on the page. So it's actually shorter than 87 pages. Maybe one day she will find the time to write the rest of the book....and I for one will be glad to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    An all over the place account of Carrie Fisher

    I understand this is biography of Carrie's life but it was so all over the place that I found it hard to understand what the book was letting us know about her. It didn't seem to follow any sort of timeline and felt like she was taking you on a journey of her mixed-up, all over the place mind. I was definately expecting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    disappointment

    I know Carrie Fisher can be witty and original, but the writing in this book was neither. It simply was a mess. <BR/><BR/>I had one or two good laughs but the rest of the time the book was fairly boring.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    Not worth the money

    To me the book reads like a kid who just found new nasty words. <BR/>I was so disappointed that someone would want to write such a<BR/>book.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2015

    Don't waste your money

    Enough said

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2015

    The only book that ever caused me to laugh out loud!

    What a sharp sense of humor - A+ Carrie's life was amusingly well explained and believable. The revealing story and honesty was appreciated and made the book a fantastic read. This book among the 40 + nook books that I have read gets a rating as my second best Nook Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    Not

    Choppy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    OK

    Too short and on the surface.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Must Read!

    Carrie Fisher is brash, witty and honest in this book. Delightful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13