Customer Reviews for

Wishful Drinking

Average Rating 3.5
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

An inspiring story of surving drink and drug addictions set agai

An inspiring story of surving drink and drug addictions set against the backdrop of Hollywood. Very entertaining. Some funny parts. Some sad parts. Overall a great read.

posted by Amanda_P on March 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Kinda Funny

Had some funny moments, but it only took me 45 of those moments to finish this book. A little too pricey for the material and the time it took to read. Save your money and wait for the paperback or buy it on ebay.

posted by jessie2 on December 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Kinda Funny

    Had some funny moments, but it only took me 45 of those moments to finish this book. A little too pricey for the material and the time it took to read. Save your money and wait for the paperback or buy it on ebay.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    Wishful drinking - wish it had more

    It was an easy, quick read, finished the whole book in about 2 hrs. It was neat to have a look into Carrie's life a bit and see why she had issues adjusting to "normal" life but it wasn't very thought provoking. I wasn't sure what to expect when I got the book so I can't say I was dissapointed, but wish I had borrowed it from the library rather than purchasing it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    disappointment

    I know Carrie Fisher can be witty and original, but the writing in this book was neither. It simply was a mess. <BR/><BR/>I had one or two good laughs but the rest of the time the book was fairly boring.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    OK

    Too short and on the surface.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Not as funny as hype claims

    A few bellylaughs, but in between, too much resentment cloaked in mock disbelief. It was much more enjoyable to see her perform it aloud in her show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    A badly written partial 4th Step

    Being in recovery myself, I picked this book to see the commonality of the experience, or not. Unfortunately, Ms. Fisher seemed bent on blame and outward circumstance rather than introspection and healing. It's a sort of "tell-all", which I guess might make some people feel better, knowing the rich and famous have screwed up lives, too. But all in all, I found it a shallow analysis with no new insight, too much carping and little in the way of recovery. It's self-indulgent, juvenile and not even funny. Maybe I just "missed it". Frankly, her first book, "Postcards from the Edge"was healthier, funnier and altogether better. This one comes off as if she dashed it off in order to meet some book advance deal. I cannot recommend it unless you wait for it to hit the bargain stacks, and even then I wouldn't go more than $3.95 for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Disappointment

    Book touted as very funny, but I found little humor in it. Book was just Okay in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    save your money

    while definitely entertaining at times, and a breezy, fast read (i read the entire book in about 2 hours), I found Carrie Fisher's conversational style off-putting. Definitely not in the same category as "Postcards from the Edge" or any of her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2