Customer Reviews for

Wishin' and Hopin'

Average Rating 4
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    Run Don't Walk

    When you are reading Wally Lamb's lastest book you will smile all of the time and laugh out loud half of the time. Did you attend Catholic grade school during the 1960's? Then run don't walk to the book store and pick up this delightful Christmas treasure. Wonderful stocking stuffer. Mr. Lamb kept this book under 275 pages. Wally if you read these reviews, please bring us more stories about Felix and his family.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A new Christmas classic!

    It's a charming book. I have always enjoyed Wally Lamb's other books and it was quite refreshing to have something so humorous from him. While I never attended parochial schools, I feel that I know what one is like from the book. It has a real charm about it and will become one of my annual Christmas traditions. Happy Holidays Everybody!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    Charming and full of the human comedy

    Set in New London, CT in 1964, this story portrays family, from the child's viewpoint, at its best -- loving, supportive, and full of hope. Wally Lamb captures and seamlessly presents the reality of a more innocent time and warms our hearts with laughter and appreciation in the process. A wonderful book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Fun read!

    If you would like to venture into the world of a fifth grade boy going through his family and school life this is a must read! Wally Lamb captures the mind of child perfectly and hilariously. I giggled out loud on every page, in every chapter! This is a light hearted book I will read over and over again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    humorous hysterical historical

    Looking back over years to In December 1964 when Cassius Clay and the Beatles were kings, Felix Funicello, whose family's claim to fame is being a third cousin to Mickey's Annette, attended the St. Aloysius Gonzaga Parochial School in Connecticut. A fifth grader at the time, he, with the help of twice left back Lonny Flood, caused the meltdown (back then we said nervous breakdown) of their teacher Sisters Dymphna. At the time Felix, the smallest child in the fifth grade was going on Ronald Reagan's TV show Ranger Andy as a Junior Midshipmen and his mom was participating in the TV Pillsbury Bake Off show.

    The school is doing a Christmas play production while the newest student is Russian tomboy Zhenya Kabakova who competed with the boys in their sports like dodgeball and "bezbull." All the students assumed she is a Soviet spy. Felix who was ranked as the second best student knew he could never catch the #1 Rosalie Twerski because she worked the teachers. When his mom melted down on TV frightening the host Reagan, Felix vows to save the family honor. Looking like the comic strip character Dondi, he goes on Ranger Andy and tells a dirty joke that turns Reagan's face red. However, it is the shenanigans involving the Christmas play that will go down in parochial school infamy.

    This humorous hysterical historical tale targets two prime groups though other readers will appreciate the pranks too. Young adults will root for the feisty almost famous Felix and nostalgic boomers like me (elementary school student at the time) who know Annette by her first name and remember the Louisville Lip before he became Ali. Wally Lamb provides an engaging look at 1964, a pivotal year in American culture with the British invasion and our first environmentally conscious politician Lady Bird beautifying America. This is a winner.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2012

    Our book group gave "Wishin┬┐ and Hopin┬┐" 4.5 stars! Wh

    Our book group gave "Wishin’ and Hopin’" 4.5 stars! What a fun, light quaint read with wonderful "come to life" characters. So many characters in the book are very memorable.
    Those book group members that went to parochial schools truly related to the story's main setting. Lamb gave the group flashbacks to commercials, TV shows...of the mid- sixties. Well written, would recommend! Left us wishin’ and hopin’ for more Wally Lamb!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Wally Lamb does it again!

    I loved this book. I had high hopes being that Lamb is one of my favorite authors, and he didn't disappoint! A great read this time of year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Life as a 5th grade boy in 1964, fun memories!

    It's 1964, LBJ and Lady Bird are in the White House, Meet the Beatles is on everyone's turntable, and ten-year-old Felix Funicello (distant cousin to Annette!) is doing his best to navigate fifth grade - easier said than done when scary movies still give you nightmares and you bear a striking resemblance to a certain adorable cartoon character boy.

    But there are still several things young Felix can depend on: the birds and the bees are puzzling, television is magical, and this is one Christmas he's never going to forget.

    In Wally Lambs Christmas story, Wishin' and Hopin', we get a birds eye view of the life of Felix Funicello who attends a Catholic school, St. Aloysius Gonzaga Parochial School. He personally feels responsible for one of his teachers, Sister Dymphna, melt down, will always be second to Rosalie Twerski who out does him in everything from making cardboard display boards for Literature and English grammar rules as well as her constant souvenirs from her vacation spots that are shared in Science class and remains number one in the class..

    This at a time when Russians were believed to be communists, his mother is about to be on national TV for the Pillsbury baking contest finals, and he is trying to fit in with the rest of the boys in the fifth grade.

    To read all about Felix's confession, you'll have to check this wonderful book out. I have to warn readers that there is profanity and some strong subject matter when dealing with what 5th grade boys are thinking about during this stage of their life.

    I received this book compliments of TLC Book Tours for my honest review and have to say for the most part I loved it. My hubby and I took turns comparing notes from our childhood to Felix's and some of the things he said were very memorable. I would rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars just for the language and subject matter but otherwise it's a great story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    A charmer

    I read this book quickly, as I do all of Mr Lamb's books...I was thrilled to see another book out so soon from him! It was charming, and like all his books, his narrative feels authentic. She's Come Undone has been my favorite book since it was first chosen for Oprah's book club, and I've read them all and love them all. This is a quick, easy, enjoyable read, and I can't wait for the next one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Kiss your hand three times and post this at three others book and check under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Wishin and Hopin was A Great Holiday Read on a Snowbound Day

    Wishin' and Hopin' was a delight. Being Italian, teaching in a Catholic School for seven years and knowing fifth grade students certainly increased my enjoyment of this book however it is not a pre-requisite. The scenes in the Catholic Schools were very realistic as well as the dialogue among the fifth grade children . I laughed out loud when the nuns wimple fell off because when I was young I remember my first glimpse at finding the nun I was so afraid of had a bald head. The scene with the Christmas play was also riotous. A nice light read o a dreary winter afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Just the thing I needed....

    After long and stressful days, a great read to relax and enjoy. Kept me smiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Laugh out loud funny!

    Easy and fun read for the Holidays! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    ...

    ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    What a wonderful, light, Christmas read!

    I have read and enjoyed two of Wally Lamb's books in the past. While this book was a little different from his normal content, it was a wonderful, amusing, light-hearted read. Even though the book was set in 1964, I couldn't help but see similarities between my own childhood and classmates in the 1980's... Didn't we all have a Rosalie and a Lonnie in our class? I also saw similarities with my son's current 5th grade class. Several times throughout the book I laughed out loud! If you are looking for a light, humorous read, I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    joyce

    This book wil make you smile

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Easy reading but very entertaining

    Jpw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Good quick read

    As ususal this author's story provided a wonderfully colorful way for my mind to escape the hurries of everyday life in 2013. Memories of grade school antics, unforgettable teachers, and some of your first friends - Wally Lamb brings them back to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Very Entertaining

    A quick read; humerous, & if you went to a parochial school, you will certainly relate. Enjoyable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    recommend

    Having gone to Catholic grade school, I was able to relate to this story. It made me smile alot! It was easy reading and perfect for the holidays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12