Customer Reviews for

Witch & Curse (Wicked Series)

Average Rating 4
( 371 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I really liked this series...

I had no intentions of liking this series when I started reading it, but it definately caught my attention. I had just finished reading the Twilight series and I wanted to read another sci-fi series like that, but not about vampires. This was a great choice for me. If a...
I had no intentions of liking this series when I started reading it, but it definately caught my attention. I had just finished reading the Twilight series and I wanted to read another sci-fi series like that, but not about vampires. This was a great choice for me. If a book doesn't catch my attention in the first few chapters, I'll put it down and never pick it up again. I was captivated from the very first chapter of the series. In the first 2 chapters I had gotten a little confused between the time changes and points of view, but I quickly caught up and couldn't put the books down.

posted by 1273306 on April 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Sure, if you savor human and cat sacrifices, I don't.

OK, I'm no wuss. I dissected a human body myself in med school. I'm a big fan of vampires and Buffy and Wiccan stuff, and have enjoyed other Nancy Holder books. I bravely got through about 600 pages of 'Wicked' with the bad guys killing and human sacrificing and burning...
OK, I'm no wuss. I dissected a human body myself in med school. I'm a big fan of vampires and Buffy and Wiccan stuff, and have enjoyed other Nancy Holder books. I bravely got through about 600 pages of 'Wicked' with the bad guys killing and human sacrificing and burning women and children. So many human sacrifices to the devil in this book, I can't even count. But when the supposed heroine of this novel drowns the sweet, struggling household cat familiar in the bathtub as a sacrifice to the Goddess of all things, that's when I threw this book in the trash where it belongs. It's one thing (although revolting) when the bad guys do this, but the heroine of the book? Not for teens, unless you have antisocial tendencies and enjoy serial killings of humans and animals. No thanks, I've got enough filth stuck in my head already. This isn't fun to me. The whole point of neo-Goddess stuff is to get away from male God cruelty and mercilessness, but apprently Nancy Holder gets off on this cruelty, and then dedicates this Book of Slaughter to her daughter. Disgusting.

posted by Anonymous on August 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Sure, if you savor human and cat sacrifices, I don't.

    OK, I'm no wuss. I dissected a human body myself in med school. I'm a big fan of vampires and Buffy and Wiccan stuff, and have enjoyed other Nancy Holder books. I bravely got through about 600 pages of 'Wicked' with the bad guys killing and human sacrificing and burning women and children. So many human sacrifices to the devil in this book, I can't even count. But when the supposed heroine of this novel drowns the sweet, struggling household cat familiar in the bathtub as a sacrifice to the Goddess of all things, that's when I threw this book in the trash where it belongs. It's one thing (although revolting) when the bad guys do this, but the heroine of the book? Not for teens, unless you have antisocial tendencies and enjoy serial killings of humans and animals. No thanks, I've got enough filth stuck in my head already. This isn't fun to me. The whole point of neo-Goddess stuff is to get away from male God cruelty and mercilessness, but apprently Nancy Holder gets off on this cruelty, and then dedicates this Book of Slaughter to her daughter. Disgusting.

    21 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Too much, too fast.

    This story would have been much better if it had been spread out through 3 or four books. Instead it's like the authors tried crushing a series as big as all the Harry Potter books into one. It was to much information, and it was all rushed.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    I bought this book for my 11 year old daughter (big mistake) and

    I bought this book for my 11 year old daughter (big mistake) and she was absolutely mortified by it.
    Not only does it swear a lot, it also makes inappropriate references and it's constantly talking about
    blood and human sacrifices to the devil.  I would not recommend this book to anyone under the age
    of 15.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    God Awful

    This book (and its subsequent series) is terrible. There are continuity issues abound. It's written very sloppily and obviously edited the same way.

    I love fantasy, even dark and gore-filled fantasy. But this book's very construction sucked. If I could rate it a big, fat goose egg, I would. Don't even both borrowing it from the library. It's not worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    NOT FUN TO READ

    Is it just me, or is this book awful? I picked this up from the bookstore because I thought it would be interesting, and I am completely horrified with it! It starts out wild and out of control, and I have NO idea what is going on. Later, I found it boring and then the "heroine" decides to drown her friend's cat! If you like sacrifices and a psychotic b**** for the protagonist, then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    One of the worst books I ever attempted to read

    I couldn't get into this book. I tried, but after two chapters I just couldn't take it anymore. I tried to give it to my little sister, but she wouldn't even touch it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wicked Book

    At first i felt sorry for Holly (main character). tragedy happened and she got send to her aunt. she has two cousins and a cat, Bast. so i was " aww, alright, at least she has family" but then i read on and as the book went on i got more and more horrified. so many people died and so little mourning it was horrible i mean they talked and all about the deaths but it wasn't the writing that would make you cry it was the writing that would make you say "Naaw" and just would make you want to yell. now this is a warning to all readers who would like to enjoy buying a copy and relaxing and just camly read it, well DO NOT BUY IT! I am serious you could just buy another better book with those 10 dollors. now if your curios like me and read all those negative reviews and you still buy it your going to regret it just like i did because i also bought the 2nd one and still have it in my book shell without reading it. if your still going to buy it then look at this line from the book.
    holly needed to make a sacrifice to get stronger.
    i couldn't kill Bast.(her cat)
    so i killed Hecate instead. (one of her cousins cat)
    don't let that be a turn on for you because i promise you, you won't find any happiness.
    the only reason i put 5 stars on my rating of unforgettable was because it as so much evil you won't forget it.
    i only recommend his book to people who are into the whole darkness no happiness thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    The book was missing....something

    The book Wicked was written by Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguie. The genre is fantasy because most of the characters are witches or warlocks. It can also be romance due to the love triangle that takes place in the book. The cover was done by Sammy Yuen Jr. and was printed in 2003.
    The story is told by the main character Holly Carthers. Holly is an average girl with curly hair and hazel eyes. She is ripped from her home in San Francisco and taken to Seattle to live with her Aunt Marie-Claire and her two cousins, Amanda and Nicole. Amanda is similar to Holly, an average girl but instead she has red hair and blue eyes. Nicole is very much like her mother. She is very beautiful and usually gets what she wants no matter what it is.
    The story takes place in the present time, but is greatly affected by the past. The story mostly takes place in Seattle, where it always rains. This helped the characters greatly in the story and at times wasn't really all that important.
    I think the biggest point the authors were trying to get across were, Doing what's right isn't always the easiest thing to do.And sometimes it takes more that one person to fix the problem. Holly eventually learns that she is a coven leader and often has to make hard decisions for not only the better of her coven, but also for herself as well. The story shows courage as a big part because every character shows some type of courage in a part of the story.
    This is a good book to read when you want to escape to a world that is just not possible in real life.

    The story starts off with Holly, her friend, Tina, and her parents going on a rafting trip. Everything is going well until a thunderstorm hits and makes the rapids dangerous. Holly washes up on shore only to realize that she was the only one to survive. Holly wakes up in a hospital only to realize all of the deaths. Holly's aunt that she never even heard of, wants to take her back to Seattle with her, but Holly wants to stay in San Francisco with her godmother, Barbra. Barbra was Tina's mother and helps plan all of the funerals. Strangely, the man accompanying her aunt is not her uncle but a man named Michael Deveraux. The funeral is a disaster when another thunderstorm strikes. Holly, grief-stricken, knows that the funerals have to be over. As they leave the funeral, Barbra is attacked by a falcon. Leaving Holly with no other guardian, she is forced to live with her aunt and cousins. Upon her arrival, she is introduced to her family ad gets a cat from her cousins.
    The book was average. It wasn't anything big like Twilight but it wasn't horrible. The book was only good at the very end. It builds up all this drama and I feel like it fell short. The first thirty pages were very boring and hard to read. Some of it was very confusing because some of it was in French and jumped around a lot. The story was also very predictable and the ending didn't surprise me at all. I would give this book a 2.5

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    too confusing

    i read like the first 6 chapters of this book. it was so confusing, jumping back and forth between huge groups of people. to me it made no sense, so i shipped it off to my aunt to see if she could make any sense of it. she says it was pretty good and bought the other book to it so yeah. i love reading and usually have a pretty clear picture of what i'm into, but this book was just lost on me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Horrible!

    This book was nothing like what I expected it to be. It was very violent and bloody and could be harmful to impressionable teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    Dissapointed

    I read the back of this book thinking it sounded pretty decent but as I read it made me want to throw the book and never touch it again. It could have been good but I think the authors might of lost track of what they were doing. Without even explaing the girls just decide hey I'm a witch. It confused me and I didn't even bother to read the last book because I suffered enough through the first three. I only read it waiting for the good one to come out like many others.I don't recommend it save your money for something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is the kind of thing that gives Wiccans/pagans a bad rap. The 'witches' in this book work primarily for evil, while Wiccans are actually earth-loving, peaceful Goddess-worshipers. Aside from that, the book was boring, repetitive... the characters were shallow and all the same, and I found myself unable to get through the first section, much less through the entire book. Don't waste your money - there's much better things out there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    Wicked What A Book!

    Wicked is the kind of book where you have to stay focused, and you need to understand what you're reading. It is a great book, tears,laughter, anger, and happiness. Very detailed. You should read this book, if you like spells, witches, warlocks, and friendship. I recommend this book to everyone!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2