BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wit'ch Gate

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Ready for more.

    My only complaint with this book is it could have been a bit longer. I felt it was rushed in a couple of places. Overall though, new characters and unexpected revelations make for a fun read, and I can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was a page turner and kept me reading late into the night. I recommend this book to sci/fi readers everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    A great,(but confusing), book

    I thought it was a really good book, but I had it for about three years before I really got interested in it. All the jumping around from one group of characters to anouther was very confusing at first and made me want to stop reading, but i kept going and really got into the book. It probably didn't help that this was the first book I read, ( not knowing it was in a series), but I over all enjoyed this book very much. I plan on getting the other four books and starting from the begining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    It keeps getting better...

    Wit'ch Gate is probably the most well written book I've read. Book number four drew me in and I couldn't get out untill the end, the cliff hangers will leave you in agony waiting for the story to shift back to a particular group of characters. With every new page, I was awed by the depths of Clemen's imagination, the scenes were incredible, from Kral's home atop a lake to the Crumbling Mounds to Stormhaven, it all makes for an unforgettable story. Any aspiring writer or avid reader should get this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    James Does it Again

    In the 4th book of the Ban and Banished Series, I can only say that the tale of Elena Morin'stal only gets better. Her continuing struggles against the Dark Lord and the battle to free Chi pull you into her world. A world, that by the last page of the book, you do not want to leave. Clemen's ablitity to weave his character's pasts, present and futures together is astounding. He truely has gained a place amoung the great fantasy authors in my mind. If there is only one fantasy series that you can read this year. Read the Wit'ch series. Believe me you will not regret it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    Still #1

    James Clemens again has out done himself. In this fourth book of the series he takes you through all the emotions. He really gets you involved in the story line and the characters. One of the best books out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    It's getting old

    I enjoyed the first book, but each consecutive book seems to have gotten a little more stale. I probably won't buy the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2002

    My only regret is turning the last page!

    Once again James Clemens transported me to the Land of Alansea. Where the witch Elena and her allies must destroy the dark lord's sources of power:the Weirgates. Clemens's world building skills are awesome as ever as he shows more sights of his world. He will show us scenes of elven city in the clouds, sharks who travel in river of sand, ghoulish creatures called Grim who possess bodies. this novel's action sequences have cinematic quality to them. You will watch as our heroes battle d'warves soldiers and monsters. You will bid bittersweet farewell to comrades who will not survive this latest adventure and be astonish as another character who died will be reborn!All and all another demonstration of Clemens's story-telling ability as he shows us magic, menace and wonder of the land of Alansea and the heroic beings who dwell there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    a reviewer

    i loved this book. it was all great until the very last paragraph. what the hell?! i hate when he keeps us in suspense like that! but i love the series and i cant wait until wit'ch star comes out. i just hope nothing happens to Er'ril and Elena's relationship. that might ruin it for me. but i love the books. i couldnt put them down. i read them all in two days, each. i wish the series would never end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    Amazing!!

    I am so excited about he fourth book! This series was wonderful! These books made me fall inlove with reading. He is the best author. He should never stop writing! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting epic fantasy

    The world remains in peril as the Dark Lord, though somewhat repelled, has established four weirgates to absorb the magick that makes this realm survive. As Eleanor the Wit¿ch and her allies argue over what to do next, time slips away. Finally, they agree to break into three teams to attack the Dark Lord¿s minions at the weirgates in which the ultimate evil is not residing. All know if successful and if they survive, there remains the ultimate battle at the fourth weirgate where the Dark Lord awaits their presence. <P>The four foes spread across the orb include a basilisk, a manticore, a wyvern, and a griffin. Though Eleanor and her cohorts contain elemental magic to bring the war to their enemy, each member knows the danger and the probability of death, but no option remains as the quest to save the realm leaves no choice. Now the adventure continues. <P> WIT¿CH GATE, the fourth tale in James Clemens series ¿The Banned and the Banished¿, is an exciting epic fantasy that is a magical element or two stronger than most tales in the genre. Though several twists freshen up the story line, the plot is similar to many of the genre¿s novels. It is the characters, especially Eleanor, who make this adventure spring to life as readers can feel her frustrations, fears and need to triumph over the evil Dark Lord. Mr. Clemens provides the audience with quite a thriller that still has a weirgate to traverse. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    Best Book Ever!

    I was drawn to the first book by James Clemens because the cover was so beautiful. Once I began reading it, I couldn't put it down. I told my sister and she had the same reaction. It is so amazing. I have read all three and I have been counting the days until the fourth book is realeased. James Clemen's books have become my favorit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2001

    MUST BE DA BOMB

    It just has to be Good...i MEAN its From the WItch Fire Series.....I've REAd Everysingle ONE of his books...And EVERYsingle One has been AweSOME...I'm Gonna get this Book AS soon as it comes out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2001

    i can't wait

    this book has to be great the first one held me all the way until the third one. i've been waiting for this book for soooo long. i think i might be the first to buy it. i myself am writing a novel and had to put it on hold because of life but his books inspired me more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2001

    It's finally coming out

    I've waited so long for this book to come out. James Clemens is, in my opinion, one of the best authors out there because he gets your attention from the second word he writes. His series Wit'ch Fire, Wit'ch Storm, and Wit'ch War are so captivating and kept me intrigued the whole time that I look forward to reading his newest work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3