Customer Reviews for

Wit'ch Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Banned & Banished book 5

    A brilliant end to a darkly beautiful series. Highly recommended to fantasy buffs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Incredible series

    What a fantastic series. This, the final installment of the 'Witch' books brings everything to a head. All the interesting plotlines within plotlines, betrayals and heroics interweaving each other is astounding! I would recommend this series to anyone with an imagination. I'm eagarly awaiting any other of James Clemens works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    Awesome Book! Great Conclusion for an excellent series

    Clemens concludes the thrilling adventure of Elena Morin'stal and her comrades with a bang. It's almost a shame that the series has reached its end. If you, too, are a lover of fantasy I STRONGLY encourage you to read this series from beginning to end and look out for the new series that Clemens is writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    Great Read

    I would definitely recommend this book to any fantasy lover, especially anime/manga entusiasts(my friends LOVED it!). The plot is easy enough to follow yet provides enough depth for one to become aborbed in the world of Alasea for hours at a time. An ideal read for young teens, you can relate to several characters, grow with them and learn from their mistakes. I did, the first book came into my hands when I was 13 and the last released shortly after I turned 15, so I related most with Elena in having to grow up too fast. The only things to be desired in the last book would be the lack of character development, too many characters and incredible predictibility in the final battle. The last confrontation with Greshym could have been better, who wouldn't see Joach's 'hero-of-the-day' strategy after reading the previous books? The opening bits about the Kellvish scrolls was unique, albeit overdone, they seemed more fitting of teen amatuers writing fanfiction(sorry for the anology). All griping aside, a great series and so much easier to read and understand than Tolkien. Read it already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    Too Much of a Good Thing

    I, also, have read this entire series. I enjoy fantasy. I started reading the series when I was convalesing from surgery. I had so much invested that I forced myself to spend the $17 for the final volume. The premise of the series is fine but I suggest that you can have too much of a good thing ie., too much action, too many bad guys, too many narrow escapes, too many sub-plots, and even for a fantasy lover, too much fantasy. There is no real character development except possibly for the Ogre, Tolchuck.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    An amazing book

    I've read all five of these books, and this is definitly the best. All of these books wisk you away into their world. The character's descriptions are vivid, and you get to know them like old friends. I highly suggest you read this book. It is nonstop action, although I thought the last chapter about why you can't share the scrolls incredibly stupid. I am looking forward to James Clemens writing more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Brilliant

    After reading Wit'ch Fire, James Clemens quickly became an author I could admire. And from Wit'ch Fire to Wit'ch Star all I can say is that Clemens is a unique and brilliant writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    engaging confrontation that never slows down

    After Elena the Wit¿ch triumphed in several confrontations with the deadly Dark Lord including the destruction of the Weirgates, she resides on the Rosewood Throne recovering from her harrowing experiences with her husband Er¿rill providing solace. However her respite ends when Lord Tyrus introduces Elena to Harlequin Quail, a jester serving as a master spy just in from the cold of performing at the Dark Lord¿s Blackhall keep. Harlequin claims that one Weirgate mightier than the three just destroyed remains open but the little man has no idea where it is, but that the Black Heart must be stopped by Midsummer¿s Eve, only one moon away. Elena and her companions begin the impossible quest to obliterate the final Weirgate before the Dark Lord can evilly use it. However, though keeping her own confidence Elena knows deep inside her heart that in the end it will be a duel to the death at high moon between she and he with the future of the world as the stake. Though the story line is Tolkien fantasy with a good vs. evil quest, fans of the series will delight in the fifth Banned and the Banished novel, WIT¿CH STAR. Apostrophe apologies aside, the current tale is an engaging confrontation that never slows down until the new scholars determine why the Kelvish Scrolls became banned. The key to these novels is that recurring characters never lose their essence though they grow, mature, and change inside well-written quest-based story lines. James Clemens has grown, matured, and changed as an author, which bewit¿ches his readers to want more works from the Commonwealth scholars. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3