Customer Reviews for

Witch World (Witch World Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Classic Pike only better !

    As a long time fan of Christopher Pike it's no surprise to me that I enjoyed this book immensely ! Pike has not lost his touch as a skilled storyteller .... He's gotten better. I'm now looking forward to Thirst #5 and the sequels to Witch World. It's an exciting time to be a Pike fan !

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    I've been a Christopher Pike fan since Thirst. And all I have to

    I've been a Christopher Pike fan since Thirst. And all I have to say about Witch World is WOW!!!! Not only is Christopher Pike one of my favorite authors, witches are very interesting to read about. When I saw this book, I bought it immediaetly. I just picked it up, went to the cash register amd paid for it just like that. i am looking forward to the sequels to Witch World and I am arelly excited for Thirst #5.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Pretty Good

    I think this is a decent book. good, but not perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Pretty good but...

    Pretty good but I think the reactions some of the characters had were too nonchalant. Nevertheless, it was good and the story itself seemed pretty unique. Can't wait for number 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Not Nortons

    Not Andre Nortons witch world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    great series so imaginative I can't wait for the second installm

    great series so imaginative I can't wait for the second installment. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Perfeectt!!

    I dont know how he does it but with every word he pulls me deeper into the storyy!!! Cant wait 4 number two!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Great

    I loved this book alot.. it had a great atory libe and the pages (and the time) flew by while i was reading it. It was so interesting. I cant wait until the second one comes out! ~lizzie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    recommended highly

    this book and the series kept me at the end of my seat until I was done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    One of my favorites

    This book goes beyond human imganation yet again. I love the different demisions he explores and the exciting secrets waiting in every chapter. All his characters find a special place in my heart evert time i read one of his books. I recomend all the Thirst, the Alosha seris, and Remember me
    !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    (Source: I borrowed a copy of this book.) Jessie and her friends

    (Source: I borrowed a copy of this book.)
    Jessie and her friends (including her ex-boyfriend Jimmy) are heading off to Las Vegas for a weekend, but spending time with her ex-boyfriend is going to turn out to be the least of Jessie’s problems during this trip.

    Using a fake ID to get into a casino and play blackjack, Jessie and her best friend Alex sit down to play, when a high roller comes to the table. His name is Russell, and his winning streak is unbelievable. When Alex storms off in a huff, Jessie moves closer to Russell, and with his help wins almost $60,000 (when she started with $20).

    On her way to see Russell again the next day, Jessie somehow ends up kidnapped, and locked in a meat locker – slowly freezing to death. Only to then wake up later in a morgue, about to get a front row set at her own autopsy!

    Somehow managing to wake herself up, Jessie leaves the morgue (giving the poor necrophiliac pathologist a heart attack), and makes her way back to the strip to find Russell. But things don’t seem right – the gamblers in the casinos are playing 22 ‘red queen’, rather than 21 ‘blackjack’.

    Eventually finding Russell again, Jessie finds out the truth – there are two parallel worlds – the normal world, and witch world, and Jessie is a witch. Jessie has 7 of 10 witch genes, and killing her and allowing her to return from the dead was a way to ‘wake-up’ her witch genes.

    Even more shocking is the reason that Jessie has been ‘woken up’ – she has a daughter – Lara, who was born with all 10 witch genes (which has never happened before), and has been kidnapped by the bad witches of Witch world.
    What is really going on though? What do the bad witches want with Lara? How is Jessie supposed to help get her daughter back? And what other shocks are in store for Jessie?


    When I started reading this book I thought I was going to love it, it instantly sucked me in, and the first 50 pages flew by. Unfortunately this was not the case for the rest of the book.

    After Jessie wins the money, things start to become strange. First Jessie gets frozen to death in a meat locker – I’m thinking ‘What? Where did this come from?’
    Then she wakes up as her autopsy is about to be performed, and I’m thinking ‘Seriously? Where did this come from?’
    The she starts beating people up, people start calling her ‘mother’, and when she eventually finds Russell again, he started telling her that she is a witch. So at this point I’m a little disbelieving of this storyline, but I decide to give it the benefit of the doubt.

    Then something even more unbelievable happens – Jessie’s father talks to her on the phone (who she hasn’t spoken to for years), and tells her that the reason that he had to have her killed to reawaken her witch genes, is because someone has kidnapped her daughter. Daughter? Seriously? I mean she’s only 18 herself – and suddenly she has a daughter? This just didn’t fit with the story at all, and I seriously wondered if I wanted to read the rest of this book.

    So, after a break I decided I’d give it the benefit of the doubt again, and keep reading. Things just got worse though, Jessie tries to convince Jimmy (her ex-boyfriend) that she’s a witch, and he’s a witch, and things get even weirder. They find some kid with a tail out in the desert surrounding Las Vegas, and take him back to the city for Jessie’s father (who has now flown in) to give him a physical, and then there’s a lot more discussion of who the bad guys are, what they want, what they hope to gain by kidnapping Jessie’s daughter etc. At this point I am seriously hitting my head into the wall just trying to get such a ridiculous story out of my head. I mean, I really wish I had never even started reading this drivel.

    I did try to finish this book, but I just couldn’t. I really could not bring myself to finish this, the story was just so unbelievable, and I was just so bored!
    I did read the epilogue, which just told me that the story didn’t end with a happily ever after, and that there is going to be a second book after this one! Believe me, I will definitely not be reading that!
    This was my first Christopher Pike novel, and will most probably be my last.

    Overall; unbelievable and ultimately boring. Someone else might enjoy this book, but I really didn’t.
    3.5 out of 10.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    This was an extremely hard review to write.  I'm a huge fan of C

    This was an extremely hard review to write.  I'm a huge fan of Christopher Pike's Remember Me and The Last Vampire (now called Thirst) series and I debated whether to review this book at all.  I still LOVE Christopher Pike as an author, but Witch World was probably his worst written book to date.  My expectations from the latest book by one of my favorite authors were sky high, which may account for how disappointed I was while reading it.




    The book starts off slow.  Jessie is a quiet girl who's heading to Vegas with the rest of her senior class, including her ex-boyfriend, Jimmy.  Apparently, he's with his current girlfriend, Kari, because she got pregnant, and within the last few days, their baby was stillborn, so he's once again available.  Instead of taking advantage of Jimmy in his fragile state, she meets up and shags a high roller named Russell, who magically always knows how to play his next hand of Blackjack.




    At this point, the book is okay.  It's reading like a contemporary novel and I'm wondering when the supernatural stuff will happen.  There's a bit of a lag in the pace when Russell explains the game of Twenty Two, but when Jessie is kidnapped, the action is amazing!  There are five star sections of this book that remind me why I love to read Christopher Pike's books, but they're suffocated by the info dumps that plague the second half of the book.  Every character has their full background explained in a dry Q & A style.  After Jessie "learns" about Witch World, her personality becomes robotic and everything is a reaction.  There's no emotions at all in her narrative.  Considering what's going on with Laura, it makes me question how believable she is as a character.




    By the end of the book, Jessie reminds me of Sita (main character in the Thirst series) with the way she reacts to every situation.  I'm not quite sure how she evolved into that character, but I'm sad that the quiet little girl at the beginning of the story is 100% gone by the end.
    The plot of the story is the only thing that kept me from DNFing this book.  I loved the concept of Witch World.  I enjoyed many of the minor characters.  I even enjoyed the twists at the end (although some were predictable).  I think that the potential for me to love the story was there, but there were things that were over-explained, character profiles/histories that clogged up the narrative, and the main character turned me with her lack of character.




    Overall, I can't recommend Witch World.  If you're new to Christopher Pike, check out one of his other series instead.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Very good!!

    I loved this book. Cannot wait till the next book comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Pike at his best

    Honestly, I have been a fan of Pikes for only 4 years....... and I believe all of his books are amazing. This new book of his was so fantastic however, that i have been handing it to all of my friends to read. I bought it the day it came out, read it cover to cover within 2 weeks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Very intriguing

    Very intriguing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Good read !

    Always been a fan of Christopher pike, the thirst series is awesome and he didn't disappoint with this book either, it kept you interested to the very end !! Looking forward to the next one and for the next thirst one to come out soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Awful

    Zero character developement, unrealistic actions and decisions made by the characters, especially the main character, and the plot bored me to tears.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Can't Wait for Book #2!

    I have been a fan of this author for many years and he didn't disappoint me with this new series. I just can't stand having to wait for book #2 in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2