Customer Reviews for

Witch Wraith: The Dark Legacy of Shannara

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    You will hate yourself

    All the reviews say don't bother but you are going to anyway because; 1- you are a die hard Terry Brooks fan and 2- this is the third book in the series and you HAVE to know how it ends! Well I did too and now my love affair with Terry Brooks writing is jaded and my three year old could have written a better ending.... please dont waste your money and just find a spoiler review online and pray his next book isn't just regurgitated character spew like this was.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really tried to like this final book of the Dark Legacy of

    I really tried to like this final book of the <i>Dark Legacy of Shannara</i>
    trilogy, I really did, but I can't find the ability to enjoy this grimdark waste of paper. The previous two books were dark, but still hopeful, and then <i>Witch Wraith</i>
    went off the deep end.

    One thing that Terry Brooks seemed unable to understand as he wrote this is that “bittersweet” means that the ending is still a good one, albeit with some poignant examples of sorrow. But these sadder elements are not supposed to threaten to <i>eclipse</i>
    the happy ending, as they do so here.

    Suffice it to say that, with the exception of the Ellcrys being restored and the Ohmsford boys returning safely, almost nothing else turns out well. The whole books is one exercise in death and suffering. I can already hear the objection now, though. “Brooks always kills off some folks,” some will be wont to say. So what? Even though that is true, he has always preserved a reasonably happy ending. Not so here. Here the “happy ending” is that the world is saved, but the main and secondary characters' lives are in shambles. Wow! Isn't that just what I want to read?! Maybe I'll crack open a history book and read about the famine in the Ukraine while I'm on it. It would be the same level of optimism and enjoyment.

    I know some might be put-off by my snark here, and I am sorry for any offense given, but this is just too much for me. Instead of the man who wrote epic fantasy and provided you battles of good triumphing over evil, we have good in a crapsack living hell of a world, never seeming to really come out on top.

    What was done to a long-time character, the violence, bloodshed, not to mention the ridiculous sexual domination scenes in the previous book and this one, make this all just too much for me. I mean, what is this? Fantasy? Or <i>Fifty Shades of Shannara</i>
    ?

    I hope that future books go away from this latest trend in darker and edgier crap and towards a more hopeful time in earlier books. Until that happens, I won't read any newly published novels in this franchise, just the older ones. I recommend anyone else not read these either, and, for the time being, stop with some of the previous books, as the darkness here ruins the entire trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Good Things I was able to return this,...Terry Brooks has lost s

    Good Things I was able to return this,...Terry Brooks has lost sight of The World Of Shannara and would probably be better serving the readers if he let another writer pick up writing from here on out.....Continuous killing off the Druids, Re-writing previous books with different characters in different locations while the pitch and tone of the books remain identical to his Straken novels. Disappointingly, Mr. Brooks last good writing was The Voyage Of The Jerle Shannara....Maybe we will be fortunate to get either Mr. Brooks or someone else to give us a quality trilogy detailing the tales of Galaphile, The First Druid Council, The Druid Brona in the beginning, and Bremen as a more vigorous Druid in his youth and his powers. Then if it is indeed Mr. Brooks intent to complete the ENTIRE SERIES CONCLUSION within the decade, then he might give us another Druid whom we would be able to appreciate with the same fervor as Bremen, Allanon, and Walker!!! Save your money....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am extremely disappointed with this last trilogy. The first bo

    I am extremely disappointed with this last trilogy. The first book gives the impression of finding out the secrets in the time of  the Fay. 
    The second one is lacking , mostly in the long drawn out trip through the forbidding. This one is by far the worst one ever. It is almost identical to the story that grianne is sent to the forbidding. Mister brooks has taken two separate books from other parts of his series, and in my opinion, basically recompiled them with different characters. The whole story has the feeling of coming full circle for the truth about the elfstones and the forbidding. 
    The most exasperating thing, is the pages and pages of self pity from the characters. The only heroes in this are weka dart and Arling.  Very disappointing, too much old information and nothing new, for me to have wasted money on the three books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Good but unfinished

    Terry this was a great book as ate all of your books...and I have read them all and have never been disappointed. This book was exciting and adventurous and kept you glued to the book. Well written. I was disappointed with how things turned out with Griane, Aphenglow, Tesla as well as Redden and Railing. Griane worked so hard to become good and be at peace then just ripped from that to be forever the evil witch of the forbidden. Just not a great ending, it seems so unfinished...it needs another book even if its just a short one to get some closure. You are my most favorite Author and cant wait for the high druids blade march 11.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    It Happened Again

    Terry Brooks continues to write highly enjoyable fantasy books that are fast paced, full of action, and delves into human relationships.
    Great read that fits perfectly into the Shannara world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    I was a bit disappointed.  I did not find Witch Wraith up to the

    I was a bit disappointed.  I did not find Witch Wraith up to the standard of previous Shannara books.  I am a fan of Brooks and have read all his work.  But this trilogy came off a little flat.  It is a good read; I read it quickly and it kept my attention.  And I would not recommend you do not read it..  It was just disappointing as compared to the quality of his prior work.
    It was a bit repetitive, compared to prior stories, I felt this was a set-up for a follow up story, rather than a complete story in of itself.  Read it, just do not expect it to be awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Storm

    He nods "Okay"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Disappointed

    I am a huge terry brooks fan, but this book doesn't come close to what i expect from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Terry Brooks is always good!

    I have loved all of Terry's books since I first read The Sword of Shannara. Witch Wraith is excellent. All other authors pale to me because I always compare them to Brooks. Don't miss this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Kept me glued to my seat had a hard time putting it down.
    Can't wait for the next book (patiently that is).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Another Fine Terry Brooks book

    I have been reading his book from the beginning very engaging and well read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Very riveting all the way through, but Terry left enough hanging at the ending to produce another book to the saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Excellent read!

    Terry Brooks continues to get your attention and throw you into the real of Shannara with a story that seems never ending...and that is quite alright by me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    very good

    as always a great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I've read everything Terry Brooks has written so I guess you could call me a fan of his writing. He is on the top of my list along with R A Salvatore; Tad Williams; Anne McCaffrey; and others with a start for me reading J R R Tolkien. Terry Brooks is the type of author that makes you feel your in the tale. I can't wait until his new work comes out to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Continues in the greatest style!

    This is why Terry Brooks is the greatest. He hasn't lost a thing over the years and many Shannaran adventures. Keep writing and we will keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Excellent

    Excellent finish to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Terry Brooks is awesome!

    Awesome! But, what else could you expect from Terry Brooks?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Terry Brooks continues to delight and fascinate with his narrati

    Terry Brooks continues to delight and fascinate with his narratives and characterizations.  It is evident to me through this series that he is at the top of his craft and very comfortable with his story -telling skills, which he uses quite adeptly..  The world of Shannara was greatly deepened with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3