Customer Reviews for

Witch and Wizard (Witch and Wizard Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 4070 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1897)

4 Star

(925)

3 Star

(559)

2 Star

(315)

1 Star

(374)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

102 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

Good read

The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading it from start to finish. Anyone who loves to read about witches or wizards, should try it.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

88 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!!

This book is insulting on so many levels, not only is the story uninteresting, but it has spelling errors everywhere! Do not let the synopis fool you the book is not as good as it sounds. Its told in mini chapters from different point of views and you never really know ...
This book is insulting on so many levels, not only is the story uninteresting, but it has spelling errors everywhere! Do not let the synopis fool you the book is not as good as it sounds. Its told in mini chapters from different point of views and you never really know what is going on, its not descriptive and it feels rushed. Also feels as if the vocabulary is forced and not relatable. You can tell an adult wrote the story trying to write from a childs point of view unsucssefully! And dont believe the commercials of how its just like harry potter...its not. Dont waste your money. Keep the 17 bucks.

posted by BrowneyedgirlNY on December 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4096 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 205
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading it from start to finish. Anyone who loves to read about witches or wizards, should try it.

    102 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Hippie or Wizard!?

    This to me is a five star book! If you enjoy fantasy, witchcraft, tragic love stories, twists, turns and, an ending that leaves you speechless, this is the book for you! This is a fantasy book about two kids who grew up thinking they were normal kids with over strange, hippie parents. This all changed on day when the siblings are put under trail for using witchcraft. The kids are left in the worst situation or their lives but all changes when they figure out, they in fact aren't normal. Whitney and Wisteria Allgood take you on an adventure with plenty of twists and turns. The ending starts the beginning and the beginning starts the end. This is an amazing book, great for teens and adults. This book is good for anyone, even those who don't particularly enjoy fantasy. Somehow, in the middle of all this wreck, there's a messed up love story and a tale about a girl who thought little of herself. It definitely had me wanting to read and not stop. It seems the only bad part about this book for me was: it was hard to follow at times but, it was worth it and everything got explained further on in the story. Overall, I'd recommend this book to everyone! It's a must read that keeps you guessing. Expect the unexpected.

    67 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Little more then a Harry Potter RIP-OFF

    I couldnt get into this it was tacky to me. Done over predictable, kinda of bland in my opinion Patterson is a great writer but this is not where he belongs in my opinion its awkward. There are far better fantasy tales to delve into.

    40 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    Easy fun reading

    Along the lines of many writers today, Patterson takes the witches and wizards theme in a different direction. The first in a series was a fun and easy read. It kept my attention and left me wondering what would happen next.

    37 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    This sucked!!

    I have to say, this could possibly be one of the worst books I have read in awhile. The book is so short and it seems that the characters are never developed. The ending just stops with it says "to be continued". I don't think I will be reading hte follow up book unless THEY PAY ME to read it.

    30 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked it.

    I know a lot of people gave this book a bum rap because of how short the chapters were and how sometimes they stopped mid-sentence but I liked it. For a fast reader like me it didn't long to finish. Sometimes there was a lull in the story which made it difficult to keep my attention, but once the story picked up it was hard to put down. All and all it was still a fun read, and I am still kind of curious to see where the story goes in the next installment.

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    This could be the worst book I've ever read.

    It seems to me that James Patterson just wanted to cash in on the Harry Potter Money train. This book was awful, and that's putting it nicely!, No character building, no attention to detail, wishy washy plot, terms are thrown in there but not explained, jumps from scene to scene with out warning. I'm really disappointed in this book and I feel like I'm dumber for having read it. I want back the time and money that I spent on it.. James, stick to what you're good at .. guess what? it ain't this!

    23 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    WOW

    i'm just read book 1 and it sucked me in. this is a great book and i am currently awaiting for the whole book to be released. i wouldn't recommend this book for the realistic-fiction lovers.

    22 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    Horrible.....

    I did finish this book ONLY because I hoped it would improve. I will NOT be reading the 2nd one.

    20 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    He should stick to thrillers.

    Patterson proposes an interesting concept in this book but does very little to sustain it. I am an avid fantasy reader and I have come to expect certain things to be laid out. He gives no premise for the magic these kids wield, and gives no explanation as to why The One Who Is The One is trying to eliminate magic when he wields it himself. Those problems plus some extremely cheesy dialogue throughout the book left me unsatisfied at the end.

    18 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Witch & Wizard-James Patterson

    Witch & Wizard is a refreshing teen novel opposed to James Patterson's former adult writings. The characters would be: Whitford, Wisteria, Benjamin, and Eliza Allgood, Celia, Byron Swain, Matron, and Sasha. The setting is in present-day suburbia with a New World Order. The themes include: Discrimination, Evil, Power, War, and Teamwork. I recommend this book to children from the ages of 12-16.

    Wisteria (Wisty) and Whitford (Whit) Allgood are brother and sister with special powers, but they're not fully aware of that until the New Order (N.O.) abruptly breaks into the Allgood household accusing them to be Wiccans. Wisty and Whit were appalled at the ridiculous claim the New Order has made. They plead innocent, but the N.O. knows better. They kidnap the children from their parents in the middle of the night leaving the house a chaotic mess. Wisty and Whit are held captive in a prison until their trial, where they will be hung until death. While the children are locked in there grimy cell, they soon learn they truly are magic. They discover their powers and use them to their advantage to escape from the prison, and help the other children escape also. On their adventure, they find Whit's missing girlfriend, Celia, but sadly Celia is only a spirit and was killed because of the New Order. Celia helps the children escape and leads them to a safehouse where children like them go. While staying at the safehouse they discover that they are the children of the prophecy, who will take down the N.O. Will Whit and Wisty fulfill the prophecy and bring down the New Order?
    I think this was an excellent book! It was very descriptive and adventurous. The one thing I did not like was the switching of point of views and the very brief chapters. At the end of the novel you'll notice the words, "To be continued." Obviously this book is going to be turned into a series. I hope he publishes the next book very soon. I can't wait!
    Overall I believe this book was enjoyable. I honestly can tell you I couldn't put it down. If your one who likes magic, mystery, and rebellion you will certainly enjoy this book!

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    Thumbs down.

    This is one of the worst books i have ever read. It was honestly terrible. I would not recommend it to anyone.

    14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    I don't know if it's the book or the eReader software, but . . .

    It's incredibly annoying that so many paragraphs end mid-sentence -- or even mid-punctuation. I thought the premise of this book sounded better than James Patterson's recent books, more like the Max books, but I was terribly disappointed to spend money on it and then find it's just as lazy a writing style as Daniel X. It's almost as if his writing has become a charicature of itself. And if the messed up chapter endings really are not the fault of the eReader software but the author's own invention (which I suspect is the case), I am doubly disappointed in Mr. Patterson. He has the potential to be a great writer, but his last several books have been just incredibly lazy writing. Not to mention the extreme egotism of the Tutankhamun book -- according to Mr. Patterson, no one in the world has ever even so much as suspected that Tut was murdered. And then he goes and figures it all out for the rest of us idiots. Lazy, lazy, lazy. Mr. Patterson, please put a little more effort into your writing!

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed

    I hate to give a bad review but in this case honesty is the best policy. I really didn't like this book at all. I expected so much more from Patterson. I didn't really care about the characters or felt sorry for them. I think the plot was not explained fully and I was left wondering what or why things were happening. The language used was very immature and even though I'm not a young adult I really didn't think it was how YA's talk. It made the story line and plot seem flippant and it didn't make the book entertaining.

    10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    Blech

    Arghhh, this is just awful!!!

    10 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Witch & Wizard

    at first I wasn't interested in this book, but then I saw it on sale at Sam's one day and took a chance and brought it. I'm glad I did. this is a wonderful book. it's like what would happen if the salem witch trials happened again in this time period. The One Who Is The One is seriously creepy and is trying to destroy music, art, and reading ( which would be a total nightmare!!!) Wisty and Whit are thrown into jail for being a witch and wizard and have to learn how to use their powers fast to break out and join their parents who are on the run. They make some friends and some enemies on the way to that goal. Full of a great mixture of horror and comedy. Totally loved it!!! I didn't know that it'll be a series though, now I can't wait for the next book!!!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BAD BAD BAD... VERY BAD... DO NOT READ... I WANT MY MONEY BACK !!!

    Read in January, 2010
    review: I really didn't know what to expect from this book, but the obvious (cover and hype) drew me in as most readers. I read this book in one day, no biggie, but I wanted to finish it, bad or good, because I had been eager to read it.

    I suppose I had high hopes for this book, hoping to brag on it, saying "oh, it's a great book, you must read it" I will NOT be saying that to anyone, at the least, maybe a 14 year old could possibly like it, but I wouldn't suggest it to any 14 year old that I know for that matter either. ...

    I really didn't know what to expect from this book, but the obvious drew me in as most readers. I read this book in one day, no biggie, but I wanted to finish it, bad or good, because I had been eager to read it.

    I suppose I had high hopes for this book, hoping to brag on it, saying "oh, it's a great book, you must read it" I will NOT be saying that to anyone, at the least, maybe a 14 year old could possibly like it, but I won't suggest it to any 14 year old that I know.

    I wished I could get my money back. If a person wasn't happy with an item (this book) they should be entitled to a FULL refund! Because I would be firest in line to ask for my money back! Maybe I could write the publisher??? Lol.

    The story was ok... saying that... It's a bit out there, and NOT very believable in my opinion... I know fantasy books are just that, but many fantasy books can draw you in, in a more of a realistic way.

    The ONLY reason that I'm glad I read this book, is to tell people NOT to read it... That should say it all

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Silly

    over priced and pointless

    6 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Quick read with a terrible cliffhanger..

    less then 200 pages on the e-reader, very quick read, not challenging, bad bad cliffhanger ending.

    I did enjoy the character dialog, somewhat interesting.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    I had a feeling this book might be bad. I was totally wrong. This book is amazing. The characters are cool and story makes you want to keep reading it. It does have two mistakes in it but it's not that big of a deal. If you are having doubts about this book ignore them. This book is a must read.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4096 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 205