Customer Reviews for

Witch and Wizard (Witch and Wizard Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 4093 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1911)

4 Star

(927)

3 Star

(563)

2 Star

(315)

1 Star

(377)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

105 out of 134 people found this review helpful.

Good read

The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading it from start to finish. Anyone who loves to read about witches or wizards, should try it.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

88 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!!

This book is insulting on so many levels, not only is the story uninteresting, but it has spelling errors everywhere! Do not let the synopis fool you the book is not as good as it sounds. Its told in mini chapters from different point of views and you never really know ...
This book is insulting on so many levels, not only is the story uninteresting, but it has spelling errors everywhere! Do not let the synopis fool you the book is not as good as it sounds. Its told in mini chapters from different point of views and you never really know what is going on, its not descriptive and it feels rushed. Also feels as if the vocabulary is forced and not relatable. You can tell an adult wrote the story trying to write from a childs point of view unsucssefully! And dont believe the commercials of how its just like harry potter...its not. Dont waste your money. Keep the 17 bucks.

posted by BrowneyedgirlNY on December 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 377 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    This sucked!!

    I have to say, this could possibly be one of the worst books I have read in awhile. The book is so short and it seems that the characters are never developed. The ending just stops with it says "to be continued". I don't think I will be reading hte follow up book unless THEY PAY ME to read it.

    30 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    This could be the worst book I've ever read.

    It seems to me that James Patterson just wanted to cash in on the Harry Potter Money train. This book was awful, and that's putting it nicely!, No character building, no attention to detail, wishy washy plot, terms are thrown in there but not explained, jumps from scene to scene with out warning. I'm really disappointed in this book and I feel like I'm dumber for having read it. I want back the time and money that I spent on it.. James, stick to what you're good at .. guess what? it ain't this!

    24 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    Horrible.....

    I did finish this book ONLY because I hoped it would improve. I will NOT be reading the 2nd one.

    20 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    He should stick to thrillers.

    Patterson proposes an interesting concept in this book but does very little to sustain it. I am an avid fantasy reader and I have come to expect certain things to be laid out. He gives no premise for the magic these kids wield, and gives no explanation as to why The One Who Is The One is trying to eliminate magic when he wields it himself. Those problems plus some extremely cheesy dialogue throughout the book left me unsatisfied at the end.

    18 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    Thumbs down.

    This is one of the worst books i have ever read. It was honestly terrible. I would not recommend it to anyone.

    15 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    Blech

    Arghhh, this is just awful!!!

    10 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BAD BAD BAD... VERY BAD... DO NOT READ... I WANT MY MONEY BACK !!!

    Read in January, 2010
    review: I really didn't know what to expect from this book, but the obvious (cover and hype) drew me in as most readers. I read this book in one day, no biggie, but I wanted to finish it, bad or good, because I had been eager to read it.

    I suppose I had high hopes for this book, hoping to brag on it, saying "oh, it's a great book, you must read it" I will NOT be saying that to anyone, at the least, maybe a 14 year old could possibly like it, but I wouldn't suggest it to any 14 year old that I know for that matter either. ...

    I really didn't know what to expect from this book, but the obvious drew me in as most readers. I read this book in one day, no biggie, but I wanted to finish it, bad or good, because I had been eager to read it.

    I suppose I had high hopes for this book, hoping to brag on it, saying "oh, it's a great book, you must read it" I will NOT be saying that to anyone, at the least, maybe a 14 year old could possibly like it, but I won't suggest it to any 14 year old that I know.

    I wished I could get my money back. If a person wasn't happy with an item (this book) they should be entitled to a FULL refund! Because I would be firest in line to ask for my money back! Maybe I could write the publisher??? Lol.

    The story was ok... saying that... It's a bit out there, and NOT very believable in my opinion... I know fantasy books are just that, but many fantasy books can draw you in, in a more of a realistic way.

    The ONLY reason that I'm glad I read this book, is to tell people NOT to read it... That should say it all

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Disappointment

    Having only read 1 or 2 other titles by Patterson, I didn't have any terribly strong expectations going in, but I was very disappointed with what I found. The writing was definitely not what I expected - it seemed almost forced. The plot stumbled - rushing through certain things, but dragging on others. I have read some novels that alternate viewpoints successfully - this was not one of them.

    Not only could I not wait to get the pain of the reading over (I hate to not finish a book), but I was horrified to realize that there would be more titles coming! Would definitely not recommend to anyone. :(

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Ok, here's the truth about this book

    So, I bought this book because it was on sale for 5 bucks and because it was/is fairly popular (I mean, it saysss its a #1 seller, not sure how..) Anyway, this book sucks. I am now on page 50 (out of 250) and can wholeheartedly say it is poorly written all around. A) the characters are teens, but the language is EXTREMELY forced, I am 16 and no one I know of talks even remotely similar to the main characters Whit and Witsy. B) The level is that of a grade schooler, and I don't mean for reading, I mean in terms of writing. C) Too much telling, not enough SHOWING. This book doesn't feel planned out, there are no details and it looks like Patterson just sat down and wrote a book that came straight from his head with no effort/research/training/talentwhatsoever.
    I am so disappointed with this book. I know I haven't read all of it, but the point is I don't WANT to. Just don't read it. Sorry Patterson, I did want to like it. Get the sample and see for yourselves, the only person I might suggest this too is MAYBE a 2nd-3rd grader (yes, it's that simple)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Underwhelmed

    I normally love Sci Fi & Fantasy books. This one had such high ratings and good reviews, I couldn't see how it wouldn't be bad. BOY, was I wrong! I'm glad it was on sale for .99 because anyone who spends more on this waste of time is crazy.

    The premise of the book isn't bad. It was the characters that I couldn't stand! Twin brother and sister, when put into a life-threatening situation, make sarcastic remarks? Its as if the characters were completely oblivious to the world around them. There was no struggle, nothing in this story that made me pull for them. Everything was too easy...

    I couldn't tell if James Patterson was mocking the genre or not. He should stick to writing books for adults, because he certainly cannot write them for teens/young adults.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    not what i expected

    I didnt actually finish thisit was so awful. the people who said this would live up to the harry potter series well theyre wrong.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    Disappointed

    This is no Harry Potter or Twilight.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Don't read this book!

    I've never put a book down before just because the book was lame, but there is a first time for everything. Sriously, I was so disappointed with this book. If I could get my money back for it, I would. The writing was worse than a teenagers, it was so cheesey and predictable, I've read childrens story books with more suspense. Don't waste your time and money here. Get the free preview so you can see how much you dislike the book for free.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    What a waste of $8.99.

    50 pages in and I'm not sure I can force myself to read the next 200.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible

    The idea sounds great, but this book and the rest of the series leaves you with more questions than a good author should. When you read a book you expect to start at point A and read to point B. Sometimes there are ups and downs and maybe an obscured point that will be discovered later, this is not how this one goes. I imagined that the line started off at point A then goes a bit then I give my three year old the pen to scribble with and try to figure it out before reaching B. The entire series is like this. This is a waste of money. There is no real character development for the female lead, Wisteria, and again that is for all three books. The male lead will whine about his lost love, and while it is understandable, it gets old real fast.

    This is my first James Patterson read, and I will never buy or read him again. Shame on him to put such a poorly written series out and charge his readers as if they were actually good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Just mad!

    I bought this yesterday for 99 cents. Today it still says 99cents but i was charged 7.99!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    price

    It said it was 99cents but it isn,t

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Wasted Money!

    I beg you NOT to buy this book. If you're the least bit interested, please, please get it from the library, because it's BAD. VERY BAD! The only intersting part, was the first chapter... ALL down hill from there! BUT... I do give 5 stars for the cover, if that counts. Remember, DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER! I WON'T read the rest of this series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Awful -- unless you are 12 years old

    Weak plot, weak characters, and unprofessional weak writing. I was so disappointed in this book. I was almost embarrassed for the author because of how simplistic the book is. I have middle school students who could write on this level. It is way below the "young adult" category. I would place it in the children's section and advise everyone one else to not waste your time or money on this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    Not your typical Patterson

    This book was not your typical Patterson. The only reason I finished it was because I kept thinking it was going to get better...it did not! I gave it one star only because if I ran out of books, I might read this one, but I would not recommend it to a friend.

    I have never read a Patterson book that wasn't excellent until this one.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 377 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19