Customer Reviews for

Witch and Wizard (Witch and Wizard Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 4069 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1897)

4 Star

(924)

3 Star

(559)

2 Star

(315)

1 Star

(374)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

102 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

Good read

The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading it from start to finish. Anyone who loves to read about witches or wizards, should try it.

posted by Balina on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

88 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK!!

This book is insulting on so many levels, not only is the story uninteresting, but it has spelling errors everywhere! Do not let the synopis fool you the book is not as good as it sounds. Its told in mini chapters from different point of views and you never really know ...
This book is insulting on so many levels, not only is the story uninteresting, but it has spelling errors everywhere! Do not let the synopis fool you the book is not as good as it sounds. Its told in mini chapters from different point of views and you never really know what is going on, its not descriptive and it feels rushed. Also feels as if the vocabulary is forced and not relatable. You can tell an adult wrote the story trying to write from a childs point of view unsucssefully! And dont believe the commercials of how its just like harry potter...its not. Dont waste your money. Keep the 17 bucks.

posted by BrowneyedgirlNY on December 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1897 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 95
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    The book is definitely a must read. I have enjoyed reading it from start to finish. Anyone who loves to read about witches or wizards, should try it.

    102 out of 130 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Hippie or Wizard!?

    This to me is a five star book! If you enjoy fantasy, witchcraft, tragic love stories, twists, turns and, an ending that leaves you speechless, this is the book for you! This is a fantasy book about two kids who grew up thinking they were normal kids with over strange, hippie parents. This all changed on day when the siblings are put under trail for using witchcraft. The kids are left in the worst situation or their lives but all changes when they figure out, they in fact aren't normal. Whitney and Wisteria Allgood take you on an adventure with plenty of twists and turns. The ending starts the beginning and the beginning starts the end. This is an amazing book, great for teens and adults. This book is good for anyone, even those who don't particularly enjoy fantasy. Somehow, in the middle of all this wreck, there's a messed up love story and a tale about a girl who thought little of herself. It definitely had me wanting to read and not stop. It seems the only bad part about this book for me was: it was hard to follow at times but, it was worth it and everything got explained further on in the story. Overall, I'd recommend this book to everyone! It's a must read that keeps you guessing. Expect the unexpected.

    67 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    WOW

    i'm just read book 1 and it sucked me in. this is a great book and i am currently awaiting for the whole book to be released. i wouldn't recommend this book for the realistic-fiction lovers.

    22 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Witch & Wizard

    at first I wasn't interested in this book, but then I saw it on sale at Sam's one day and took a chance and brought it. I'm glad I did. this is a wonderful book. it's like what would happen if the salem witch trials happened again in this time period. The One Who Is The One is seriously creepy and is trying to destroy music, art, and reading ( which would be a total nightmare!!!) Wisty and Whit are thrown into jail for being a witch and wizard and have to learn how to use their powers fast to break out and join their parents who are on the run. They make some friends and some enemies on the way to that goal. Full of a great mixture of horror and comedy. Totally loved it!!! I didn't know that it'll be a series though, now I can't wait for the next book!!!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    I had a feeling this book might be bad. I was totally wrong. This book is amazing. The characters are cool and story makes you want to keep reading it. It does have two mistakes in it but it's not that big of a deal. If you are having doubts about this book ignore them. This book is a must read.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!!!!

    At first i was a little like what in the world is going on, but as i read through the first 20 chapters i was hooked. This book will be great and i most definintely will be buying the hardcover and the ebook December 14th. Whisterias powers are so cool fire and lightening is awesome i can't want to see what other powers she have. At first i thought Whit didnt have any powers but during the trial as he levetated the gavel with his mind i was amazed. This book will be great and i cant wait for it to arrive.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Maybe preteens...

    I read this book in seventh grade, but i have an extremely high reading level. My little sister is in sixth grade right now,but i told her that she should not read it yet.
    This book has some death, some fairly scary parts, and some happy parts. If it was an adult choosing for a child, it would depend on individual maturity and familiarness with realistic scary things like being imprisoned with bad conditions, to people getting poofed out of existance in a snappy fashion. I would say this book is generally for 12/13 years and up in most cases. I hope this is helpful to you!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is awesome if u like magical adventurous books this book is perfect for u

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    slap me with a pickle and call me fiona!!!!

    When i started this book i had no idea i would fall in love with it. James patterson really overwhelmed me in the best way possible!!!! He is such an amazing writer he makes rick riorden look like an ameteur and is comparable to J K rowling! I litteraly fell in love with the characters i soon as i read from their point of veiw. They're so interesting and complex, right when you think you have them figured out, they suprise you. Definately a must read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Witch & Wizard!!

    What a great book, as usual I never wanted to put it down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book! It was suspensful, emotional, and edgy on many levels.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Preview Was Amazing!

    I got the first 20 chapters free on iTunes and thay were amazing! I cant wait until I can read the rest!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Hi

    No offense to all those customers or editors out there, but anyone who says that this book is at ALL bad or lacking in something or with too much of something is wrong. Completely wrong. This is the closest I have come to finding a perfect book in ages, and it is just as good as the Hunger Games-maybe better! James is one of the greatest geniuses on the planet today. It is official.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Best magic book i have ever read.

    I am a Harry Potter fan but this i have to say tops that by a million and a half. I can say without a doubt fans of Harry Potter will love the Witch amd Wizard series. And thats a Harter guarantee.




    ~James Demitri Harter

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!

    This book and the next one after it (I am reading The Gift by James Patterson now) are two of my all time favorite books. Wisty and Whit are very realistic characters. I love that the chapters are short and that each chapter leaves you wanting to know more. I hope someone will make a movie for this book and the rest of the series. I am sure that many other people who are reading are who have read this book are wishing for a Witch and Wizard Movie as well. I'm really looking forword to reading the graphic novel verson of this book "Witch and Wizard: The Manga, Vol.1" and the third book in the Witch ad Wizard series "The Fire". You should really read this book. You are missing out on an epic adventure if you don't.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Omg

    I love this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was a page turner. I loved reading every page of it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    A great price for a great book!

    Ths is an amazing book. The plot is very well done, and the idea behind the series is intriguing. For 99¿, ths is a wonderful book. Unfortutely, I might end up spending a lot more on the rest of the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Buy this book

    Very interesting book with great story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Not enough

    Five stars aren't enough for this book. Amazing book. Love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1897 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 95