Customer Reviews for

Witch and Wizard "Book One" - Free Preview

Average Rating 4
( 1292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(690)

4 Star

(214)

3 Star

(164)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(141)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

A great book about two kids who are tried as a witch and a wizard. An exciting book that keeps you wondering whats going to come next. I highly recommend this book!

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

I really,really liked the book. A story of mystery, awesomness, and magic. The only thing I didn't like is the..."TO BE CONTINUED" To be continued my ass

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 65
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    Great Book

    A great book about two kids who are tried as a witch and a wizard. An exciting book that keeps you wondering whats going to come next. I highly recommend this book!

    96 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Dude i wish it was the whole book......

    It was a GREAT start 2 the book.....wish i had the whole thing now!!!

    67 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    Can't wait for December!!

    enjoyed reading the first few chapters-quick read and would be good for most ages. anxious to continue reading it when it comes out!

    45 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Well

    Well it does say free PREVIEW so yeah i read the whole abd its great so i recommend it to everyone!

    28 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Witch and Wizard

    Its not for 11 year olds because i really dont understand it but when im older i will read it again. So if you are 11 or under its not for you.

    28 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Entertaining book for teenagers & those who enjoyed Harry Potter

    This review covers the preview only. The writing seems directed towards Harry Potter fans (not a bad thing!) and focuses on the brother and sister who are wizard and witch, but do not realize their powers until their family is threatened by an oppressive government. The preview contained the first 100 pages (including cover, chapters, etc.), and I plan to buy the entire book to see where it leads.

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Ahhhhh MAZING!

    This book has the perfect combo of fantasy and suspense!

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    This book....

    Its really cool and interesting at the ssame time

    19 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    WOW%21%21%21%21%21%21%21%21%21%21%21%21%21

    I+wish+that+book+was+longer+could+read+any+day.

    17 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Ummm

    Should i get it i know its a preveiw but should i get the free preveiw or pay money for the whole book????????????????

    13 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Angry

    I am so mad thoight this was the whole book but just a couple of chapters and they arnt that long i mean it james patterson he has like the shortest chapters in the world

    10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Witch and Wizard

    Some of my freind read this book and say it is a great book so im going to look at this author and see if he is a good one for me

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Not enough to keep you in the story.

    I'm somewhat disappointed with the Witch and Wizard. Good premise but it lacks a punch. There is a story there but Patterson just doesn't grab the reader, not enough to keep you in the story. Sorry but will not be getting the next book.

    9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    <3

    I LOVE JAMES PAATTERSON! This book was great! A little bit different, but still a fun read. If you liked Max, then you will like the Allgoods.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Hi

    Whats with all the hi' s?

    6 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Wait...that was a "book?!?!?"

    Chapters are so short that you cannot get into the story or plot. I read this knowing that J.Patterson writes in detail.... would suggest to move on and read something OTHER than this.

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Not worth it.

    "Ooo sweet! Free book from a school fair just for signing up! Yay me!"

    Not.
    Ok, so I didnt get this book from Barnes and Noble but I was unfortunate enough to get it during my orientation as a free gift for signing up for something. Hey, free book to read when I was bored? Who was I to complain?
    Oh, but did I regret it.
    Not even worth 1/5 stars.... More like -100/5 ....
    First of all, I understand that this book is geared to kids and all but the plot is so stupid. The story line is poorly written (even my cousin who is 6 years old, agreed with me after she threw the book down and stared at it in disgust) and seems like it was a jumbled mess of recycled plots and unnecessary (and corny) "jokes".
    I've seen my cousin write better stories than this!
    This book is enough to make you beg for it to end. I cant tell you the number of times I face-palmed myself at the stupidity of the book.
    Secondly, if you thought the plot was bad, try dealing with each chapter switching between the two main characters. Completely unnecessary. If this book was written properly, the reader should be able to distinguish the characters point of views without having to put their names up in each (unbelievably) short chapters.
    I cannot say much about the author as I have not read any other books like this, but if they are, I STRONGLY ADVISE to pass by this one. It's not worth it (unless you want to make paper cranes like my cousin is doing right now with this book, much more better use of paper if you ask me).

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    BS

    This is not a real book!

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Love it!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book!!!!!! I wish i could be a witch but not with the one that is the one after me. Cant wait to read the gift.


    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Huh?

    Is the whole thing free or only part of it?

    5 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 65