Customer Reviews for

Witch and Wizard "Book One" - Free Preview

Average Rating 4
( 1297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(692)

4 Star

(215)

3 Star

(165)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(142)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

A great book about two kids who are tried as a witch and a wizard. An exciting book that keeps you wondering whats going to come next. I highly recommend this book!

posted by Anonymous on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

I really,really liked the book. A story of mystery, awesomness, and magic. The only thing I didn't like is the..."TO BE CONTINUED" To be continued my ass

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Angry

    I am so mad thoight this was the whole book but just a couple of chapters and they arnt that long i mean it james patterson he has like the shortest chapters in the world

    10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Not enough to keep you in the story.

    I'm somewhat disappointed with the Witch and Wizard. Good premise but it lacks a punch. There is a story there but Patterson just doesn't grab the reader, not enough to keep you in the story. Sorry but will not be getting the next book.

    9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Only thing good about it, is that it is free

    I think the writing leaves a lot to be desired. Perhaps it is supposed to be in the perspective of a young person, but I refuse to read a book that actually has " wth" in it.
    Maybe I was more of an intellectual as a teen, however this is insulting to the intelligence with lame dialog and descriptions.
    Text writing? Really? How does this stuff get published? It is supposed to be literature? Read Hunger Games, Harry Potter, the Christopher Chant series, Hobbit, or this if you are seriously desperate. Hey, it is free...

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Meh

    Pretty standard fantasy type story. Too predictable for my taste. Character personalities are also quite basic. Of course, it is just a preview, but after 98 pages, I didn't particularly find this book to be interesting enough for my taste.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Good teen book but not for adults

    I was excited to read my first James Patterson book. I was let down. It was juvenile and not very well written. Comparing this to Harry Potter is like comparing Barney to a brilliant film. The story is written okay for teens but is too ridiculous for adults. The cover promises suspence and excitement. Instead I got something closer to Bewitched!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    To short

    It was ok for a fast read. Left you wanting more. Well wrote but to be continued didnt like that.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A bit too juvenile

    I am usually a big fan of James Patterson's work but his newest Witch & Wizard series falls a bit flat. The writing style includes way too much extraneous spacing, short paragraphs and juvenile writing. I really enjoyed his Maximum Ride series that was also written from the point of view of a youth but the Witch & Wizard series just doesn't seem to manage the same level of excitement.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Fail.

    This book i really wanted to like but .....it was horrible like the writing was so bad and the story was quite bizzare . I like other James Patterson books but this one was not a sucsess. I would not recomend it to someone whis looking for the next Harry potter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I didn't like this story, to the point where I couldn't even fin

    I didn't like this story, to the point where I couldn't even finish the free preview. The first thing that bothered me was the characters names, "Whit" and "Whisty" are annoying and too much alike, it was confusing me. Second, the whole cliche of having some amazing powers but not knowing or being told anything about it is not believable at all. I did like what I read of the world it is set in, but this book wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    HEY #1

    No dahh there is a reason why they call it a free preview yeah so there is a thing also called a dictionary so get one and look up preview.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Its a preview!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Great for pre teen

    Good reading for kids or pre teen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Havent read it.

    I have not read this book. Got nothing to say about it at this time, sooooo...... thats about it, I guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Is it really?

    I have not read this but everyone says its so good. So i would like to know if there are any bad thing in it. Cus if there are then you can forget me reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Ummm?

    I loved the book but it just suddenly ends and i really dont want to have ti find my page in the real book...but very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Not Patterson's best work.

    I have loved the mysteries I have read by this author, so I was disappointed by this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    looks like it might be good

    didn't realize it was just a preview.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    ONLY A PEVIEW

    Its only a sample, thats too bad if you like full books (im guessing most of you do)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    To bad it's only a prevew.

    Want more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Eh....no substitute for Potter

    I'm a bit disappointed at Patterson for bothering with this. The characters are just not believable, and I'm not hooked in the least. I like Patterson very much; just not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5