Customer Reviews for

The Witch of Blackbird Pond (Student Packet)

Average Rating 4.5
( 562 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

This book was GREAT!

I really liked the plot of this story. I had to read an award winning book for my 5th grade book report. I chose this and I suspected it would be boring, but it was really fun! It is about a girl who used to be rich, but whose circumstances change when her grandfathe...
I really liked the plot of this story. I had to read an award winning book for my 5th grade book report. I chose this and I suspected it would be boring, but it was really fun! It is about a girl who used to be rich, but whose circumstances change when her grandfather dies. She goes to live with her puritan Aunt and Uncle then she mets Hannah, a Quaker who is suspected of witchcraft. A really eye-opening view of Puritan times. If you enjoy learning about different periods in history set within a great story, then this is the book for you.

posted by gumbaya on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

My view.

I think that The Witch Of Blackbird Pond, is a novel that is hard to determind the rating because of it's weak begining but strong ending. In my opinion, there wasn't enough detail, or excitment, I didn't like how the unimportant things were brought up more than importa...
I think that The Witch Of Blackbird Pond, is a novel that is hard to determind the rating because of it's weak begining but strong ending. In my opinion, there wasn't enough detail, or excitment, I didn't like how the unimportant things were brought up more than important things, like when Kit was locked up, the author didn't share her feelings much, like Kit was just another object in the shead. However I did enjoy the trial, and how Nat came back. I would recomend this book to someone who can wait to get excited, but not to someone, who wants thrills from cover to cover.

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 563 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was GREAT!

    I really liked the plot of this story. I had to read an award winning book for my 5th grade book report. I chose this and I suspected it would be boring, but it was really fun! It is about a girl who used to be rich, but whose circumstances change when her grandfather dies. She goes to live with her puritan Aunt and Uncle then she mets Hannah, a Quaker who is suspected of witchcraft. A really eye-opening view of Puritan times. If you enjoy learning about different periods in history set within a great story, then this is the book for you.

    33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Loved it

    Fabulous, sweetly romantic read. Kit and Nat will stay with you long after the last sentence is read.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    The Witch of Blackbird Pond

    This book is all about a girl named Kit from Barbous (the Indies). She lived with her grandfather in Barbous, and a friend of her grandfather stole his money. His friend asked for Kit's hand in marriage, and he tried to make her believe that her grandfather wanted to. But, she still refused to marry and refused to believe him. So, that is why she left Barbous and went to Connectict by boat. On the way she met a boy named Nat. When they were on a smaller boat a child lost it's toy in the water. So, she got in the water, swam towards the toy , and gave it back to the child. Nobody knew that she was able to swim so they thought she floated like a with in the water. When they got to shore, she went to her relative's home, and they decided to let her stay. Kit got out her clothes & she let her cousins try them on. They looked beautiful on them. But, her uncle was rude to her & told her to get the clothes out of his sight.

    I better not spoil the book for all of you. Also, he said something else mean to Kit & I read the book at school. So, I know that it is a really good book! Trust me!

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2000

    My view.

    I think that The Witch Of Blackbird Pond, is a novel that is hard to determind the rating because of it's weak begining but strong ending. In my opinion, there wasn't enough detail, or excitment, I didn't like how the unimportant things were brought up more than important things, like when Kit was locked up, the author didn't share her feelings much, like Kit was just another object in the shead. However I did enjoy the trial, and how Nat came back. I would recomend this book to someone who can wait to get excited, but not to someone, who wants thrills from cover to cover.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still a favorite of mine after all these years.

    I am easily swept up in this period book. From the first few lines I ache for the tropical flare of Kit's beloved home. Now, an adventure awaits a newly blossoming girl in such drab settings.

    I feel that Kit's character is someone that a lot of people can indenify with despite the period. This book teachs you not to be afraid of the unknown, that through hard work and determination one really finds themselves, and finally never to settle.

    Never go looking outside of yourself to appease the masses. Love is and always will be there with you. In the words of Hannah herself, "There is no escape if love is not there."

    Great read!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Very good plot

    The plot is good , but the begin ing is slow but I gets very interesting. Buy it

    Get the book

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Great school book

    I hav been reading this in english and it is great! Kit i such a great character. (: i recomend thi book to many!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Pretty good.

    I read the first 3 quarters of this book (for school. Would have finished it had I not changed schools.)and was genuinely glad with it. The beginning was a little slow and most of my class (eighth grade) hardly understood it, but it gets better and faster paced as you go. I would reccomend reading it to see for yourself but if you don't trust my word than don't.
    As far as I was able to read it was very good.
    I apologize if there u any errors in my review, I am using my nook to write this...lol.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    It was good!!!

    The behinning was a little dry. At first I hated it. Then in the 6th chapter I started to enjoy it!!!!

    The ending was cool!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    A Classic Novel

    I read this novel when I was in elementary my mom bought it for me, because it was a favorite of hers, and I reread it till today. I continue to read it because it takes me to another time in history, I love the descriptions that she used, and how the novel flowed.This novel shows how a girl can be true to herself and not give in to convention or what is popular.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I'm in 7th grade so my teacher is making us read it and I just f

    I'm in 7th grade so my teacher is making us read it and I just finished it!! I LOVE IT! At first I was like "Ew another stupid boring book that makes no sense" but now I'm like " I WANNA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS AFTERWARDS!!!" I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    P.Clark's book review! **(the book was GREAT!!)**

    Sixteen-year-old Kit Tyler knew the time that she arrived in the cold state of Connecticut that it was not going to be anything like her old home in the Caribbean islands. Kit knew that her life would not be the same. She now has to live with her aunt, uncle and cousins, who do not seem to like her very much. Soon, Kit meets someone who feels just like she does, like she does not belong. This person is the old woman known as the `Witch of Blackbird Pond.¿ Kit was soon faced with many issues while she was staying in Connecticut, one of them being, she was accused of doing witchcraft.<BR/>I read the interesting book THE WITCH OF BLACKBIRD POND, a very famous and well-written book by Elizabeth George Speare. It received a John Newberry Medal in 1921, for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children<BR/>My opinion of this book is it has a strong plot, fully realistic characters, and a convincing atmosphere with a great picture on how our country worked during the 1600-1700s. The book starts slow, but overall it is a great book!<BR/> This book is about a free-spirited girl named Kit who comes to live with her relatives in Connecticut after her grandfather passes. Very soon Kit¿s aunt, uncle, and cousins start to like her and Kit starts to like them too. But, the only place where she finds herself feeling comfortable is in the small home of Hannah Tupper--`The Witch of Blackbird Pond.' A sudden illness that overcomes the town leads to certain members to form a mob and attack Hannah. Kit finds herself forced to save this new friend of hers and is then accused of doing witchcraft herself. Other plots in this story also make it a great book to read, like the romantic mess Kit and her cousin find themselves.<BR/>I think that Kit was the protagonist. Protagonist meaning the main character and/or the hero in the book. The person I think was the antagonist was Hannah Tupper. Antagonist meaning the character/friend that helps the story flow.<BR/> Over all, THE WITCH OF BLACKBIRD POND was a fantastic book. The characters were well described and the book was well written!! I do recommend this book to anyone! It was GREAT!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    AWESOME

    Thi book i wonderful. Kit is an amazing girl. I totally enjoyed this book, especially when my mom read it to me out loud. It starred slow, but the book worked itself into an exciting frenzy. Highly recomended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    What a fail....

    I am in 7th grade and this book sucked. Horribly. Never read it. It is for losers. It started slow and just got worse. Why did I ever read this? Why!!!!!!!!!!!!!???

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Boring

    This book was really boring,I am 9 years old and that book was really boring-I littalry used it to fall asleep!!

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    How The Book Is So Far

    Well to me I dislike this book because it does'nt spike my interest but others might this different but if anyone reads this book might get you that type of vivid imagination that you might want from any old regular book. (:

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Awesome

    It was great

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A vary good book!!

    My sister read it to me because it was one of her favorts and now it is one of mine to.It is a good book!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Happy Bunny

    This is by far the best book i have on my nook! You should buy it because it has mystery, action, and maybe a hint of romance!!!! This is an interesting book!!
    Bunnygirl () ()
    (. .)
    (' ')

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    By cd. To Carry.

    How could you not lik this book? It is one of the best! Read it in middle school and and in Jr. High still loven it! To everyone else awsome book. You need to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 563 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29