Customer Reviews for

The Witch of Blackbird Pond

Average Rating 4.5
( 564 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(350)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

This book was GREAT!

I really liked the plot of this story. I had to read an award winning book for my 5th grade book report. I chose this and I suspected it would be boring, but it was really fun! It is about a girl who used to be rich, but whose circumstances change when her grandfathe...
I really liked the plot of this story. I had to read an award winning book for my 5th grade book report. I chose this and I suspected it would be boring, but it was really fun! It is about a girl who used to be rich, but whose circumstances change when her grandfather dies. She goes to live with her puritan Aunt and Uncle then she mets Hannah, a Quaker who is suspected of witchcraft. A really eye-opening view of Puritan times. If you enjoy learning about different periods in history set within a great story, then this is the book for you.

posted by gumbaya on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

My view.

I think that The Witch Of Blackbird Pond, is a novel that is hard to determind the rating because of it's weak begining but strong ending. In my opinion, there wasn't enough detail, or excitment, I didn't like how the unimportant things were brought up more than importa...
I think that The Witch Of Blackbird Pond, is a novel that is hard to determind the rating because of it's weak begining but strong ending. In my opinion, there wasn't enough detail, or excitment, I didn't like how the unimportant things were brought up more than important things, like when Kit was locked up, the author didn't share her feelings much, like Kit was just another object in the shead. However I did enjoy the trial, and how Nat came back. I would recomend this book to someone who can wait to get excited, but not to someone, who wants thrills from cover to cover.

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2000

    My view.

    I think that The Witch Of Blackbird Pond, is a novel that is hard to determind the rating because of it's weak begining but strong ending. In my opinion, there wasn't enough detail, or excitment, I didn't like how the unimportant things were brought up more than important things, like when Kit was locked up, the author didn't share her feelings much, like Kit was just another object in the shead. However I did enjoy the trial, and how Nat came back. I would recomend this book to someone who can wait to get excited, but not to someone, who wants thrills from cover to cover.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

    This book is weird my mom signed me up 4 book club and this is our next book poop

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    The witch of blackbird pond

    It okay i guess. summer reading3 more books to go.AHH ?SO MUCH WORK

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    OK

    I am in the middle. Some one please spoil it for me!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    Well this was good, interesting but good. A friend of mine told me about this when we were talking about the different books we read. Like with the Minister's Daughter and Witch Child, the writing was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Ok

    This not the best book ever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Scarrlette

    A black she-cat with a silver tailtip pads in, her plum eyes searching the area.
    ~|•|~Scarrlette~|•|~(sorry, no headlines)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Scarloke

    "I believe you all have heard of Difinity and her reputation as Toxin's RPer. She is somewhat respected with that title. If you go to 'erin hunter' result one, l can clear up that picture and give you a new one, one that is not desecrated with lies."
    <p>
    ~Scarloke~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Sweet

    Thank god there were no witch burnings. I was terrified of it the whole time. Sorry if that is a spoiler but hopefully you will enjoy it more without that fear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Len me the book please

    My nook friend name is chrisdarsey lend the book please ieed it for class

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Unbeliveable

    Borring

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    P OK

    Not the best at all. Try Leviathan instead.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Brokenheart

    Hey. Umm, sorry but I made a mistake. The next result is empty.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    READ THIS BEFORE BUYING

    i thought was a good book(in the first grade) but the content of the book is for younger children. I was forced to read it amd found it was good but i woul not read it again( i dislike reading about snobby stuck up puritans who cant see someone for who they are.).

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Cute book

    This book is cute. Not great writing or an intense plot. But an enjoyable read. Wish the author had spent more time devoloping her characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Eh eh

    I am an 11 yr old boy in fifth grade my whole grade was forced to read this book. In the beginning it was Boting but it got more intresting we were also forced 2 read sign of the beavet sign of the beaver was terrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Seems good

    Nice book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    flippin fantasic

    I liked this book. At times it was kinda slow, and I can see how some people thought it was boring. It was mostly the old language that made it seemed uninteresting. The best part of the book for me was the love rectangle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    ok

    the book is interesting but it lacks. i found it great in the interesting area but lacking in the historical area. it is a good book to read but don't expect to learn a whole lot from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    The Witch of Blackbird Pond

    A friend of mine recommended me this book that she was reading. So I started to read it and enjoyed it very much and telling by the cover of the book, the story had to taken someplace during the long ago centuries. I liked this because of the tense suspense during the trial of the herione and of how she tried to answer their random questions at a time, too much pressure for her to make a quick answer since she was surrounded by an angry mob of people. This is about a girl who befriends an accused witch and is accused of being a witch herself thus must prove her new friend's innocence and as well as hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3