Customer Reviews for

The Witch of Blackbird Pond

Average Rating 4.5
( 562 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(107)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

This book was GREAT!

I really liked the plot of this story. I had to read an award winning book for my 5th grade book report. I chose this and I suspected it would be boring, but it was really fun! It is about a girl who used to be rich, but whose circumstances change when her grandfathe...
I really liked the plot of this story. I had to read an award winning book for my 5th grade book report. I chose this and I suspected it would be boring, but it was really fun! It is about a girl who used to be rich, but whose circumstances change when her grandfather dies. She goes to live with her puritan Aunt and Uncle then she mets Hannah, a Quaker who is suspected of witchcraft. A really eye-opening view of Puritan times. If you enjoy learning about different periods in history set within a great story, then this is the book for you.

posted by gumbaya on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

My view.

I think that The Witch Of Blackbird Pond, is a novel that is hard to determind the rating because of it's weak begining but strong ending. In my opinion, there wasn't enough detail, or excitment, I didn't like how the unimportant things were brought up more than importa...
I think that The Witch Of Blackbird Pond, is a novel that is hard to determind the rating because of it's weak begining but strong ending. In my opinion, there wasn't enough detail, or excitment, I didn't like how the unimportant things were brought up more than important things, like when Kit was locked up, the author didn't share her feelings much, like Kit was just another object in the shead. However I did enjoy the trial, and how Nat came back. I would recomend this book to someone who can wait to get excited, but not to someone, who wants thrills from cover to cover.

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still a favorite of mine after all these years.

    I am easily swept up in this period book. From the first few lines I ache for the tropical flare of Kit's beloved home. Now, an adventure awaits a newly blossoming girl in such drab settings.

    I feel that Kit's character is someone that a lot of people can indenify with despite the period. This book teachs you not to be afraid of the unknown, that through hard work and determination one really finds themselves, and finally never to settle.

    Never go looking outside of yourself to appease the masses. Love is and always will be there with you. In the words of Hannah herself, "There is no escape if love is not there."

    Great read!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Pretty good.

    I read the first 3 quarters of this book (for school. Would have finished it had I not changed schools.)and was genuinely glad with it. The beginning was a little slow and most of my class (eighth grade) hardly understood it, but it gets better and faster paced as you go. I would reccomend reading it to see for yourself but if you don't trust my word than don't.
    As far as I was able to read it was very good.
    I apologize if there u any errors in my review, I am using my nook to write this...lol.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    It was good!!!

    The behinning was a little dry. At first I hated it. Then in the 6th chapter I started to enjoy it!!!!

    The ending was cool!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book just shows how wrong we all view people's own individual rights. Yes,I would recommend this for young and old alike. very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Pretty good :/

    I didn't really like it at first because it very slow ,but the end is really good. I just wish she keep going at the end for a little while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Yeah

    I love it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    W.O.B.B.P

    A little wierd at first but i guess as u get into it a bit more things start speeding up a bit
    In fifth grade i had to do a big report on historical fiction and my teacher chose this one for me to read! I dont think its a good sit at home and relax book nut definatly if u were doing a project i might choose this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was really good and awesome!
    This book was slow at first but it was worth it!
    It was such a happy ending!
    Advice: DON'T PUT THE BOOK DOWN!!!!
    AND DON'T DOUBT NAT!!! And Hannah

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    H

    Is this a historicle ficrion book?
    Pls answer me someone

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    One of my favorites

    Loved sooo much im willing to read it over and over again

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Good book

    I had to reaad this fir a class nivel so i just got it on my nook becase it was cheaper. When ii got i relized, even though we had to do questions, it was worth reading. I didn't even finish the boook yet either.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Great Book!

    The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare is a historical fiction novel about Katherine ¿Kit¿ Tyler, a teenage girl who leaves her sunny home of Barbados to live with her aunt and uncle in Connecticut in April of 1687. In Kit¿s new home and town, she is treated as an outsider for not fitting in the mold that the townspeople hold. The reader is left questioning how Kit is going to cope with living in this strange, new town.
    This novel showed the view of Puritans back in the 1600s. As a future teacher, I believe students would be entertained by this book, and would begin to question why people treat others a certain way. The Witch of Blackbird Pond is great for 4th grade and older.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Good

    This was a good book. I really enjoyed reading it. They knew what they were doing when they awarded it the Newberry Award.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Sounds awesome!

    I can't wait to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    excellant read

    Easy to read, interesting characters with a good story plot. This book was rich in history and written with vivid details that seemed to transport the reader to an early America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Okay

    This book was nit the best and not the worst. I wish the book lived up to its title-have more about witches! Most of it was about courtships and barely anything about Kit's relationship with Hannah. But the book was AMAZINGLY descriptive. I could have done without the introduction though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Cynthia

    Cyntgia: I think i notice..XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    A classic

    This book was great.
    Set in the time when witches were 'real' sixteen year old kit finds it hard to fit in to her new life. Accused of being in a league with a witch, kit is desperate to prove them both innocent. But it dosbt help that she can swim and can't sit still in church.
    Kit is just trying to fit in byt is having trouble jusr because people judge to quickly, sounds like mordern day scociety.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    7 grade

    I read dis book in 7 grade at first i wazz like dis is a stupid boring book but den later on in th book it wazz kinda nice

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Amazing book

    My aunt got me this book for my birthday. At first i didnt want to read it, but i have a habit of judging books by the covers and this cover didnt seem apealing to me. I am in 6th grade. So i didnt want tp read it, but i just finished reading it and i want to read it again. Kit's story is kinda exciting(though i didnt underdtand someof it. Sixth grade.) If i were in somewhat the same situation Kit was, I woukd agree with the choice she made over Hannah. Even though her cousin Judith annoys the fudge out of me, i love this book! I felt like I was in the book. Like the characters were stabding beside me. I could see in my mind what Kit and Nat and Rachel and Mercy and John and William and Matthew and Prudence all looked like. Absolutley loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6