Customer Reviews for

Witchblood

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed for Romance With Bite! 4 Fiery Hearts This was a grea

Reviewed for Romance With Bite!

4 Fiery Hearts

This was a great read! The plot, and the elements that make up vampire existence in this book were quite unique. I was hooked from the first page, and the fact that it was set in my beloved UK is a bonus for me.

Emma set...
Reviewed for Romance With Bite!

4 Fiery Hearts

This was a great read! The plot, and the elements that make up vampire existence in this book were quite unique. I was hooked from the first page, and the fact that it was set in my beloved UK is a bonus for me.

Emma sets a scene really well, making the reader feel like they're right there without any effort, and the characterisation was also really good. There was something happening in every chapter in this book, right from chapter one, and I wasn't bored at all while reading it. I mention this because I can often get quite bored when I read YA fiction (I don't read it that often because of this) - maybe it's the angst and the usual teen trauma. Although there was angst in this book, I didn't feel that it dragged on, and thought it was very realistic (in so far as a paranormal book can be) and true to the character.

You've got a little bit of everything in this vampire story: bloodlust, sexual urges, a vampire society, the dichotomy between holding onto your humanity and being drawn to your new vampiric life, witches, a tiny bit of magic, and ... other (I won't say what it is in case people consider it a spoiler).

So, why 4 stars instead of 5? Because 5 stars says to me that it simply can't get any better, and from reading the chapter one teaser of the next book, Witchcraft, that you get as a bonus in this one, I just know that the second book will be even better - that's quite a first chapter - drops you straight into the thick of it!

If anyone's looking for a new YA author to try, I definitely recommend Witchblood. It's an excellent start to what looks like will be a fantastic series, and I can't wait to read book two :)

Source: I was given a free eBook copy from the author, in exchange for an honest review.

posted by Dianna_Hardy on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Looking forward to book2&3

When i got this book i wasn't sold on it right off the bat But i finish it . Now it was a good book but not the best . It seens to brag on at some parts . I hope the next book pick up speed.

posted by 10961876 on June 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Romance With Bite! 4 Fiery Hearts This was a grea

    Reviewed for Romance With Bite!

    4 Fiery Hearts

    This was a great read! The plot, and the elements that make up vampire existence in this book were quite unique. I was hooked from the first page, and the fact that it was set in my beloved UK is a bonus for me.

    Emma sets a scene really well, making the reader feel like they're right there without any effort, and the characterisation was also really good. There was something happening in every chapter in this book, right from chapter one, and I wasn't bored at all while reading it. I mention this because I can often get quite bored when I read YA fiction (I don't read it that often because of this) - maybe it's the angst and the usual teen trauma. Although there was angst in this book, I didn't feel that it dragged on, and thought it was very realistic (in so far as a paranormal book can be) and true to the character.

    You've got a little bit of everything in this vampire story: bloodlust, sexual urges, a vampire society, the dichotomy between holding onto your humanity and being drawn to your new vampiric life, witches, a tiny bit of magic, and ... other (I won't say what it is in case people consider it a spoiler).

    So, why 4 stars instead of 5? Because 5 stars says to me that it simply can't get any better, and from reading the chapter one teaser of the next book, Witchcraft, that you get as a bonus in this one, I just know that the second book will be even better - that's quite a first chapter - drops you straight into the thick of it!

    If anyone's looking for a new YA author to try, I definitely recommend Witchblood. It's an excellent start to what looks like will be a fantastic series, and I can't wait to read book two :)

    Source: I was given a free eBook copy from the author, in exchange for an honest review.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Fantastic read!

    This book was such a good read! It just sucked me in imediatly, and kept me well intrested through the end. I loved her take on the vampires and the discriptions of our "chocolate aroma." I was extreamly upset to find its very new and the next book 'witchcraft' wont be out for a while im sure. The only disapointing thing was it felt like a very short read even though it said it was over 500 pages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Just the begining

    Easy, fast reading. This book captivates you with the characters history, conflict, and plot. I am sure it will be in the second book that the story will really take off. Its a book you will need to read to know how everyone plays a roll in jessica's journey into a new life for the second book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Love this

    Very good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    A very good, quick read. I quickly became engrossed in this seri

    A very good, quick read. I quickly became engrossed in this series. Have read all four and am anxiously waiting for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Great read..

    I loved this book....great characters, nice plot and just enough twists and turns. On to the sequel I go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I did not expect to become as engrossed with this book as I did.

    I did not expect to become as engrossed with this book as I did. I began reading and couldn't stop until I was finished. This story was unique in that I have not come across a book where the main character was a witch turned vampire. The whole situation I think is the most believable. Jess is a ordinary girl who gets killed outside of a nightclub. She is saved by two vampires. Jess soon finds out she has special gifts because she is part witch. Jess and Daniel have to work together to find out her mysterious heritage and learn to live as a vampire. I am looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you are looking for a different young-girl-turned-vampire sto

    If you are looking for a different young-girl-turned-vampire story, I think this is it. Daniel starts off as the mysterious stranger in the bar with burnt chocolate eyes. Jess sees him, and she’s attracted. But she has a boyfriend whom she loves, Luke. But Daniel sees her too. They have a brief conversation that really leads nowhere. Jess’s evening ends with her being mugged in the alley and left for dead… or vampires.

    The rest of the story is her becoming a vampire, learning to be the new person that she is, and dealing with the changes that brings about. It was really rather interesting to watch her grow and change, and watch how the people around her reacted to her changes. Of course she has to let her old life go, but there are definitely instances when the past and the present collide.

    I found the characters to vibrant and compelling. I really liked Jess. I think there are a lot of terrific things in store for her. At times she did get a bit whiney, but she is a teen whose life has been turned upside down. And above and beyond that, she discovers her old life might not have been all she thought it was either. I’m excited to see what is to come for her in the next book. Her emotions were very real and at the surface. At times they caught me a bit unprepared. I really like that feeling of being caught of guard.

    I really liked Daniel, too. He seemed like a quiet and powerful presence, I really felt he was capable of much more than he let on. He seems to have an infinite well of patience, which can only come from time or love. And in his case, it seems to be both.

    Eva is another character I found wildly interesting. She comes and goes in this story, you don’t really get too in depth with her. But she was definitely a breath of fresh air at times. She was able to pull off the scary vamp role, along with the seductress and mentor roles as well.

    There are a lot of things that switch it up in Witchblood. I mean, it’s not called Witchblood for nothing, so you will have to read it to find out what that is all about. But if you are into YA PNR, I think you will definitely enjoy reading this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Awesome

    Couldnt put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Really loved this book.

    The characters were wonderfully developed and very intriguing. I usually read books like this so that I can find books to recommend to my daughter who is 15. We love strong female characters and fantasy.

    I found the plot captivating and the romantic themes very believable. Couldn't wait to get the next book and now I am eagerly awaiting the third! I will definitely read anything I can find from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1