Customer Reviews for

The Witches

Average Rating 4.5
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Frighteningly Exciting War Against Witches

The witches are smart, but Robert's grandmother is smarter. She's had first hand experience with the evil brood of children hating witches and teaches Robert all about protecting himself from their evil schemes. Little did Robert know that very soon he'd be needing gran...
The witches are smart, but Robert's grandmother is smarter. She's had first hand experience with the evil brood of children hating witches and teaches Robert all about protecting himself from their evil schemes. Little did Robert know that very soon he'd be needing grandma's advice in order to save not only himself from the witches but all the children of the world. You'll have a hard time putting this book down and you'll listen to your own grandma's crazy stories a lot differently too.

posted by Sharann on August 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One word describing this book: F U N N Y ! ! !

Don't you sometimes feel like you don't want to watch TV anymore and you just have nothing to do. What if your a student or a kid and have nothing to read, what if your a teacher and you have to share a book with the class and you can't decide whitch one. Read ...
Don't you sometimes feel like you don't want to watch TV anymore and you just have nothing to do. What if your a student or a kid and have nothing to read, what if your a teacher and you have to share a book with the class and you can't decide whitch one. Read " T H E W I TC H E S " !!!!! Why ? It is funny educational you will enjoy it all the way! What more can you ask for in this book.

posted by Laura51 on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Frighteningly Exciting War Against Witches

    The witches are smart, but Robert's grandmother is smarter. She's had first hand experience with the evil brood of children hating witches and teaches Robert all about protecting himself from their evil schemes. Little did Robert know that very soon he'd be needing grandma's advice in order to save not only himself from the witches but all the children of the world. You'll have a hard time putting this book down and you'll listen to your own grandma's crazy stories a lot differently too.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Fun

    When I first heard this story I was in first grade. When the little boy was running and fighting the witches I remember thinking, that is smart or I would have done this instead. I think that many children enjoy this book so much because the main character is a normal child like them, not some Super Hero. It in a sense allows them to feel they can do great things too. I am going to buy this book and read it with my children. I hope they enjoy it as much as I have. Oh and I watched the movie too, I thought it was great.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    We read this as a read aloud in third grade. The book is about a

    We read this as a read aloud in third grade. The book is about a little boy and his grandmother and their interesting encounter with a bunch of children hating witches. The boy learns how to identify witches and their characteristics. Then on his summer break, he sees all the witches including the grand high witch (ick, she's ugly!). You'll never guess what happens next! It was a great book to read and very exciting. It was pretty humorous too! We would recommend to third graders and older to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Book

    I read The Witches in class and my crazy teacher read it to us. he scared us out of our skin and now I can't sleep at night. I wish that he would go back to Rhode Island. He is insane. I need summer.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a sixth grade student in Arizona

    This book is all about what REAL WITCHES are, what they do, and how they really dress. The main character is an interesting boy. He has two mice named William and Mary I think.When his english parents die he goes to live with his grandma in another country. His grandmother smokes cigars and tells stories about REAL WITCHES. You see REAL WITCHES do not wear silly black cloaks or black pointy hats. They dress like normal women and look normal. So how can you tell them apart from us simple, they have distunctions about them. They have unusually big nose holes,always wear gloves,wear wigs, have no toes(they limp),and always wear wigs. I rate it five stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One word describing this book: F U N N Y ! ! !

    Don't you sometimes feel like you don't want to watch TV anymore and you just have nothing to do. What if your a student or a kid and have nothing to read, what if your a teacher and you have to share a book with the class and you can't decide whitch one. Read " T H E W I TC H E S " !!!!! Why ? It is funny educational you will enjoy it all the way! What more can you ask for in this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    I love this book!

    I have read a lot of books by Roald Dahl, but so far this is my favorite!My favorite character is Robert.He goes through alot just to change back from a mouse to a human.His old grandmother was unaware of him becoming a mouse and tries to kill him!I love that the book surprises you and you never know what the next page or sentence is going to bring you.My favorite part is when they sneek into the conference room for the old women and it turns out to be a witch conference!I just couldn't put it down for anything!I read it in three days.You should read this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    Lux

    Walks in and looks around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Extremely creative and fun!

    'The Witches' is a very nice book. The concept is great as well as creative and original - you won't see your average green-skinned witch with a wart on her nose and a black hat in this story. Readers who are looking for a magical, adventurous book with things out of the ordinary occuring left and right should check this out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Tarrantules

    Terrific!!!!... not.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Thus book

    Thus book is very funny. I would do anything to get to this book and read it .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I read this book this year with my class and saw the movie tey were both great
    READ all Ronald Dahl 's Books!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Really enjoyable.

    We are in the middle of this book and really like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    it is the best book i have ever read i want to read more of his

    it is the best book i have ever read i want to read more of his books :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    it is the best book i have ever read i want to read more of his

    it is the best book i have ever read i want to read more of his work lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great book - terrible service

    This book is fantastic!

    The service from B&N is another thing.
    My first copy arrived without a sleeve on it; bar code on hardback. When I called customer service, they said I could keep it as is with 10% off (seriously?) or mail it back to them (and pay for shipping) and they would inquire whether they would mail me another - again, seriously? I asked about returning it to a store and they said that wasn't possible.
    I took it to a store (have done this before) and didn't have issues other than waiting for another store to mail me another book. Yes, I took a chance of whether a sleeve would accompany the hardback again. So no win for me - still had to wait on a shipped order.

    As a long term member, this is very frustrating. B&N shipping in general is getting worse. When quoted 1-3 business days, I'll be lucky to receive the order on the 3rd day - usually after hours. Normally, the orders are arriving on day 4 or 5. They are also using USPS more often than not, which just adds to the confusion and wait time.

    It's really sad to see B&N service and shipping going down the drain. Maybe we should start shopping at local book stores?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    i am a 5th grade student

    The Witches


    If you like humor and witches you will like Roald Dahls The Witches. I like it because the tons and tons of humor and all the suspense and surprises. For me the best part is when the main character is stuck behind a curtain with all the witches having a meeting. Then one of the witches smells him out and finds him. The witches think a clean kid smells like dogs droppings. When they find him they turn him into a mouse. Another interesting is that the witches are trying to turn all of the children into mice. The most suspenseful part was when the main character and his grandma stop the witches from their task. This was a good part for me because there was a lot of suspense and action. I like Roald Dhals books because of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Highly Recommened- you must check it out

    I like this book because, it gets you going.This book is about this boy and his grandmother. His grandmother, tells him stories about this mythical creature called "witches". So oneday the boy and his grandmother went to this hotel, there was this grand high meeting.The boy was so shocked, everything and every women were.......... sorry but you are going to have to read the book to find out what happened with the boy and the women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    A great book for kids who love adventurous stories!

    This book has alot of cool adventure for kids that has many unexpected parts. It also has a moral about you must love your family no matter what happens to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Creative!!!

    This book is very interesting and unpredictable. In the book the grandson and his grandma go on a trip to England and find a convention of witches. The withes plan to get rid of all the Children in England with a potion. Then everything changes and the grandson tries to stop them. I would recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8