Customer Reviews for

Witches Abroad (Discworld Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2003

    Awesome book

    Really awesome. I love the witches, Nanny Ogg is so funny. I would reccomend it to anyone who likes an amusing and educational read that's also very quick. I love Discworld. Neem! Everyone should worship the great writing of Terry Pratchett as I do!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Classic

    Classic Terry P, read it you won't be disappointed, Greebo has a bigger role. Wish more of these were made into movies

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Love it!

    Granny Weatherwax is my hero!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I love this book!

    The witches are my favorite and this one, with its upturning of fairy tales, is so much fun! I love how Terry Pratchett expects his readers to be half-way intelligent. Nothing is given away - you must pay attention Dear Reader, and keep up! I have a special fondness for the footnotes - there aren't as many of them in this book as I'd like, but they are still fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you speak slow enough and loud enough everyone understands English

    This book puts fairy tales in a different perspective. What if your "Happily ever after" isn't the same as mine? What if you and your fairy godmother disagree on prince charming? And why do fairy godmothers come in pairs?
    There's an old tourist tale about a person who believed if you spoke English slow enough and loud enough foreigners (in their own country) would understand you. This poor soul travels across Europe screaming very slowly and ends up believing Europeans are just trying to be difficult. Granny, Nanny and Magrat taught that person all she knew -- still they manage. Terry Pratchett's witches are cultured pearl travelers, i.e. they're irritating in any surrounding, out of place where ever they go, but ultimately they're gems -- Well, except pearls aren't really gems, but these three witches definitely take some hard coating to be palatable, which is why I love them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2007

    Best Discworld Novel to Date

    Like one of the reviewers before me, I am reading all the novels in the order they were published, so this is my thirteenth or so. This is definitely the most polished and broadly appealing of all the books. The humor was fantastic, the timing was great, and the settings were well thought out. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I wish more of Pratchett's novels were this fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    Best Discworld book so far

    I can't believe as a long time reader that I've just discovered Terry Pratchett in the last six months. I like books that are in series and love fanatsy, so again, it's strange I just found these books. Anyway, I am posting my first online review because I just finished this book and think it's the best of the lot so far. I'm reading these in the order they were published so I am through about a dozen now. I enjoyed this one because of the strong connection to the fairy tales I loved reading growing up, the wonderfully impactful yet often subtle satire, and the ties I felt for characters I've enjoyed in previous books (Granny Weatherwax, you are my hero!) This is the type of book I know I'll enjoy reading again because I know I've missed things I'll pick up next time through. It will be fun all over again. In the meantime, I picked up 'Small Gods' as soon as I put down 'Witches Abroad' and I am off on another Discworld adventure...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2003

    Here be Witches, There be Witches...

    I generally don't like the Discworld witches, but I couldn't put down this GREAT, short epic. You NEED to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3