Customer Reviews for

Witches of East End (Beauchamp Family Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fall into a World of Romance and Magic

Welcome to the world of Joanna, Ingrid and Freya, the Witches of East End. Three intriguing woman with long histories (hint: They are more than just witches, but I wont give away the surprises). Ingrid is a librarian, Freys a bartender, and Joana the mother. Each of...
Welcome to the world of Joanna, Ingrid and Freya, the Witches of East End. Three intriguing woman with long histories (hint: They are more than just witches, but I wont give away the surprises). Ingrid is a librarian, Freys a bartender, and Joana the mother. Each of their power if bound in the profession. Freya makes potions and Ingird ties tight knots like the ones a librarian ties in her hair. The book is clever and well thought out, tightly paced and always enjoyable. (Review based on Advanced Copy)

posted by emmarocksit on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

In Between Adult and YA. AdultLite.

Something Wicked this way comes in Del La Cruz's more grown up version of YA fiction. Witches of East End is like her Blue Bloods series just with more graphic sexual content. I know I was a bit surprised not knowing before I read this that it wasn't YA. If you like the...
Something Wicked this way comes in Del La Cruz's more grown up version of YA fiction. Witches of East End is like her Blue Bloods series just with more graphic sexual content. I know I was a bit surprised not knowing before I read this that it wasn't YA. If you like the world where vampires are fallen angels then you'll love witches who were Norse gods.

The Beauchamp's are modern day witches who survived the Salem witch trials just to have their family ripped apart and sentenced to a half life, since they were shut out of the other world and forced to live as humans do, without the use of magic. Strange things start happening in their normally sleepy town, people are sick, animals are dying, as are a few of the locals. Joanna, Freya, and Ingrid are going to have to come out of hiding and break a few rules to solve a few mysteries and possible save the world.

I was a kind of disappointed with this book. I am a fan of the Blue Bloods series and the tone of the book is much the same. But at the same time it was confusing since it read like her usual YA but with more maturely natured scenes. I found the contrast didn't work well. To me this felt like Del La Cruz wanted to write a young adult book but had to age up the characters for the mythology she was using. I wish she would have gone all out and pick a genre instead of bridging two. It was also a little strange that there were tie ins to the Blue Bloods novels. To me this would appeal to the built in aging audience, but also be cause for the younger fans to pick up a copy before the next installment Lost in Time. What bothers me most is that I found this book in the YA section of a bookstore.

The storylines were also simpler than I would have expected. Blue Bloods reads like a spanish soap opera where as Witches of E.E. seemed to take forever to come together and can be predictable. While I like the concepts that Del La Cruz puts in her stories about Vampires being the fallen and the witches are taken from Norse gods, like the evolution of the paranormal races. But sometimes the explanations get thin and I wish a vampire was just a vamp and a witch simply a witch.

Witches of East End straddles the line between Adult and Young Adult. Not mature enough to be Adult. Too racy to be YA. More like AdultLite. The author and publishers seem to want to appeal to an older audience or grow with the earlier one but still attract the teens who read her other books. I think if your going to write for an older audience you should go all the way. More complex storylines, hot romances, engaging prose, and characters to match. Hopefully the follow up will pick an age group and stick with it.

posted by Unwasted_Words on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a new series!

    Meet the Beauchamp ladies:

    Joanna, the mother and healer.
    Ingrid, the oldest daughter and charmer.
    Freya, the youngest daughter and the lover.

    The Beauchamp women are powerful Witches who have been banned by the Council from using their Magic. After many long years of blending into society they one by one begin to dabble again. Joanna heals sickness, Ingrid makes charms to help the woman of North Hampton get pregnant and Freya mixes cocktails of love.

    As they put their magic to use helping the towns people of North Hampton a string of murders happen and all signs point to the magical Beauchamps. Will their magic save them or will the Council take away their magic, this time for good?

    There is more than meets the eye in this magical tale of love, murder and mystery.

    Lets Talk About It:

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down.

    I've read a lot of paranormal books most of which have been vampire related so I was really excited to get into something a little bit different and this book provided it and then some.

    I enjoyed the dynamics of each of the characters and how the book devoted time to build each character separately and together. It's the first book in a series so much of the book was laying the foundation for the future but even then there was enough substance through out for a great story that pulled you into their world.

    The only part of the book that I didn't like, or rather was disappointed in, was the ending. There was so much that went on in the end, so much that was revealed that I wish it was a bit longer to give more information to those parts.

    Overall I really enjoyed the book and have a feeling it will be one of a few series that I will be on the look out for and rush to read as soon as it comes out.

    Melissa
    Reviewer for 1000 + Books to Read

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    New Characters with and Old Twist.

    Melissa de la Cruz creates a reality that is hidden within ours, the world and works of the Witches.
    The Witches of East End follows the tale of a family of witches who reside in a protected part of the North Hamptons, and these three ladies have lived through a lot.

    After having been stripped and denied their lineage of witchcraft from prior transgressions this family just wants to continue on living like normal people, until the itch to practice magic turns to each of the women and a whole host of effects run rampant through the town.
    Witches of East End is a magnificent tale of family and survival. It portrays these three strong women, and their struggle to keep themselves and their family together after so much that has happened to them over the years.

    Some old characters make it into the story from the Blue Bloods series while really bringing us into their whole new world that Cruz has created for us.

    This first book in a series was amazing to read, and it has me looking forward for more.
    Lovers of the Blue Bloods will find a whole new set of amazing characters to grow into a series with.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Recommend for mature audiences

    Joanna, Ingrid, and Freya are witches in a small town. As trouble starts to grow, the women are forced to examine things from an otherworldly perspective.

    I throughly enjoyed the book. I like reading about witches and their history. It does have a few detailed love scenes, but nothing I would say it too graphic. But this def isnt a book for the young or easily offended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    Walk with me into a new World

    Of witches, zombies, and love. If you like romance, young and old, have an itch for young love, but like a little back story and some history, witches might be a perfect read for the train, plane or bus this summer.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2014

    I enjoyed this book. The one thing that could have helped it a b

    I enjoyed this book. The one thing that could have helped it a bit is flowing a bit better between chapters. Sometimes it felt choppy and I wasn't sure what was going on. The story line was interesting and entertaining though, especially at the end when various things come to light that we didn't know in the beginning. I'm looking forward to the 2nd book and rather sad that the show has been canceled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Very good.

    I really enjoyed the book, enough that I immediately got the second in the series. If you watch the show then you need to be ready for a complete departure from the books. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoy the show and am looking forward to the second season but it is a little strange how different things are. Some characters don't exist in the books, names are changed, hair colors are very different from what you see in the show. I am not sure if I would have preferred to read the books before watching the series or not. I might have been very confused. Great read though, keeps you interested all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Entertaining!

    Was curious about the book since the TV show is interesting. The book was an easy read. If you want a book that you don't have to work at keeping all the characters straight this is it. Entertaining. Will buy the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quick, Easy, Magical It starts out as three witches who are for

    Quick, Easy, Magical

    It starts out as three witches who are forbidden to use their powers: Joanna Beauchamp, the mother, Ingrid, the elder sister, and Freya, the younger. The father is missing/estranged, and there's a brother who's incarcerated somewhere.

    Freya is engaged to Bran Gardiner, wealthy international philanthropist, when at their engagement party, his brother Killian appears. Freya is irresistibly drawn to Killian, so much so that they sneak off to the bathroom and boink like rabbits then and there.

    I know for some readers, that's a deal-breaker right there, but if you keep reading, you'll find there's a very good reason for it.

    The women all begin breaking the prohibition on using magic - just in tiny ways. Freya uses her gift/magic to make magic cocktails to help people find love. Ingrid, a librarian, magically removes a blockage from the body of her desperate-to-conceive co-worker. Joanna... well, Joanna brings back someone from the dead, technically not such a little thing.

    While originally people are grateful, when bad things start happening in the town, people turn up dead, and others go missing, and there's some bizarre environmental catastrophe happening, it's possible that it'll be Salem all over again.

    There's elements of Norse mythology, and some vampires and zombies make a brief appearance. Chapters alternate from the POV of each woman. There aren't many sex scenes, but those there are, are sizzling and explicit. There seemed to be a few loose ends left, but it's the first in a series, and it's NOT a cliffhanger. I liked it a lot and look forward to reading the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars

    I thought this book was just okay. I'm a big person on pacing of a book and this one was just a tad slow for my liking. It took me a while to get into the story also. I just wished it pulled me in sooner. I could careless about one's banging body and boy troubles. And the other was so uptight and not really that likable (in my opinion). Don't get me started on the mother. For some reason I just didn't care for her. Most times it seemed like she cared for someone else's child than her own and she tended to overreact when it came to this child.

    I did start to like it some when they started to use their magic then slowly it started to pick up. Unfortunately for me I didn't really get into until almost the very end. I liked that it seemed like the Salem witch trials was happening to them but in the modern day version. There was an unexpected family twist. I didn't see it until we got into it. I should have put two and two together but it just went over my head. I was all about it then so I think with everything else out of the way the next book will hopefully be amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I bought this book on a Bargain Whim... It was Addictive. I have

    I bought this book on a Bargain Whim... It was Addictive. I have already purchased the second and third in the series. I finished the first two in one week and Just began the third. I got my Daughter turned onto the series. Its a wonderful Cast of witches, a little Mystery and Romance. I recommend for a good quick page turning read. I Just couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Highly recommend

    The book was great. I didn't want 2 put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Good reac

    :)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Great new series!!

    I bought this on a whim. I wasn't so sure at first. It was a great surprise! The Beauchamp ladies are funny and intriguing. The story is cool and easy to read. Melissa De La Cruz is a great author and I can't wait to read more of the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Great read.

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    With beautifully written characters and all-too-real dialogue, C

    With beautifully written characters and all-too-real dialogue, Cruz takes the magic we loved from her young adult series and transforms it into something sexy, seductive and addictive. And the ending…the ending will have you panting for more. Just when you think everything is as it should be, the last paragraph of the Epilogue will make your jaw drop and your insides clench.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Very cute!

    Very fast read and entertaining! Can't wait for the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Great read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I don't know what it is about magic but I got so wrapped up in the story line. Can't wait for Book #2 to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    be witching

    a truly good story line, well written. exciting and will read it again one day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Very entertaining.

    Entertaining story with surprise twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    True Page Turner

    The book synopsis caught my eye and I could not wait to get my hands on this book. Witches, Magic, Intrigue, and Love ... a supernatural combination.

    The book follows a mother and her two daughters; each chapter rotates through their lives/perspectives. Each woman has her own set of strengths with her powers which align quite nicely with their personalities; or are their personalities a result of their powers? Their desire to help is astounding and they are acutely aware of those around them. The magic and intrigue is fulfilling but the love triangle keeps the pages turning.

    Any fan of De la Cruz's YA books will certainly feel a charge while reading this one as well. She has a way with words and an amazing ability to create a world you sink into and become a part of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6