Customer Reviews for

Witches of East End (Beauchamp Family Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 325 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

great

Loved this book. I was finished in a couple of hours. can't wait to read more

posted by Ozzy12 on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

In Between Adult and YA. AdultLite.

Something Wicked this way comes in Del La Cruz's more grown up version of YA fiction. Witches of East End is like her Blue Bloods series just with more graphic sexual content. I know I was a bit surprised not knowing before I read this that it wasn't YA. If you like the...
Something Wicked this way comes in Del La Cruz's more grown up version of YA fiction. Witches of East End is like her Blue Bloods series just with more graphic sexual content. I know I was a bit surprised not knowing before I read this that it wasn't YA. If you like the world where vampires are fallen angels then you'll love witches who were Norse gods.

The Beauchamp's are modern day witches who survived the Salem witch trials just to have their family ripped apart and sentenced to a half life, since they were shut out of the other world and forced to live as humans do, without the use of magic. Strange things start happening in their normally sleepy town, people are sick, animals are dying, as are a few of the locals. Joanna, Freya, and Ingrid are going to have to come out of hiding and break a few rules to solve a few mysteries and possible save the world.

I was a kind of disappointed with this book. I am a fan of the Blue Bloods series and the tone of the book is much the same. But at the same time it was confusing since it read like her usual YA but with more maturely natured scenes. I found the contrast didn't work well. To me this felt like Del La Cruz wanted to write a young adult book but had to age up the characters for the mythology she was using. I wish she would have gone all out and pick a genre instead of bridging two. It was also a little strange that there were tie ins to the Blue Bloods novels. To me this would appeal to the built in aging audience, but also be cause for the younger fans to pick up a copy before the next installment Lost in Time. What bothers me most is that I found this book in the YA section of a bookstore.

The storylines were also simpler than I would have expected. Blue Bloods reads like a spanish soap opera where as Witches of E.E. seemed to take forever to come together and can be predictable. While I like the concepts that Del La Cruz puts in her stories about Vampires being the fallen and the witches are taken from Norse gods, like the evolution of the paranormal races. But sometimes the explanations get thin and I wish a vampire was just a vamp and a witch simply a witch.

Witches of East End straddles the line between Adult and Young Adult. Not mature enough to be Adult. Too racy to be YA. More like AdultLite. The author and publishers seem to want to appeal to an older audience or grow with the earlier one but still attract the teens who read her other books. I think if your going to write for an older audience you should go all the way. More complex storylines, hot romances, engaging prose, and characters to match. Hopefully the follow up will pick an age group and stick with it.

posted by Unwasted_Words on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Loved this book. I was finished in a couple of hours. can't wait to read more

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    A amazing start to a promising new series

    The witches of east end is the first great para-romance summer fantastic read of the season! For everyone who loves a clever story, a group of lovable heroines and a little romance, I highly recommend.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    Fall into a World of Romance and Magic

    Welcome to the world of Joanna, Ingrid and Freya, the Witches of East End. Three intriguing woman with long histories (hint: They are more than just witches, but I wont give away the surprises). Ingrid is a librarian, Freys a bartender, and Joana the mother. Each of their power if bound in the profession. Freya makes potions and Ingird ties tight knots like the ones a librarian ties in her hair. The book is clever and well thought out, tightly paced and always enjoyable. (Review based on Advanced Copy)

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    Prior to Witches of East End, I had read and enjoyed several books by Melissa de la Cruz (including her Au Pairs series, which are perfect summer reads, and Angels on a Sunset Boulevard) so it was no surprise that I liked Witches of East. What was surprising, though, was just how much I liked it, or more accurately loved it. Full of witches, spells, and fantastic world building and writing, Witches of East End truly is one of the best new paranormal reads out there!

    Witches of East End brought several amazing things to the table, one of them being complex and memorable characters. There's always a small chance that I'll enjoy a book told with separate perspectives, much less one using third person to do this, but with Witches of East End this technique worked perfectly. I loved the switching of narrators between Ingrid, Joanna, and Freya, and without I feel the book would simply not be the same. Because not only did it allow for the reader to get a taste of each of the three main characters, but it also caused for suspense and drama with every switch. My favorite character out of the mix would have to be Ingrid, because we share a love of bookish things. However, I still adored Freya and her wild child ways, even though her life love was always in too many shambles for my taste, and Joanna was a great addition as well- I especially liked her scenes with Tyler, the little boy she helped take care of.

    Another high point of this novel was the plot. I never truly knew exactly where it was going, which was a surprising yet highly enjoyable aspect of the novel. I loved the focus on witches, especially, because not was an entertaining part of the plot, but it is also one thing you do not see much of in books these days. I also loved the way in which Melissa de la Cruz told the Beauchamp's history and past troubles. Slowly told yet in a way that kept intrigue and mystic, when everything was finally spilled, it still managed to surprise me.

    Cruz's writing was also fabulous. She did a great job of bringing the town of North Hampton to life with her vivid descriptions, and her characters and plot events where nothing but complex and memorable. Moreover, the ending? Such a cliffhanger, though it has made even more excited about the sequel!

    Fascinating, alluring, and memorable, Witches of East End is sure to bring out a new fantastic series for her old fans to follow as well as introduce new fans to the amazingness that is Melissa de La Cruz!

    Grade: A+

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    The next Great Witch Adventure

    As a fan of the witch genre I've been waiting for an exciting new take on Witches and I think I've found it. I was drawn by those beautiful eyes on the cover and loved every page. I received an ARC of the book and have had some time to think about my review. The book has really grown on me and I have actually re-read several sections. Please enjoy!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Where is the next installment!

    I loved this book and found each character intregueing. So my only question is....where is the next book in the series coming out?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Devastating Love!

    I read and review paranormal and romance novels. Naturally I love a book that has a bit of both. The debut adult novel from de la cruz (you may know her from the blue bloods books - think vamps and angels) delivers a heavy dose of love and intrigue. A witches brew of romantic fun and good old fashioned story telling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Wow!!!!!

    I didn't even finish the sample because I just knew this book was for me. BTW, I counted all the bad reviews and out of the 107 I read (not counting this one of course), there were only 18!!! Also, this was only the second book about witches I remember liking. The first one was "Witches" by Roald Dahl. I have nver even heard about this author until now! I guess this is what happens when you browse the shop on your NOOK... Which is a good thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    An Exciting New Series!

    I was delighted to receive my copy of the Witches of East End in a box this morning and I am even happier to report that the book was enchanting and beautiful. Witches is a story that reads fast, but leaves the reader with a lot to think about. The characters are deep and their backstories are complex. If you've read the author's previous series you will recognize a few new characters, but witches stands on its own as a bright new series with its own world. The Blue Bloods series focuses on a christian mythology while de la Cruz switches to Norse myths for this new series. Much like the Blue bloods, her characters are not simply witches. They have a dense history and many previous lives. All of this leaves a lot for the reader to think about and enjoy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Midnight Sky Witch Coven || Joining info steps

    Post by: KaterinaPetrova


    STEP ONE: Create ur Witch idenity. (HAIR COLOR, EYE COLOR, HAIR TYPE & NAME.)


    STEP TWO: Create ur Witch Coven Username..mine is KaterinaPetrova. Post user ALWAYS ON UR REVIEW TITLE!


    FINAL STEP: Start talking to other witches in coven and make magic and have gfs and bfs (dont matter if bi, gay, straight or lesbian...im bisexaul!!)



    Have fun!


    XOXO, Katerina.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Training Hollow

    EndClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Aspen

    Its ok im @ ur plce

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Eastclan

    There are four difrant clans Eastclan Westclan Northclan and Southclan. I am the leader of all four. You come to me here tell me what clan and postion you want. I will tell you where to do after that. Everytime a deputy stops being deputy i will pick 3 cats and the clan will vote. All first results are not to be used! Talk to me in next result

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Lionpaw

    Ok!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Toxin

    Im in result six...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Divenation

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great

    I say its a good book if you it to blue bloods. Other wise your not getting the full joy. If you make yourself questions as you read its amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    LOVED IT

    Not what I expected it was an excelent resd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Great Read

    COULD not put down! Cant wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6