Customer Reviews for

Witches of East End (Beauchamp Family Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 323 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

great

Loved this book. I was finished in a couple of hours. can't wait to read more

posted by Ozzy12 on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

In Between Adult and YA. AdultLite.

Something Wicked this way comes in Del La Cruz's more grown up version of YA fiction. Witches of East End is like her Blue Bloods series just with more graphic sexual content. I know I was a bit surprised not knowing before I read this that it wasn't YA. If you like the...
Something Wicked this way comes in Del La Cruz's more grown up version of YA fiction. Witches of East End is like her Blue Bloods series just with more graphic sexual content. I know I was a bit surprised not knowing before I read this that it wasn't YA. If you like the world where vampires are fallen angels then you'll love witches who were Norse gods.

The Beauchamp's are modern day witches who survived the Salem witch trials just to have their family ripped apart and sentenced to a half life, since they were shut out of the other world and forced to live as humans do, without the use of magic. Strange things start happening in their normally sleepy town, people are sick, animals are dying, as are a few of the locals. Joanna, Freya, and Ingrid are going to have to come out of hiding and break a few rules to solve a few mysteries and possible save the world.

I was a kind of disappointed with this book. I am a fan of the Blue Bloods series and the tone of the book is much the same. But at the same time it was confusing since it read like her usual YA but with more maturely natured scenes. I found the contrast didn't work well. To me this felt like Del La Cruz wanted to write a young adult book but had to age up the characters for the mythology she was using. I wish she would have gone all out and pick a genre instead of bridging two. It was also a little strange that there were tie ins to the Blue Bloods novels. To me this would appeal to the built in aging audience, but also be cause for the younger fans to pick up a copy before the next installment Lost in Time. What bothers me most is that I found this book in the YA section of a bookstore.

The storylines were also simpler than I would have expected. Blue Bloods reads like a spanish soap opera where as Witches of E.E. seemed to take forever to come together and can be predictable. While I like the concepts that Del La Cruz puts in her stories about Vampires being the fallen and the witches are taken from Norse gods, like the evolution of the paranormal races. But sometimes the explanations get thin and I wish a vampire was just a vamp and a witch simply a witch.

Witches of East End straddles the line between Adult and Young Adult. Not mature enough to be Adult. Too racy to be YA. More like AdultLite. The author and publishers seem to want to appeal to an older audience or grow with the earlier one but still attract the teens who read her other books. I think if your going to write for an older audience you should go all the way. More complex storylines, hot romances, engaging prose, and characters to match. Hopefully the follow up will pick an age group and stick with it.

posted by Unwasted_Words on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    In Between Adult and YA. AdultLite.

    Something Wicked this way comes in Del La Cruz's more grown up version of YA fiction. Witches of East End is like her Blue Bloods series just with more graphic sexual content. I know I was a bit surprised not knowing before I read this that it wasn't YA. If you like the world where vampires are fallen angels then you'll love witches who were Norse gods.

    The Beauchamp's are modern day witches who survived the Salem witch trials just to have their family ripped apart and sentenced to a half life, since they were shut out of the other world and forced to live as humans do, without the use of magic. Strange things start happening in their normally sleepy town, people are sick, animals are dying, as are a few of the locals. Joanna, Freya, and Ingrid are going to have to come out of hiding and break a few rules to solve a few mysteries and possible save the world.

    I was a kind of disappointed with this book. I am a fan of the Blue Bloods series and the tone of the book is much the same. But at the same time it was confusing since it read like her usual YA but with more maturely natured scenes. I found the contrast didn't work well. To me this felt like Del La Cruz wanted to write a young adult book but had to age up the characters for the mythology she was using. I wish she would have gone all out and pick a genre instead of bridging two. It was also a little strange that there were tie ins to the Blue Bloods novels. To me this would appeal to the built in aging audience, but also be cause for the younger fans to pick up a copy before the next installment Lost in Time. What bothers me most is that I found this book in the YA section of a bookstore.

    The storylines were also simpler than I would have expected. Blue Bloods reads like a spanish soap opera where as Witches of E.E. seemed to take forever to come together and can be predictable. While I like the concepts that Del La Cruz puts in her stories about Vampires being the fallen and the witches are taken from Norse gods, like the evolution of the paranormal races. But sometimes the explanations get thin and I wish a vampire was just a vamp and a witch simply a witch.

    Witches of East End straddles the line between Adult and Young Adult. Not mature enough to be Adult. Too racy to be YA. More like AdultLite. The author and publishers seem to want to appeal to an older audience or grow with the earlier one but still attract the teens who read her other books. I think if your going to write for an older audience you should go all the way. More complex storylines, hot romances, engaging prose, and characters to match. Hopefully the follow up will pick an age group and stick with it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    New Witchy Read

    Witches of East End revolves around two sisters and their mother in a small coastal town. With a long, colorful & paranormal past, all the Beauchamp women currently settle for a mundane lifestyle within the community while silently mourning the loss of their powers. When tragedy strikes, the family chooses to take risks using their forbidden magic for good which in turn gives them each a new purpose in life. With the plot colliding between such movies scripts as "Thor" and "Practical Magic", these powerful witches/women created by de la Cruz discover joy, adventure, heart-ache, and inner strength in this new magical series.

    While all the Beauchamp ladies are "neither old nor young", "their physical appearances [correspond] to their particular talents" (pg. 29) :

    Freya, the young vibrant one, can pull off looking within the age ranges of 16-23 and has a passion of igniting passion and is often characterized as "the first blush of Love". She can easily brew concoctions for all types of romance, but internally struggles with her own upcoming marriage.

    Ingrid, the strong silent type, works for the locally under-funded library and can appear "anywhere from 27-35" years old. Known as the "Keeper of the Hearth," she is mostly stubborn and strongly believes in the rules (especially regarding her job), but slowly lets down her rigid guard in more ways than one throughout the book.

    Joanna, the wise mother, has the heart of a child but carries the features "of an older woman in her early sixties". She's been around for centuries and carries dark secrets from her daughter while anguishing over past losses.

    I had high hopes for this book, eagerly anticipating the whole witch theme since I'm a fan of de la Cruz's Blue Blood series, but, sadly, this story was a let down. To me, it felt like it was all over the place, either in the present or past, either in this sisters head or a side characters and, honestly, I would expect that from a book later on in a well-rounded series, but not from the first story. In my opinion, the tale would have flowed better if the author would have stuck to one family member per book - it would have created more interesting character development, a richer in-depth setting, and helped the reader better grasp this new Beauchamp world full of witchy powers. Yet, what the reader received at the end of page 323 was a jumble of short stories that felt more like an anthology than an actual novel.

    Other than that, the story dragged immensely, but I'm still holding out that this series can turn itself around since it took reading the first three books chronologically of de la Cruz's popular vampire series to become a favorite on mine. These characters have promise, the current story did contain some nice twist/turns, and the plot (though slightly lacking right now) can really expand into many intriguing areas in the future - IF - the author would actually work on creating a tale meant more for an adult audience (since Witches of East End could easily fall into the 'advance' young adult category -- nothing too hot & heavy/ deadly & devious in this tale to cast it into an "R" rating) So, here's hoping that something 'wicked' cool comes from the Beauchamp women in Book #2!

    Likes: I'd be tempted to taste Freya's new cocktail menu at the North Inn Bar :)

    Dislikes: I wanted to get immersed in the story, but due

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Enjoyable but not well-written

    I've read one other book by this author, and found it similarly lacking. The plot is interesting, the characters adequate, but the writing style is frequently horrendous. Also, overall, the climax, resolution, and "twists" leave much to be desired. Best saved for your morning commute and little else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Worth $3 Price

    I wouldn't pay $10 for this book but it was a decent read for $3. I won't be buying the rest of the series, it just wasn't enough of a page turner for me to be interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    I finally finished the last book of the blue bloods series (it t

    I finally finished the last book of the blue bloods series (it took me 3 months to read it) and this came on my suggested readings list.
    I decided to give it a shot after I saw that the digital version is just little over $3. It took me some time to really get into it but the story  got better and better. I finished it in less than a day. 
    I still do not understand why the author had to throw in the characters from the blue bloods series in there. I didn't think they had a place in the book. I will definitely keep reading the series. I just hope it doesn't get long winded like some of the blue bloods novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Good story, easy reading

    The story gets better as the story progesses * not the best that I have read but certainly not the worse * entertaining for the most part

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Fun

    Enjoyable, but didn't like the Norse spin on witchcraft.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Worth Reading

    I liked the book. I don't know if I will read the second book right away but will keep it on my reading list. Nice story kept moving along. Lots of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Good characters.

    Enjoyable characters. Looking forward to reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Really 3 3/4 stars. Story about 3 witches told from all three po

    Really 3 3/4 stars. Story about 3 witches told from all three pov. Kind of supernatural mixed with a little mystery. A couple Blue Blood characters make a cameo appearance. The story is slow to start with a "snowball rolling downhill" ending. Would have maybe given it 4 stars if the beginning didn't drag. Looking forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Rather Boring

    It had a good premise but things seemed to go astray towards the middle of the book. The end was interesting but came out of nowhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Pretty good

    Let me start off by saying I love Melissa de la Cruz's Blue Blood series. So much that when I found out she was writing a book on witches I got really excited. I believe I even bought the book right when it came out. The first part of the book was kind of slow but I just kept plugging along by about 3/4th's of the way through I was kind of like where is this going? And by the end I was like Ok I'm ready for the next one! Because I think there will be another one. I ended up liking it for the most part. Parts were slow but once you get passed them it gets better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Good book with a surprising twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Fun, light read....not bad

    Enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Interesting Read

    You can't use your gift...but we can't really stop you either.

    Sound interesting? It was to me. I couldn't wait to sink my teeth into Witches of East End. The story is written with fluidity and moves at a quick pace. The blurb snagged me immediately and, once opened, I couldn't put it down. Ms. de la Cruz has characters that are intriguing. I wanted to know what would happen next. Ms. de la Cruz puts a new spin on mythology and witches. I really enjoyed the telling.

    The characters are what hampered the story for me. Joanna has a lot of potential. As the matriarch, she's got power and standing. I liked her subplot. Man, I want to see her get her man. At the same time, she fell into grandma mode more than once and I wanted to see her have more spunk. She has a gift that's out of this world. I hope she gets a story down the line.

    Then there's Freya. Honestly, I had some serious reservations with her. Granted, the epilogue totally kicks the end of the story, including her, onto it's rump, but there were too many moments I wanted to smack her on the head. She makes decisions that I had a hard time dealing with and was really hard pressed to find reasons to cheer for her.

    Last but not least, there's Ingrid. She was my favorite character because, above all else, she's out to help people. No agendas, no secrets, just helping. But like her mother and sister, she's got moments when she's a little less spunky and a little more meek. There's so much potential for her, but sometimes she just doesn't use it.

    Still, there's a lot going on in this book. The mythology really spins along, keeping the reader firmly in his or her seat. This book is certainly one paranormal fans won't want to miss. There's suspense, mystery, romance, and a neat little HEA that you won't want to pass up. Grab a copy of Witches of East End. It's a good read.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    1st in Beauchamp Family series is hit and miss

    Witches of East End by Melissa de la Cruz is the first book in an adult series by the author of the YA Blue Bloods series. The Beauchamp women have made their home in North Hampton, a small town on the tip of Long Island that is just as mysterious as Joanna, Freya, and Ingrid. These three witches have kept their powers under wraps for the last few hundred years after being punished by the Council. Freya is engaged to Bran Gardiner, the owner of Fair Haven a grand manor just outside of town, but she can't help the feelings she has for his brother Killian. While working at the local bar, she decides to finally embrace her true self again and puts a selection of "love potions" on the menu. Ingrid is the uptight sister, working at the local library and trying to save it from the town's economic troubles. When Freya's magic doesn't seem to bring down any punishment, Ingrid decides to help out the town's women through charms, but she discovers that many of them all seem to have a strange gray mass inhibiting their ability to conceive or create. Joanna, the girls' mother, has funneled her energy into baking and redecorating their home (again and again and again), but she mourns the loss of her missing son and hides a secret about the girls' long-lost father. de la Cruz gives readers information about the Beauchamps history bit by bit, teasing and tantalizing until the pieces all come shockingly together. Mimi Force from the Blue Bloods series makes an appearance, but that section of the book feels a bit forced and doesn't quite fit in as well with the rest of the story. Of the sisters, Ingrid is the more likeable. Freya can't quite seem to keep her pants on, and is completely torn between sexy and electric Killian and shy and safe Bran. The book is incredibly sexy with a twisted mystery that will keep readers guessing. I really enjoyed the book once the real history of the women was revealed, but the story seemed disjointed and suffered from de la Cruz trying to keep the readers in the dark for too long. The resolution to their legal troubles seemed a bit too neat, but the epilogue hooked me, and I will definitely be looking for the next book in this series in hopes that the author will have hit her stride.

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3