Customer Reviews for

Witches of East End (Witches of East End Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Fall into a World of Romance and Magic

Welcome to the world of Joanna, Ingrid and Freya, the Witches of East End. Three intriguing woman with long histories (hint: They are more than just witches, but I wont give away the surprises). Ingrid is a librarian, Freys a bartender, and Joana the mother. Each of...
Welcome to the world of Joanna, Ingrid and Freya, the Witches of East End. Three intriguing woman with long histories (hint: They are more than just witches, but I wont give away the surprises). Ingrid is a librarian, Freys a bartender, and Joana the mother. Each of their power if bound in the profession. Freya makes potions and Ingird ties tight knots like the ones a librarian ties in her hair. The book is clever and well thought out, tightly paced and always enjoyable. (Review based on Advanced Copy)

posted by emmarocksit on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

In Between Adult and YA. AdultLite.

Something Wicked this way comes in Del La Cruz's more grown up version of YA fiction. Witches of East End is like her Blue Bloods series just with more graphic sexual content. I know I was a bit surprised not knowing before I read this that it wasn't YA. If you like the...
Something Wicked this way comes in Del La Cruz's more grown up version of YA fiction. Witches of East End is like her Blue Bloods series just with more graphic sexual content. I know I was a bit surprised not knowing before I read this that it wasn't YA. If you like the world where vampires are fallen angels then you'll love witches who were Norse gods.

The Beauchamp's are modern day witches who survived the Salem witch trials just to have their family ripped apart and sentenced to a half life, since they were shut out of the other world and forced to live as humans do, without the use of magic. Strange things start happening in their normally sleepy town, people are sick, animals are dying, as are a few of the locals. Joanna, Freya, and Ingrid are going to have to come out of hiding and break a few rules to solve a few mysteries and possible save the world.

I was a kind of disappointed with this book. I am a fan of the Blue Bloods series and the tone of the book is much the same. But at the same time it was confusing since it read like her usual YA but with more maturely natured scenes. I found the contrast didn't work well. To me this felt like Del La Cruz wanted to write a young adult book but had to age up the characters for the mythology she was using. I wish she would have gone all out and pick a genre instead of bridging two. It was also a little strange that there were tie ins to the Blue Bloods novels. To me this would appeal to the built in aging audience, but also be cause for the younger fans to pick up a copy before the next installment Lost in Time. What bothers me most is that I found this book in the YA section of a bookstore.

The storylines were also simpler than I would have expected. Blue Bloods reads like a spanish soap opera where as Witches of E.E. seemed to take forever to come together and can be predictable. While I like the concepts that Del La Cruz puts in her stories about Vampires being the fallen and the witches are taken from Norse gods, like the evolution of the paranormal races. But sometimes the explanations get thin and I wish a vampire was just a vamp and a witch simply a witch.

Witches of East End straddles the line between Adult and Young Adult. Not mature enough to be Adult. Too racy to be YA. More like AdultLite. The author and publishers seem to want to appeal to an older audience or grow with the earlier one but still attract the teens who read her other books. I think if your going to write for an older audience you should go all the way. More complex storylines, hot romances, engaging prose, and characters to match. Hopefully the follow up will pick an age group and stick with it.

posted by Unwasted_Words on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    Fall into a World of Romance and Magic

    Welcome to the world of Joanna, Ingrid and Freya, the Witches of East End. Three intriguing woman with long histories (hint: They are more than just witches, but I wont give away the surprises). Ingrid is a librarian, Freys a bartender, and Joana the mother. Each of their power if bound in the profession. Freya makes potions and Ingird ties tight knots like the ones a librarian ties in her hair. The book is clever and well thought out, tightly paced and always enjoyable. (Review based on Advanced Copy)

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Loved this book. I was finished in a couple of hours. can't wait to read more

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    A amazing start to a promising new series

    The witches of east end is the first great para-romance summer fantastic read of the season! For everyone who loves a clever story, a group of lovable heroines and a little romance, I highly recommend.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    Prior to Witches of East End, I had read and enjoyed several books by Melissa de la Cruz (including her Au Pairs series, which are perfect summer reads, and Angels on a Sunset Boulevard) so it was no surprise that I liked Witches of East. What was surprising, though, was just how much I liked it, or more accurately loved it. Full of witches, spells, and fantastic world building and writing, Witches of East End truly is one of the best new paranormal reads out there!

    Witches of East End brought several amazing things to the table, one of them being complex and memorable characters. There's always a small chance that I'll enjoy a book told with separate perspectives, much less one using third person to do this, but with Witches of East End this technique worked perfectly. I loved the switching of narrators between Ingrid, Joanna, and Freya, and without I feel the book would simply not be the same. Because not only did it allow for the reader to get a taste of each of the three main characters, but it also caused for suspense and drama with every switch. My favorite character out of the mix would have to be Ingrid, because we share a love of bookish things. However, I still adored Freya and her wild child ways, even though her life love was always in too many shambles for my taste, and Joanna was a great addition as well- I especially liked her scenes with Tyler, the little boy she helped take care of.

    Another high point of this novel was the plot. I never truly knew exactly where it was going, which was a surprising yet highly enjoyable aspect of the novel. I loved the focus on witches, especially, because not was an entertaining part of the plot, but it is also one thing you do not see much of in books these days. I also loved the way in which Melissa de la Cruz told the Beauchamp's history and past troubles. Slowly told yet in a way that kept intrigue and mystic, when everything was finally spilled, it still managed to surprise me.

    Cruz's writing was also fabulous. She did a great job of bringing the town of North Hampton to life with her vivid descriptions, and her characters and plot events where nothing but complex and memorable. Moreover, the ending? Such a cliffhanger, though it has made even more excited about the sequel!

    Fascinating, alluring, and memorable, Witches of East End is sure to bring out a new fantastic series for her old fans to follow as well as introduce new fans to the amazingness that is Melissa de La Cruz!

    Grade: A+

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    The next Great Witch Adventure

    As a fan of the witch genre I've been waiting for an exciting new take on Witches and I think I've found it. I was drawn by those beautiful eyes on the cover and loved every page. I received an ARC of the book and have had some time to think about my review. The book has really grown on me and I have actually re-read several sections. Please enjoy!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great start to a new series!

    Meet the Beauchamp ladies:

    Joanna, the mother and healer.
    Ingrid, the oldest daughter and charmer.
    Freya, the youngest daughter and the lover.

    The Beauchamp women are powerful Witches who have been banned by the Council from using their Magic. After many long years of blending into society they one by one begin to dabble again. Joanna heals sickness, Ingrid makes charms to help the woman of North Hampton get pregnant and Freya mixes cocktails of love.

    As they put their magic to use helping the towns people of North Hampton a string of murders happen and all signs point to the magical Beauchamps. Will their magic save them or will the Council take away their magic, this time for good?

    There is more than meets the eye in this magical tale of love, murder and mystery.

    Lets Talk About It:

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down.

    I've read a lot of paranormal books most of which have been vampire related so I was really excited to get into something a little bit different and this book provided it and then some.

    I enjoyed the dynamics of each of the characters and how the book devoted time to build each character separately and together. It's the first book in a series so much of the book was laying the foundation for the future but even then there was enough substance through out for a great story that pulled you into their world.

    The only part of the book that I didn't like, or rather was disappointed in, was the ending. There was so much that went on in the end, so much that was revealed that I wish it was a bit longer to give more information to those parts.

    Overall I really enjoyed the book and have a feeling it will be one of a few series that I will be on the look out for and rush to read as soon as it comes out.

    Melissa
    Reviewer for 1000 + Books to Read

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    In Between Adult and YA. AdultLite.

    Something Wicked this way comes in Del La Cruz's more grown up version of YA fiction. Witches of East End is like her Blue Bloods series just with more graphic sexual content. I know I was a bit surprised not knowing before I read this that it wasn't YA. If you like the world where vampires are fallen angels then you'll love witches who were Norse gods.

    The Beauchamp's are modern day witches who survived the Salem witch trials just to have their family ripped apart and sentenced to a half life, since they were shut out of the other world and forced to live as humans do, without the use of magic. Strange things start happening in their normally sleepy town, people are sick, animals are dying, as are a few of the locals. Joanna, Freya, and Ingrid are going to have to come out of hiding and break a few rules to solve a few mysteries and possible save the world.

    I was a kind of disappointed with this book. I am a fan of the Blue Bloods series and the tone of the book is much the same. But at the same time it was confusing since it read like her usual YA but with more maturely natured scenes. I found the contrast didn't work well. To me this felt like Del La Cruz wanted to write a young adult book but had to age up the characters for the mythology she was using. I wish she would have gone all out and pick a genre instead of bridging two. It was also a little strange that there were tie ins to the Blue Bloods novels. To me this would appeal to the built in aging audience, but also be cause for the younger fans to pick up a copy before the next installment Lost in Time. What bothers me most is that I found this book in the YA section of a bookstore.

    The storylines were also simpler than I would have expected. Blue Bloods reads like a spanish soap opera where as Witches of E.E. seemed to take forever to come together and can be predictable. While I like the concepts that Del La Cruz puts in her stories about Vampires being the fallen and the witches are taken from Norse gods, like the evolution of the paranormal races. But sometimes the explanations get thin and I wish a vampire was just a vamp and a witch simply a witch.

    Witches of East End straddles the line between Adult and Young Adult. Not mature enough to be Adult. Too racy to be YA. More like AdultLite. The author and publishers seem to want to appeal to an older audience or grow with the earlier one but still attract the teens who read her other books. I think if your going to write for an older audience you should go all the way. More complex storylines, hot romances, engaging prose, and characters to match. Hopefully the follow up will pick an age group and stick with it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Where is the next installment!

    I loved this book and found each character intregueing. So my only question is....where is the next book in the series coming out?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    New Characters with and Old Twist.

    Melissa de la Cruz creates a reality that is hidden within ours, the world and works of the Witches.
    The Witches of East End follows the tale of a family of witches who reside in a protected part of the North Hamptons, and these three ladies have lived through a lot.

    After having been stripped and denied their lineage of witchcraft from prior transgressions this family just wants to continue on living like normal people, until the itch to practice magic turns to each of the women and a whole host of effects run rampant through the town.
    Witches of East End is a magnificent tale of family and survival. It portrays these three strong women, and their struggle to keep themselves and their family together after so much that has happened to them over the years.

    Some old characters make it into the story from the Blue Bloods series while really bringing us into their whole new world that Cruz has created for us.

    This first book in a series was amazing to read, and it has me looking forward for more.
    Lovers of the Blue Bloods will find a whole new set of amazing characters to grow into a series with.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Devastating Love!

    I read and review paranormal and romance novels. Naturally I love a book that has a bit of both. The debut adult novel from de la cruz (you may know her from the blue bloods books - think vamps and angels) delivers a heavy dose of love and intrigue. A witches brew of romantic fun and good old fashioned story telling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Dumb. All over the place

    How did this book get published? I hate giving a bad review, but this book was so bad I have to. First, this book was all over the place with random events and off the wall, crazy facts of the story. The author barely explained the crazy background of the characters (what was explained was weird and vague). Vampires appeared for no real reason all of a sudden. Why was one of the brothers hanging out with the vampires? The author never explained who took the women's power and why? I stopped reading it several times but kept hoping everything would be revealed in the end. Sadly, that definitely did not happen.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    I hate writing bad reviews but while this book is an easy read,

    I hate writing bad reviews but while this book is an easy read, there is nothing to it. The characters are unremarkable and the plot is messy and weak. Perhaps if the intimate scenes were taken from the book it would make an acceptable "teen fiction" book but otherwise I don't recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    A retold story

    I really got into this book until she threw in a curveball of German folklore. If anyone has seen Wagner's ring cycle operas or read the stories the cycle is based on you would know it is the same story with the same characters. She even references the operas in the book to give away what she is doing. The problem is that when I think of witches I don't associate them with German folklore or Wagner, and I never cared for the operas anyway so I wish she would have left that part out of it and come up with her own ending that related more to witches. Other than that it would have been a great story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Scattered

    Very disjointed. Loosely connected events. Hard to follow.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    Cheeeeeeeezeeeeeeeee

    Utterly trite, waste of time, money and paper

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Wow!!!!!

    I didn't even finish the sample because I just knew this book was for me. BTW, I counted all the bad reviews and out of the 107 I read (not counting this one of course), there were only 18!!! Also, this was only the second book about witches I remember liking. The first one was "Witches" by Roald Dahl. I have nver even heard about this author until now! I guess this is what happens when you browse the shop on your NOOK... Which is a good thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Don't read me

    Its straight all over....bye?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Dumb, cliche and disjointed

    Just awful

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    New Witchy Read

    Witches of East End revolves around two sisters and their mother in a small coastal town. With a long, colorful & paranormal past, all the Beauchamp women currently settle for a mundane lifestyle within the community while silently mourning the loss of their powers. When tragedy strikes, the family chooses to take risks using their forbidden magic for good which in turn gives them each a new purpose in life. With the plot colliding between such movies scripts as "Thor" and "Practical Magic", these powerful witches/women created by de la Cruz discover joy, adventure, heart-ache, and inner strength in this new magical series.

    While all the Beauchamp ladies are "neither old nor young", "their physical appearances [correspond] to their particular talents" (pg. 29) :

    Freya, the young vibrant one, can pull off looking within the age ranges of 16-23 and has a passion of igniting passion and is often characterized as "the first blush of Love". She can easily brew concoctions for all types of romance, but internally struggles with her own upcoming marriage.

    Ingrid, the strong silent type, works for the locally under-funded library and can appear "anywhere from 27-35" years old. Known as the "Keeper of the Hearth," she is mostly stubborn and strongly believes in the rules (especially regarding her job), but slowly lets down her rigid guard in more ways than one throughout the book.

    Joanna, the wise mother, has the heart of a child but carries the features "of an older woman in her early sixties". She's been around for centuries and carries dark secrets from her daughter while anguishing over past losses.

    I had high hopes for this book, eagerly anticipating the whole witch theme since I'm a fan of de la Cruz's Blue Blood series, but, sadly, this story was a let down. To me, it felt like it was all over the place, either in the present or past, either in this sisters head or a side characters and, honestly, I would expect that from a book later on in a well-rounded series, but not from the first story. In my opinion, the tale would have flowed better if the author would have stuck to one family member per book - it would have created more interesting character development, a richer in-depth setting, and helped the reader better grasp this new Beauchamp world full of witchy powers. Yet, what the reader received at the end of page 323 was a jumble of short stories that felt more like an anthology than an actual novel.

    Other than that, the story dragged immensely, but I'm still holding out that this series can turn itself around since it took reading the first three books chronologically of de la Cruz's popular vampire series to become a favorite on mine. These characters have promise, the current story did contain some nice twist/turns, and the plot (though slightly lacking right now) can really expand into many intriguing areas in the future - IF - the author would actually work on creating a tale meant more for an adult audience (since Witches of East End could easily fall into the 'advance' young adult category -- nothing too hot & heavy/ deadly & devious in this tale to cast it into an "R" rating) So, here's hoping that something 'wicked' cool comes from the Beauchamp women in Book #2!

    Likes: I'd be tempted to taste Freya's new cocktail menu at the North Inn Bar :)

    Dislikes: I wanted to get immersed in the story, but due

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Enjoyable but not well-written

    I've read one other book by this author, and found it similarly lacking. The plot is interesting, the characters adequate, but the writing style is frequently horrendous. Also, overall, the climax, resolution, and "twists" leave much to be desired. Best saved for your morning commute and little else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17