Customer Reviews for

Witchful Thinking (Jolie Wilkins Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(270)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not great

I was kinda disappointed in this book. H. P. Mallory basically used excerpts from previous books to tell the back story. For the most part the entire book could have been summed up in 20 pages. Not even sure if I care enough anymore about these characters to buy the ...
I was kinda disappointed in this book. H. P. Mallory basically used excerpts from previous books to tell the back story. For the most part the entire book could have been summed up in 20 pages. Not even sure if I care enough anymore about these characters to buy the next installment.

posted by 1225116 on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I've read all the Dulcie O'Neal and Jolie Wilkins books and love all of them. This one is disappointing. I'm almost halfway through "Witchful Thinking" and many pages are taken word for word from the previous books. There is minimal plot; the cat and mouse game is ...
I've read all the Dulcie O'Neal and Jolie Wilkins books and love all of them. This one is disappointing. I'm almost halfway through "Witchful Thinking" and many pages are taken word for word from the previous books. There is minimal plot; the cat and mouse game is still continuing with Rand and Jolie. Halfway through and I'm forcing myself to read to the conclusion. I'm dissatisfied and disappointed and doubt there's going to be another HP Mallory book in my library.

posted by 8052050 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 419 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Disappointing

    I've read all the Dulcie O'Neal and Jolie Wilkins books and love all of them. This one is disappointing. I'm almost halfway through "Witchful Thinking" and many pages are taken word for word from the previous books. There is minimal plot; the cat and mouse game is still continuing with Rand and Jolie. Halfway through and I'm forcing myself to read to the conclusion. I'm dissatisfied and disappointed and doubt there's going to be another HP Mallory book in my library.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Love the Jolie books, but.....

    I love Jolie but this book just drags! I'm so sick of the Ross and Rachel situation between her and rand! Her own lack of confidence ruined it for them over and over again, and then she just whined about him not loving her! I got so frustrated I had to force myself to finish. Not to mention if you have read the other books, it gets sooooo boring because HP Mallory puts so much back story in it! Not her best, I'm pretty over Jolie and not sure if I will read the next one.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Dissapointed

    I have really enjoyed all of her other books and was looking forward to the latest. There is so much back story that I have ended up skimming most of the first half. I have not yet finished but I have to say the Rand relationship is taxing and she has lost some of her edge and humor. This one seems to drag.
    And after all this I wont give up on H.P. Mallory just yet.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    I love the Jolie Wilkins Series but this one was unfortunately n

    I love the Jolie Wilkins Series but this one was unfortunately not up to par. It feels like the author was just writing a book for the sake of writing a book, not to tell a wonderful story. The plot was seriously lacking. I'm tired of Jolie and Rand's on again off again he loves he hates me relationship, either man/woman up or walk away. It should still be read if you intend to follow the series, just don't expect much. You could skip whole pages and not miss a thing which is sad since I do love H.P Mallory's writing in all other books.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Not great

    I was kinda disappointed in this book. H. P. Mallory basically used excerpts from previous books to tell the back story. For the most part the entire book could have been summed up in 20 pages. Not even sure if I care enough anymore about these characters to buy the next installment.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Bummer

    This book was totally disappointing. I waited patiently after devouring the other two Jolie Wilkins books in hours, and bought the book the same day it came out. And I JUST finished it. I literally had to force myself to read the last 100 pages. Weak plot, no climax, and I don't remember Jolie being nearly as annoying in the other books. The only redeeming part was the semi- steamy love scene, and it still left much to be desired. Yep, I think I might be done with this series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Jen the reader

    I have been OBSESSED with this series... until now. For the love of Pete! Please don't just write a book to write a book. Enjoy it, so we your faithful reader can too! I beg of you Ms. Mallory, if your heart is not in it anymore, please just end it. This has been a long and wonderful story, and I have enjoyed every word, sentence, and phrase. But just don't kick a dead horse. If its over let it go, and start another wonderful story. I know its hard. But, i found myself wishing Sinjin would just bite her and get it over with! Love your work Ms. Mallory. -jen in AL

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Waste of time

    This third book is a waste. Incoherant ramblings confuse the story line. Petty jealousies ruin the plot (what there is of it) and there is no conclusion. A complete waste.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Bewitching - Another Must-Read by HP Mallory

    This book in 3 words: Thrilling, Witty, Amazing! Now that I gave you 3 words to describe this book, let me give you a few more. This book is an emotional roller coaster ride that will take you through twists, turns, action, romance, danger and mystery. Just when I thought I had it all figured out, HP Mallory hits us with an ending that we never saw coming!

    Our favorite witch, Jolie, is back with the rest of the gang and this time Jolie finds herself leading the Underworld. She was pre-destined to be Queen so she puts on her big girl undies to try to do right even if all she wants to do is run away. If that wasn't stressful enough, the men in her life are driving her mad. The man (or Warlock) who stole her heart but refuses to take things further, Rand, is against monarchy. With Jolie now the Queen of the Underworld she finds herself being ripped away from the one man she loves. Her world is spiraling out of control and the one who is there to catch her is Sinjin, her extremely sexy, yet mysterious vampire. The problem with Sinjin is that he always has a hidden agenda, and Jolie intends to find out what that is. Trying to place love on the back burner, she starts to concentrate on the state of the Underworld and the fact that Lurkers (half vampire, half humans) are hunting Underworlders. It is up to Jolie and the gang to stop them before it is too late. But will the people she trusts and love be by her side or will they be the ones to bring her down?

    This book is UNPUTDOWNABLE. I read it in one sitting. Jolie is coming into her own skin and learning to except the role of Queen. It is not easy, especially when the man you love is against it, but she does it because it is right. This makes me love Jolie even more. She is independent and doesn't let a man tell her what to do. Rand is...Rand. he takes a few steps forward and a few steps back. The sexual tension between them is crazy. The decisions each made sometimes made me want to smack them, and other times, when they did the right thing, I wanted to kiss them. The back and forth is pure torture...and I loved it. Sinjin, my favorite vampire, is as seductive, mysterious and dangerous then ever. Sinjin fans will be happy to know that we get to see another side of Sinjin, even though his words constantly contradicts his actions. He's a total enigma and I just want to unravel him...in every way possible...lol

    He is not the only mystery to be solved. The Lurkers are coming and their numbers are growing. Along with attempting to sort out her love life, Jolie also needs to come up with a game plan to stop them. Life is a total Witch for her... The cliffhanger ending was a twist I did not see coming! Jolie may be Queen of the Underworld, but HP Mallory is Queen of the Cliffhangers. I cannot wait to find out what happens!! All I can say is Holy Sh....Cheese and Crackers. I'm still reeling from that surprise ending.

    I must admit that there is a lot of back story is in this book, but it did not bother me or take away from the story. I knew going in that it would have a lot of information since this is the first in the series that is not self-pub. I didn't mind since I had a ton of "Oh, that's right. I totally forgot about that" moments. I liked the refresher. It helped bring back the memories of the past two books.

    I think readers new to the series should still start off with book 1, because it is a) awesome and ) there is too much back story and action to pass up.

    This

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Pre-ordered

    I pre-ordered this book.. you can not go wrong with an HP Mallory book.. I loved each one.. it is a wonderful easy read .. the only downside is that there are not more to enjoy..
    I just love her books

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Loved the first two.. this one.. not so much

    Absolutely loved the first two books in this series. As others have said, this one is definitely lacking. When reading the first chapter I kept going back, thinking I had accidently opened the first book instead! There was way too much taken directly from the first two books. I still can't believed I paid $7.99 for 217 pages and half of them I'd already read. I feel like I've been jilted by a beau! HA! I H.P. finds her groove again in the next one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    I liked the book, i got a little irritated with the same relatio

    I liked the book, i got a little irritated with the same relationship hang ups happening over again. part of the time i forget why she loves rand so much though. His role is less than it has been in the last books, I feel that this is only half a book though in some aspects. So far not much has happened with the queen and the lurkers, and relationships, I can't wait for the next book though.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Must have!!

    I have read all of the H.P. Mallory books. I love them all!! Fun to read and a great escape to another place!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not as bubbly troubly as I had hoped

    I do not know if I have been living under a rock, but where have all the witches gone? Have they been run out of the fantasy genre by werewolves, vampires, and other night bumplies? I had high hopes for Witchful Thinking – with a title so bubbly and clever, a cover so adorable, and hype that makes it sound beyond entertaining – but hex me silly, the story did not suck me in. I am not sure if it is because I started in the middle of Jolie’s charmed life or not finding any charm in her diary entries (they felt a little too juvenile for my liking), but even so, I did not feel compelled to backtrack to the beginning of the series. Although the ending makes up for the journey and leaves me more than curious to read onward, I am still hesitant to do so. I wanted more action, trouble, and clever words from Witchful Thinking. I think Raine Benares and Stephanie Plum have spoiled me for what to expect from a strong female lead who has an eye for trouble. Perhaps Jolie needs to channel a bit more Angelina to make this series sparkle with fun intensity.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Thank you H.P! I couldn't love Jolie more!

    H.P's style of writing flows like a conversation with your best girlfriend. Her quick wit & colorful descriptive details set the scene so well, you feel as though you are living in Jolie's world. The characters are brought to life and every moment is alive in your mind. The edge of my seat is worn through because I could not put any of the "Jolie" books down until I had completely devoured each toe-curling, nail-biting page!!! Thanks is not enough. Blessings to H.P for giving her readers such a gift! "Julia Tippie (H.P. reader & fan)"

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved the first two books of this series.

    This book was very disappointing, Too much back story. The author just copied and pasted from first two books. I already
    read the first two books....I felt like I was reading a summary of the 1st two books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Not great.

    This author is one of my favorites and this series had a great beginning in books 1-3. I agree with most of the other reviewers, it repeats too much of previous books storylines. The love triangle between Jolie, Rand and Sijinn is becoming really stale, just make a decision already! Please focus on the war and where are the other witches and underworld beings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Very disappointed. It was hard to finish because it was a long w

    Very disappointed. It was hard to finish because it was a long whine and direct repeats from the earlier books. When did whiney become interesting? Will not buy anymore in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Retells the previous books

    Way too much of the story is spent on retelling the previous 2 books. It was disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Totally bummed

    Completely agree with the other reviewers. This book was a total disappointment. No plot other than the same rand vs jolie not in love scenario and pretty much summerized the first two books all throughout this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 419 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21