Customer Reviews for

Witchful Thinking (Jolie Wilkins Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 420 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(270)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not great

I was kinda disappointed in this book. H. P. Mallory basically used excerpts from previous books to tell the back story. For the most part the entire book could have been summed up in 20 pages. Not even sure if I care enough anymore about these characters to buy the ...
I was kinda disappointed in this book. H. P. Mallory basically used excerpts from previous books to tell the back story. For the most part the entire book could have been summed up in 20 pages. Not even sure if I care enough anymore about these characters to buy the next installment.

posted by 1225116 on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I've read all the Dulcie O'Neal and Jolie Wilkins books and love all of them. This one is disappointing. I'm almost halfway through "Witchful Thinking" and many pages are taken word for word from the previous books. There is minimal plot; the cat and mouse game is ...
I've read all the Dulcie O'Neal and Jolie Wilkins books and love all of them. This one is disappointing. I'm almost halfway through "Witchful Thinking" and many pages are taken word for word from the previous books. There is minimal plot; the cat and mouse game is still continuing with Rand and Jolie. Halfway through and I'm forcing myself to read to the conclusion. I'm dissatisfied and disappointed and doubt there's going to be another HP Mallory book in my library.

posted by 8052050 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    I have read all these books so far, I really like them they are

    I have read all these books so far, I really like them they are fun and left hanging at the end but just makes me look foreward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just love the chase...will it be Rand? Sinjin? Do we think t

    I just love the chase...will it be Rand? Sinjin? Do we think that Odran really has a chance-that makes me giggle. Jolie really has to get herself into gear and make some tough decisions in this book and I love the outcome even though I just cannot wait to get the next book already!!!! If you haven't already picked up any of HP Mallory's Books, then you definitely do not know what you're missing out on if you are a Paranormal Romance lover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Love this series! Can't get enough, keep them coming!

    Love this series! Can't get enough, keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Love this series!

    I truly love the Jolie series, and this book does repeat a lot of previous events, but that is so it can catch new readers up on the story line. That being said ... I am a little upset at the conclusion! I didn't love the way it ended, but I think H. P. will make it right in the next one. Can't wait for that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Great Series

    Loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    I absolutely love this series of books. I'm anxious to see what

    I absolutely love this series of books. I'm anxious to see what happens in the next book with Sinjin, I have recommended these books to all of my friends and family. I recommend them to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great

    The ending takes the book from good to great. Loved it and can not wait for the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Jolie Wilkins - Book 3

    Wow! I was so excited for this book to come out and I enjoyed it very much! Rand and Jolie do drive me a little crazy- with their constantly unstable relationship... I enjoy HP's writing style and even began to like Sinjin more in this book. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Great Book!

    I've been hooked on H.P. Mallory's books since I first picked up the Dulcie O'Neil series. I have yet to be disappointed. If you love the paranormal and a little romance, you can't go wrong with Witchful Thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Can't wait till the next one!

    This book was good but it had a lot of back story but the author did warn readers of this on facebook. Since there was so much back story the book was slow in places, but i think the next one will be great and can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A rehash of 3 books into one, before wham bam thank you for the plot...but still good

    First off let me say I love HP Mallory, I have read all of her books. I was so excited when she got a publishing deal and was going to have books in my book store, so I could get more people to read her. That being said, Witchful Thinking her latest book made me SO happy.
    Ok, yes there is a lot of rehashing of things from her past books, but that is because if you are picking her up for the first time you want be lost. She writes this book in such a way you get sort of caught up in the past, although a lot of the emotion and real strong points from the previous books are lost. You almost really need to read all the others before this one to understand the lack of character development in this book. Second, I was really hoping Jolie's character would grow up some from the past two books, but seems to be actually complains and whines way more in this book. She has a few moments of being a strong character, but not nearly enough! I understand she has two guys she is lusting after but she seems set on one man in particular, and she says it over and over again, so why this confusing for the other guy who she can't seem to commit to trust in? Just because he is hot? The ending in this book was the best part! A "freaking finally!" moment.
    I still love this series and am very hopeful for the next book. Hopefully we see a major shift in character for most of the people in the book and no more of this uncertainty with what guy she wants to be with.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Witchful Thinking is a terrific read. It also can stand alone if

    Witchful Thinking is a terrific read. It also can stand alone if you haven't read the first two books in the Jolie Wilkins series. But if you love romance like I do, then I would definitely read the first two books. H.P. Mallory has penned a fantastic storyline with witches, fairies, werewolves, and vampires. There’s lots of humor, drama, and romance, too. I fell in love with Mallory's main character, Jolie, who’s a strong, independent woman with just enough sarcasm, and knows how to take care of herself. Rand is the warlock she’s in love with. Rand is the strong, serous, gorgeous type. Then there’s Sinjin, who a self-assured, seductive vampire. Oh, he’s lots of fun, and I definitely fell in love with Sinjin.

    Jolie has just returned from 1878 with Mercedes, the prophetess who tells the underworld leaders that Jolie is to be the queen of the underworld, and that this is the only way to bring the entire underworld together. Needless to say, Jolie’s not ready for this job, especially when she knows how the renegade, Rand, feels about monarch. Every time Jolie gets a step closer, thinking she’ll get the man she loves, something always interferes. First it was the boss thing, and then it was the bonding thing. Now it’s the queen thing. Jolie’s had enough of Rand playing hard to get, so it’s time for this witch to be a witch.

    Jolie’s also having problems with Sinjin; this sexy vampire seducer is up to more than just trying to get Jolie in the bedroom. This is where this book ends with a cliffhanger with Jodie and Sinjin. I can't wait for the fourth book in this series. I have to find out what Sinjin is up to. I recommend Witchful Thinking as a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4