Customer Reviews for

Witchful Thinking (Jolie Wilkins Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 419 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(270)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not great

I was kinda disappointed in this book. H. P. Mallory basically used excerpts from previous books to tell the back story. For the most part the entire book could have been summed up in 20 pages. Not even sure if I care enough anymore about these characters to buy the ...
I was kinda disappointed in this book. H. P. Mallory basically used excerpts from previous books to tell the back story. For the most part the entire book could have been summed up in 20 pages. Not even sure if I care enough anymore about these characters to buy the next installment.

posted by 1225116 on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I've read all the Dulcie O'Neal and Jolie Wilkins books and love all of them. This one is disappointing. I'm almost halfway through "Witchful Thinking" and many pages are taken word for word from the previous books. There is minimal plot; the cat and mouse game is ...
I've read all the Dulcie O'Neal and Jolie Wilkins books and love all of them. This one is disappointing. I'm almost halfway through "Witchful Thinking" and many pages are taken word for word from the previous books. There is minimal plot; the cat and mouse game is still continuing with Rand and Jolie. Halfway through and I'm forcing myself to read to the conclusion. I'm dissatisfied and disappointed and doubt there's going to be another HP Mallory book in my library.

posted by 8052050 on March 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Not great

    I was kinda disappointed in this book. H. P. Mallory basically used excerpts from previous books to tell the back story. For the most part the entire book could have been summed up in 20 pages. Not even sure if I care enough anymore about these characters to buy the next installment.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Bewitching - Another Must-Read by HP Mallory

    This book in 3 words: Thrilling, Witty, Amazing! Now that I gave you 3 words to describe this book, let me give you a few more. This book is an emotional roller coaster ride that will take you through twists, turns, action, romance, danger and mystery. Just when I thought I had it all figured out, HP Mallory hits us with an ending that we never saw coming!

    Our favorite witch, Jolie, is back with the rest of the gang and this time Jolie finds herself leading the Underworld. She was pre-destined to be Queen so she puts on her big girl undies to try to do right even if all she wants to do is run away. If that wasn't stressful enough, the men in her life are driving her mad. The man (or Warlock) who stole her heart but refuses to take things further, Rand, is against monarchy. With Jolie now the Queen of the Underworld she finds herself being ripped away from the one man she loves. Her world is spiraling out of control and the one who is there to catch her is Sinjin, her extremely sexy, yet mysterious vampire. The problem with Sinjin is that he always has a hidden agenda, and Jolie intends to find out what that is. Trying to place love on the back burner, she starts to concentrate on the state of the Underworld and the fact that Lurkers (half vampire, half humans) are hunting Underworlders. It is up to Jolie and the gang to stop them before it is too late. But will the people she trusts and love be by her side or will they be the ones to bring her down?

    This book is UNPUTDOWNABLE. I read it in one sitting. Jolie is coming into her own skin and learning to except the role of Queen. It is not easy, especially when the man you love is against it, but she does it because it is right. This makes me love Jolie even more. She is independent and doesn't let a man tell her what to do. Rand is...Rand. he takes a few steps forward and a few steps back. The sexual tension between them is crazy. The decisions each made sometimes made me want to smack them, and other times, when they did the right thing, I wanted to kiss them. The back and forth is pure torture...and I loved it. Sinjin, my favorite vampire, is as seductive, mysterious and dangerous then ever. Sinjin fans will be happy to know that we get to see another side of Sinjin, even though his words constantly contradicts his actions. He's a total enigma and I just want to unravel him...in every way possible...lol

    He is not the only mystery to be solved. The Lurkers are coming and their numbers are growing. Along with attempting to sort out her love life, Jolie also needs to come up with a game plan to stop them. Life is a total Witch for her... The cliffhanger ending was a twist I did not see coming! Jolie may be Queen of the Underworld, but HP Mallory is Queen of the Cliffhangers. I cannot wait to find out what happens!! All I can say is Holy Sh....Cheese and Crackers. I'm still reeling from that surprise ending.

    I must admit that there is a lot of back story is in this book, but it did not bother me or take away from the story. I knew going in that it would have a lot of information since this is the first in the series that is not self-pub. I didn't mind since I had a ton of "Oh, that's right. I totally forgot about that" moments. I liked the refresher. It helped bring back the memories of the past two books.

    I think readers new to the series should still start off with book 1, because it is a) awesome and ) there is too much back story and action to pass up.

    This

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Pre-ordered

    I pre-ordered this book.. you can not go wrong with an HP Mallory book.. I loved each one.. it is a wonderful easy read .. the only downside is that there are not more to enjoy..
    I just love her books

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Must have!!

    I have read all of the H.P. Mallory books. I love them all!! Fun to read and a great escape to another place!!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Thank you H.P! I couldn't love Jolie more!

    H.P's style of writing flows like a conversation with your best girlfriend. Her quick wit & colorful descriptive details set the scene so well, you feel as though you are living in Jolie's world. The characters are brought to life and every moment is alive in your mind. The edge of my seat is worn through because I could not put any of the "Jolie" books down until I had completely devoured each toe-curling, nail-biting page!!! Thanks is not enough. Blessings to H.P for giving her readers such a gift! "Julia Tippie (H.P. reader & fan)"

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Loved it, only sad that i have to wait for the next one...

    Fans of the series will not be disappointed with Mallory's newest installment of the Jollie Wilkins. She doesn't drop the ball, this was just as riveting as the last two. While you are patiently ( or not as patiently, as in my case) waiting on the next book to come out in July, i recommend that you read her Dulcie O'neil series if you haven't done so yet.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    one of my favorite paranormal book!

    H.P. Mallory is one of my favorite authors in the paranormal romance world. Her books are so full of life and have the ability to make a me drown in Jolie Wilkins world. "Witchful Thinking" is the third in the series and I was lucky enough to read it before it was released. This book can absolutely be read as a stand alone as there is a lot of back story through out the book. However, books 1 and 2 are so amazing that they are MUST READS! Book 3 is full of the humor, romance, twist and turns that make this series great. Rand and Sijin are as sexy as ever while Jolie is trying to figure out her way as the queen of the underworld. Cant wait to read book 4 and see what Sinjin and Mercedes are really up too!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Great book

    I thought the book was great but i didnt like the way it ended.....i know it will all be worked out in the next book but it def ends in a cliffhanger. I hate that! I guess ill be wondering till the Summer :(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    One of my new favorite author!

    Love her alot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    5 stars

    5 stars
    WORTH READING...
    Total Pages: 265; Story Pages: 245
    Book 3 in the "Joilie Wilkens" series.
    At first, I was wondering what the deal was with the prologue because it was the same thing from the first book. Then, the rest of the book made sense. It wasn't until the end, the very end, that the prologue actually made sense and all I could say was "no freakin' way!" Rand & Jolie finally get together and Sinjin & Mercedes apparently screw it all up at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Scourge

    Hello?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Lev

    Lex??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    what can I say

    your heart goes out to not only Rand but to Sinjin. The entire series I have enjoyed. While there are witches, warlocks etc in this series I do appreciate there's no devil worship or there is no incantations. I could not put any of these books down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh Jolie. You never fail to disappoint. This novel brings us bac

    Oh Jolie. You never fail to disappoint. This novel brings us back to the "present" and Jolie has a lot of decisions to make. She needs to stand up, tell Rand the truth, and confront Sinjin. Stuff just couldn't get more awkward and exhausting for her. She needs to decide whether or not she wants to be queen, what to do about the people in her life that seem to be making decisions behind her back, and really she needs to slap Rand in the face so he can get his stuff together. The novel ends with a big bang and made me smile and then gasp in surprise. I can't get enough of the devilish Sinjin, the handsome and good hearts Rand and the craziness that is Jolie. I need to know what happens...I'm reading this series till the end!




    Good:
    Jolie--She's hilarious.




    Rand-Sexy...but has his head up his you know what.




    Sinjin--I still don't trust me, but I still like him.




    Bad:




    Sometimes the story did move a little slow for my liking.




    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):




    Overall the story was wonderful like all the others in the series. I'm captivated by Jolie who is fighting to have a normal life while falling for the supernatural world that H.P. Mallory has created. The writing was easy to follow and as always there were many funny parts. I find the world is so vivid that it could almost be real and I'm tell you...it's sucking me in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    I couldn't put this book down

    This book was amazing i don't want to spoil anything but i really hate Sinjin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Excellent

    Really enjoyed...looking forward to the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Johnna to shelby

    I havent know you long, but while i have u have always been a good person. Im glad i got to know u! :

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Berkley

    Ur a really sweet gal u steal all the boys hearts cuz ur sweet kind and many more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Ree to shelbzter

    Ok sumtimes u can get alittle"RAAAAAAAWR!!!!!!!"xO lmao. Mrs King Kong ape shiz on ppl but Ik that that's bc ur just trying to be there for ur friends. Ur a sweet gurl and evry guy luv u(: ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Seliena

    Name: Seliena, or Luna.<br>Age: 25<br>Species: Zumorarii(half demon, half angel. Mortal.)<br>Appearence: Five foot ten inches tall. She's thin, but frequent parkour and acrobatics give her muscle. Seliena has straight, black hair that goes to the middle of her back, and it covers half her face. She rarely moves it out of the way. Her eyes are different colors, one iris is silver, while the other is red. Her mouth is often set in a thin line, and the small smiles that come forth are normally for someone elses benefit, not usually being genuine.<br>Clothing: She wears a light cloak that is made of shadow, and held together by her mind.<br>Visible weapons: A burstcrystal katana, with the words honor and hope on it in Atlantien. Though not technically a weapon, Seliena also carries a small blacl book, filled with runes for spells.<br>Anything else: The katana is unbreakable, unless faced by a stronger material. There are few of those. She's in a relationship, and bisexual. Seliena would be classified as a god character, she usually helps others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 270 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14