Customer Reviews for

The Witching Hour (Mayfair Witches Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 606 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(370)

4 Star

(122)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

If you enjoy tedium, you'll LOVE this book...

As a kid, I grew up reading Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles, and was always somewhat hesitant to read the Mayfair Witches books because of Rice's love of overly detailed tangents that really don't go anywhere (as was the case with most of "Tale of the Body Thief"). Now,...
As a kid, I grew up reading Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles, and was always somewhat hesitant to read the Mayfair Witches books because of Rice's love of overly detailed tangents that really don't go anywhere (as was the case with most of "Tale of the Body Thief"). Now, twenty years later, I decided to take the plunge into this tome on my Nook Color.

Dear God...after all those years, I was right to be hesitant. The first book in the series enters into the realm of being almost unbearable in the second section of the book, and continues on until the third and final section, the vast majority of which actually serves as a lengthy and convoluted "reprinting" of a book within a book, as we read of the ENTIRE history of the Mayfair Witches. Kill...me...now...

For those of you who enjoy the comfort of a root canal, this book will be a cinch. Even in Nook Book format, it took me three weeks to finish, and that was after skimming over most of the massively boring second section.

The second book in the series, "Lasher," is actually quite a great deal better in terms of the pacing, though it is reminiscent of "Queen of the Damned" with its cast of thousands. It's a far more enjoyable read than the first book, and serves as less of a cure for my chronic insomnia.

posted by TheMatrixCBC on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not The Finest Hour

Despite the strong and interesting beginning, The Witching Hour was a painful read. I made it to approximately page 500 and realized that I had become very bored. Then I took into consideration that I had roughly 500+ more pages to go. I decided to stop reading it. The ...
Despite the strong and interesting beginning, The Witching Hour was a painful read. I made it to approximately page 500 and realized that I had become very bored. Then I took into consideration that I had roughly 500+ more pages to go. I decided to stop reading it. The story, while very well conceived, became dryly written and immobile. And the amount of detail in this book is quintessentially EXCESSIVE. I have read quite a few reviews that site Rice's writing style as being the flaw with this book. I don't think her style is necessarily a 'flaw', because a few parts are beautifully written. The 'flaw' is that The Witching Hour is profusely detailed and incredibly long. So if you are a patient person and would enjoy a book that is tantamount to an emotional history book about a family of witches, then this is the book for you. However, if you are looking for a concise book of at least reasonable length and momentum, consider yourself forewarned because I do not recommend this book for you.

posted by Anonymous on April 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 609 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you enjoy tedium, you'll LOVE this book...

    As a kid, I grew up reading Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles, and was always somewhat hesitant to read the Mayfair Witches books because of Rice's love of overly detailed tangents that really don't go anywhere (as was the case with most of "Tale of the Body Thief"). Now, twenty years later, I decided to take the plunge into this tome on my Nook Color.

    Dear God...after all those years, I was right to be hesitant. The first book in the series enters into the realm of being almost unbearable in the second section of the book, and continues on until the third and final section, the vast majority of which actually serves as a lengthy and convoluted "reprinting" of a book within a book, as we read of the ENTIRE history of the Mayfair Witches. Kill...me...now...

    For those of you who enjoy the comfort of a root canal, this book will be a cinch. Even in Nook Book format, it took me three weeks to finish, and that was after skimming over most of the massively boring second section.

    The second book in the series, "Lasher," is actually quite a great deal better in terms of the pacing, though it is reminiscent of "Queen of the Damned" with its cast of thousands. It's a far more enjoyable read than the first book, and serves as less of a cure for my chronic insomnia.

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No read better than this Anne Rice novel!!

    I cannot praise Anne Rice and this book enough. There is such a volume of literary wealth in Anne Rice's being that I cannot imagine even a small portion of it. With Anne Rice it seems she has lived more than one lifetime with the novels she has written and the subject matter. I have been reading a long, long time and I do not know of another writer that even comes close to Ms Rice. I know she cannot go on forever (and neither can I) but I do hope I live long enough for another series. It is an absolute pleasure to read her writing (actually no matter what it is).

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Breathtaking Page-turner

    The Witching Hour is absolutely amazing. I could not put it down. I could barely get myself to do anything else other than find out what happened next. Each page drew me in, increased my heart rate, and intensified my breathing. The family history is extraordinarily compelling. This is my favorite Anne Rice book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must-read series

    The Mayfair Witches series books are absolute page-turners from start to finish. You literally feel like you are transported to Louisiana and are walking through all the history with the characters. I have never been so captivated by a book and so disappointed when I was through reading it. However, you can definitely read this book over and over again.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Best of the Best of Rice

    Nothing touches the characters, intensity and suspense in this Rice novel in any of her others. I think this was written at her peak.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    A fantastic tale

    This was my favorite of Anne Rice's books. I have read it twice and recommend it to friends. I wish she would continue the story...I'd be first in line (with many others) to buy the next in series

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    Not The Finest Hour

    Despite the strong and interesting beginning, The Witching Hour was a painful read. I made it to approximately page 500 and realized that I had become very bored. Then I took into consideration that I had roughly 500+ more pages to go. I decided to stop reading it. The story, while very well conceived, became dryly written and immobile. And the amount of detail in this book is quintessentially EXCESSIVE. I have read quite a few reviews that site Rice's writing style as being the flaw with this book. I don't think her style is necessarily a 'flaw', because a few parts are beautifully written. The 'flaw' is that The Witching Hour is profusely detailed and incredibly long. So if you are a patient person and would enjoy a book that is tantamount to an emotional history book about a family of witches, then this is the book for you. However, if you are looking for a concise book of at least reasonable length and momentum, consider yourself forewarned because I do not recommend this book for you.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Truly disappointing

    I found this book long and boring

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A bewitching, time traveling marvel.

    I've always loved Anne Rice novels and I was not disappointed with this one. It was just a little overwhelming at times because there is so much information in this book to have to take in. I don't know how she put together the history of the Mayfair family. It was an amazing history going back to Scotland of the 1600's, generation-by-generation, to present day. The attention to detail of the locations and the characters easily lends to feeling like you are time traveling and experiencing everything in person. After reading this family history, you have a very good understanding of the present day characters and the part they have to play in each others lives. Everything is wonderfully interconnected. A very good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Boring!

    Too over detailed and melodramatic!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    One of the best books I ever read

    I recommend this book all the time. The whole series is excellent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Love it!

    I 1st read this when I was 18, I' m 31 now and its just as good! All 3 books are wonderful. Anne Rice draws a wonder pic of now and the past. You love and hate (sometimes both lol) this family ( and ghost). I have tried to read the vampire books and never really got into them but The Mayfair Witches put a spell on me ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    The best

    I feel like I'm part of the family

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great series

    I never tire of it. Reading the series for the fifth time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Interesting, but ultimately exhausting

    A long and odd story which seems to be broken, roughly, into three sections: an introductory set-up, a remarkably long and not entirely useful historical explanation, and a choppy, disappointing conclusion. Overall, a bit of a disappointment, except for the wonderfullly atmospheric descriptions of New Orleans and San Francisco.

    Not sure I would recommend it. Sure wouldn't recommend buying it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Good read!

    A little long and slightly slow in the middle (the history) but really well written! Anne Rice at her best!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME

    I am a huge Anne Rice fan- I have every book she's written. I personally feel this is her best book. The history is very rich and the characters are so well developed it's hard not to become engrossed in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    E-format LONG overdue

    I've loved Rice's Mayfair Witches trilogy since their original release. I've been desperate for electronic versions so I can "downsize" my personal library. I'm ecstatic to see the Mayfair Witches and many of the Vampire Chronicles in ebook format now. Random House has made my Christmas wish come true.

    "The Witching Hour" is an incredibly subtle book. A New Orleans native, Anne Rice spins the novel with a slow-paced, insidious glamor. Seductive and decadent, appalling and terrifying, the saga of this unique family slips off the page and into the psyche. This is a series for readers who love to experience detailed immersion into their reading experience.

    Local color plays a vivid role in setting and atmosphere. I'm a New Orleans local and Rice's description and use of setting is very effective and genuine.

    Is the novel long? Yes. Open-ended? Yes. The pleasure in these books is in experiencing the opulent details and decadent history, not in crossing Point A to Point B.

    I consider the Mayfair Witches Series superior to Rice's more popular Vampire Chronicles in terms of quality and creative content. I've never read anything else quite like them. I recommend these books to anyone who loves good, solid escapist reading within the paranormal genre. Folks interested in New Orleans would also love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    Powerful, Gripping, and erotic. Your entranced completely

    The Witching Hour was a tremendously entertaining read from the enticing and often times disturbing mind of Anne Rice. The first book I ever read by her, it endlessly shocked me with it's ability to terrify, and seduce. Diabolically entertaining, momentous thrills.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Must read

    I love this series. Be warned that it starts slow as she builds charater description, but after the first 50 pages, you will stay up the rest of the night to finish it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 609 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31