Customer Reviews for

Witchling (Sisters of the Moon Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 244 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Great

I was waiting for my next Anita Blake Series Book, by Laurell K Hamilton and I was hanging out in my fav place Barnes and Noble of course! When I came across this book! I bought and took it home read it and was hooked! I loved the story line and read the book in one day...
I was waiting for my next Anita Blake Series Book, by Laurell K Hamilton and I was hanging out in my fav place Barnes and Noble of course! When I came across this book! I bought and took it home read it and was hooked! I loved the story line and read the book in one day! This is a great series and I recommend reading it! Another excellent series Anita Blake Vampire Hunter! That is an excellent series!

posted by lullaby.love on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Needs Some Umph!!!

I found this story a little boring. It seemed to take a really long time to actually get to the good part. However, it seemed somewhat necessary that she give a little (a lot) background. Since I've already purchased the next couple of books I guess I'm going to give...
I found this story a little boring. It seemed to take a really long time to actually get to the good part. However, it seemed somewhat necessary that she give a little (a lot) background. Since I've already purchased the next couple of books I guess I'm going to give this series another try but I hope it gets more exciting.

posted by Lynz_in_Love on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Just not.....

    Not good..... the names of the bad guys was horriable

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    it was okay

    mehhhhh.... this one was so so in the realm of romance. The plot was good though and im sure the other tie in pretty well. if youve got something else to read... do it

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    Dissapointing...

    I just got through reading the first book in this series and I am very dissapointed. I bought it because the storyline seemed interesting and the reviews were good. I am the type who can read a book within a few hours if it is good, but I am sorry to say that this one was not. It took me almost a week to finish it, hoping something good was going to happen on the next page, but nope...dissapointment. I made it through to the end but am not very excited to read the next one(I already bought the 1st 4 books in this series). If you are a fan of paranormal romance, this series might be ok but I would suggest borrowing it from a friend or the library before you invest your money. I don't recommend this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    Witchling

    I was excited to read this book when I first saw it on a shelf at the grocery store. I was pretty disappointed in it though and only made it a little over a hundred pages in before I stopped. I really wanted to like it but the world created was just a little too much to digest all at once. As a result of that there were huge information dumps at different parts in the book. The 'sexy' parts of it weren't really all that sexy. The sexuality wasn't subtle at all. It came across as 'Okay, here is the sexy parts! Accept that this is sexy!'. Maybe paranormal romance just isn't a genre for me, but when i saw that some reviewers were comparing this book to Laurell K. Hamilton's books I was interested. It's not even similar. I wish it was.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review From My Urban Fantasies

    Review originally posted on My Urban Fantasies.
    (myurbanfantasies.blogspot)

    Witchling is told from Camille's point of view. Camille is the oldest of the three sisters. They are half-faerie and half-human. Each of the sisters possess their own special talents, but with a slight twist. Because of their half-human side their faerie powers do not work like they are supposed to. Camille is a witch whose spells backfire. Often. Delilah is a werecat who, instead of changing into a big cat, shifts into a golden tabby cat. Menolly is a vampire, but was not born this way. Menolly was a top-notch acrobat who could climb anything. Shortly after the sisters joined the OIA, they assigned Menolly to spy on a rogue group of vampires. Menolly was collecting information on them when here wall climbing ability shorted out. Menolly fell. The vampires caught her, tortured her and, when they were done, turned Menolly into a vampire.

    I really wanted to give this book 3 moons for the storyline alone, but I just could not do it. The entire book was just flat. The fight scenes and sex scenes are written in the same tone as the mundane scenes. Like I said. Flat. I really did love the idea behind the story though.

    The characters were a little off as well. I cannot quite put my finger on it, but something about the dialect was off. It's quite possible that I've gone completely insane, but there was something about the way they spoke that just drove me nuts. My biggest problem was that the characters seemed to contradict themselves. Camille did not seem to have any problems using magic during the fight scenes, but when she tries to magically lock a door it explodes. You would think that during at least one fight scene that something would go terrible wrong.

    Witchling, for me, was just okay. There were some low points: Instead of feeling immersed in the story, it felt like I was being read to. Which is exceptionally sad considering I read the eBook. There were definitely some high points as well: Smoky the shape-shifting dragon who turns into a gorgeous piece of man candy who is all attitude.

    Will I read the next book in the series? I'm seriously considering it. I realize that this is Yasmine Galenorn's first urban fantasy book. There was bound to be a few bumps in the road. What do you think?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Two dimentional characters

    The author uses the characters as a vehicle merely to advance the plot. There is not a good balance of internal struggle accompanied with the external struggle.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I bought this book on a whim before a long bus ride because it w

    I bought this book on a whim before a long bus ride because it was a Nook deal-of-the-day. The story was a bit repetitive and uninventive. I should have realized from the amount of cleavage on the cover there would be ridiculous sex scenes with mystical beings in the mix here. I won't be reading anymore of this author, but if you're looking for something light and fun and magical, this might suit your fancy. Just don't expect the next Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1