Customer Reviews for

Witchling (Sisters of the Moon Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Great

I was waiting for my next Anita Blake Series Book, by Laurell K Hamilton and I was hanging out in my fav place Barnes and Noble of course! When I came across this book! I bought and took it home read it and was hooked! I loved the story line and read the book in one day...
I was waiting for my next Anita Blake Series Book, by Laurell K Hamilton and I was hanging out in my fav place Barnes and Noble of course! When I came across this book! I bought and took it home read it and was hooked! I loved the story line and read the book in one day! This is a great series and I recommend reading it! Another excellent series Anita Blake Vampire Hunter! That is an excellent series!

posted by lullaby.love on December 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Needs Some Umph!!!

I found this story a little boring. It seemed to take a really long time to actually get to the good part. However, it seemed somewhat necessary that she give a little (a lot) background. Since I've already purchased the next couple of books I guess I'm going to give...
I found this story a little boring. It seemed to take a really long time to actually get to the good part. However, it seemed somewhat necessary that she give a little (a lot) background. Since I've already purchased the next couple of books I guess I'm going to give this series another try but I hope it gets more exciting.

posted by Lynz_in_Love on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just a different outlook.

    I am a hardcore fantasy and sci fi reader, for many years I thought romance novels were a womens type of story, with all the love interests and make out scenes, that just weren't my cup of tea. this novel featuring the D'Artigo sisters,shows how romance fantasy has changed, oh yah there is still the love interests, but the fantasy plot line is a gripping one which
    will hold your interest till the end. The creatures and powers that involve
    themselves in the storyline will bring a little of what everyone likes to the table. Each sister in the story has her own unique power from witchcraft,to shapechangers, to vampires,and you'll both feel for them,and
    root for them to win at every turn,All her books from this her first to
    the other novels in this series are a highly recommended read, I am sure
    you wont be dissappointed, I wasn't.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Starts a little slow

    I love paranormal romance, so I while browsing the back of this book I decided that it would be an interesting read. Although it did prove interesting it took a little time for me to actually get excited and really into the story. I felt like I couldn't really get into the characters and the plot as much as I can in other stories. The whole half-breed drama and demons coming to earth has been done before, though there was some good dialogue throughout the story. It had some humorous parts and some serious ones of course and for a paranormal romance the romance seemed very quick and over with. Everyone has a different take on things like this and this would be a good book for people just getting into this genre. The author includes references to classic Faerie stories such as the legend of Tam Lin and also Titania, queen of the Fae. While not an overly exciting read, it works for summer boredom.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Great book and series

    I started off by reading Yasmin's Indigo Court series (which is still my favorite) and desided to pick this book up while i wait for Night Seeker. And I loved it. Im currently reading Changling (second in series) for the 3rd time ;)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    The story line itself is okay. There's quite a bit of sex in this book, but it's not really that bad. It's fairly well-written. The characters are very life-like and seem like real people and that's a major asset.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Leisure read

    Starts off slow but you get hooked and want to finish them. I just finished the second book and it still pleases.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Good read

    This books has so many aspects that at first I did not like it but then as I kept reading I couldn't help but be sucked in by the sisters and their world. This world is well thought out and diverse. Great series to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    aberry1282@yahoo

    Add me as a nook friend

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A charming start to a series that keeps getting better! If you a

    A charming start to a series that keeps getting better! If you are looking for a light-reading romp under the moon, this book is for you. The first novel in the Otherworld series, Witchling takes place in Seattle in a world where Earthside coexists with Otherworld, the place of the fae. There are three half-human, half-fae D'Artigo sisters (Camille the witch, Delilah the werecat and Menolly the vampire) who are trying to stop a demon named Shadow Wing from destroying both worlds. Although this series has been categorized as Paranormal Romance, it is far from harlequin. I would consider the Otherworld novels as mostly urban fantasy with a little bit of mystery and a few steamy scenes. The adult content is a side note that complements the story without dominating the plot. What keeps this series fresh is the rotation of the point-of-view between the three sisters. Each book is purely told through the eyes of one sister, then the next book features the next sister. On that note, Witchling is told from the oldest sister Camille's point of view.

    As with the first book of any series, there is a lot of time spent on establishing the characters, but it is very much worth the effort. As the books continue, it is difficult not to become personally-invested in the characters as you gain a rich backstory that is recommended to further enjoy following novels. The drawback with this book is the dialog. It is easy to misinterpret lighthearted, snarky comments with juvenile, cheesy comebacks. The problem with dialog decreases over time, either due to Yasmine gaining more experience over the years as a writer, or that the sisters have evolved from being naive to serious about the war they are facing. With 13 novels in the series at the time of this review, each book has been better than the last. Yasmine has become a skilled story weaver with such a large cast of characters, exotic locations and mythical creatures. Smart, sexy and imaginative, her books offer a fantastical way to momentarily escape reality while having a little fun.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    I enjoyed this book. It was a great read and the background story was well thought out. I started the series to read Book 3 since it's about the sister who was turned into a vampire :) ~ally

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Enjoyed

    Great Read, will read more of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The start of a great new Series of sisters and heroins.

    I bought the book as I was awaiting my other favorite authors new books and found yet another favorite! Whitchling is the door opener for a whole new world of reading. With the dynamic differences in the family and the closeness of sisterhood we are sure to be sucked in and waiting the new arrivals as the come. Fun and Sexy thrown right into the mix of other worldly adventures. As the sisters find them selves cut off from what they know they reach out to a new world and way of life to find who they are and how they fit in. A great escape into another world. Lots of background given a little slow to start but well worth it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    love it

    like the setting in Seattle and the the three sister thing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    It was okay

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked the main character, but....

    Ok, so admittedly this book was a little hard to get into, but once things started to pick up in the story line and I got an understanding of the characters, I was hooked. I do have two complaints: One, Camille has mass sexual chemistry with the men in the novel, and I really wanted to see that to play out more. Two, I just don't care enough about the sisters. Maybe that might change over the next two books of the series, but right now I find them un-compelling. Overall, it's a decent lazy day read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    very impressive!

    Not being a big reader of romance books and not knowing that this was one when I bought it (I'm a guy), I was pleasantly surprised at how hooked on this series I became. I highly recommend this book and it's series to anyone that likes lot's of fantasy and action with a bit of romance tossed in. I can definitely see some movie or TV show being made from these books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    First Paranormal

    This being my first book in this category, in fact probably only read a handful (if that) of science fiction before it, I really enjoyed it and got through it quickly. Now I'm stuck on the genre and looking for more! Exited to finally read Darkling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4