Customer Reviews for

Witchmoor Edge

Average Rating 3
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Good!

Murder, drugs and too many people with motive leads DI Millicent Hampshire on a merry chase to find out what happened and who killed who. Along the way you meet some unsavory individuals and a few people who believe in a open mind and who are willing to help Millicent ...
Murder, drugs and too many people with motive leads DI Millicent Hampshire on a merry chase to find out what happened and who killed who. Along the way you meet some unsavory individuals and a few people who believe in a open mind and who are willing to help Millicent develope her psychic abilities, for her peace of mind as well as to help her in her job. All in all it was a very good read and I for one am looking into more of Mike Crowson's journeys into the life of DI Millicent Hampshire.

posted by KatrynN on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Witchmoor Edge

This is a fairly good murder mystery. The story is revealed entirely through the detectives, which distances it. You do not get the benefit of the action but only the intellectual solving of a very entangled case. I think it would have been better had some of the act...
This is a fairly good murder mystery. The story is revealed entirely through the detectives, which distances it. You do not get the benefit of the action but only the intellectual solving of a very entangled case. I think it would have been better had some of the action been shared, but it was an interesting case with an interesting female detective in charge who employed some unorthodox methods. I think it worth the read.

posted by pagemage on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Midsomer Murders in Witchmoor!

    Despite a few typos, I quite enjoyed this book, including the psychic bits, which I didn't think were overdone at all, and added a twist to the crime solving. I love English detective novels, and if you're a fan of Midsomer Murders, you'll like this book. I will definitely read more of Millicent's adventures, I only wish I could figure out which one comes next - they all have the same or similar pub dates, and it's annoying to read one and find you're either ahead or behind where you should be - please give them numbers Mr Crowson!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good!

    Murder, drugs and too many people with motive leads DI Millicent Hampshire on a merry chase to find out what happened and who killed who. Along the way you meet some unsavory individuals and a few people who believe in a open mind and who are willing to help Millicent develope her psychic abilities, for her peace of mind as well as to help her in her job. All in all it was a very good read and I for one am looking into more of Mike Crowson's journeys into the life of DI Millicent Hampshire.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Dumb

    I hated this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    English mystery, I think

    This was an english mystery, narrated by an American and told from the detectives point of view. If you think that sentence is convoluted, wait until you read this book. There is a massive amount of writting errors. This made the book even harder to read. I must have strung this book out over a month, before I forced myself to finish it. It was not worth my time and effort.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    Nice murder mystery

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Bad

    Horrible to keep interested in

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Didnt like

    Slow moving poorly written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Witchmoor Edge

    This is a fairly good murder mystery. The story is revealed entirely through the detectives, which distances it. You do not get the benefit of the action but only the intellectual solving of a very entangled case. I think it would have been better had some of the action been shared, but it was an interesting case with an interesting female detective in charge who employed some unorthodox methods. I think it worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Not too bad

    Enjoyed this, but it was predictable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    good but not great!

    This is a british english novel read by an american english speaking reader. Therefore the phrasing, wording and language usage at times were difficult to understand. It is also poorly edited, which adds more difficulties to the reading experience.the story didnt flow at times which also proved problematic. For free it was about a C+ or an 80 out of 100.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Not finished?

    It never really came full circle. Character and plot development are lacking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Enjoyable Read

    I found the book well worth reading.good story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    I agree with chocolat chip 33

    Should have finished the murder mystety, write a separate book on the psychics

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Do not recommend

    This book starts out as an intriguing multiple murder mystery set in England and turns into a psychic-babble disjointed book discussing far-out theories of quantum physics. It was terribly disappointing and a bit sacrilegeous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Boring

    Bit boring and slow moving. Definitely could have done wuthout the psychic parts especially the whole end section.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Enjoyed

    The editing left much to be desired. I enjoyed this book, but it was hard to understand at times. And thinking about it now, I'm really not sure who did what. Must have skipped that part. Guess I need to reread the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No clear storyline.

    Didnt like this book at all. I couldnt even tell you what the book was about. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Who doesn't love a Porsche?

    Fun litle murder mystery. Good for the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Excellent

    I didn't care for the spiritulistic end but other than that it is really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Excruciating read

    This is either a vanity project in dire need of professional copyediting, or an extemely poor transcription to ebook format in dire need of human quality control. If you can get past the innumerable misspellings, missing words, missing punctuation, and inexplicable paragraph formatting, you then must deal with a boring, aimless and amateurishly written potboiler populated with shallow and uninteresting characters, underdeveloped subplots that appear out of nowhere and are resolved without sense or explanation, unfocused dialogue that seems like irrelevant filler, and "detectives" who jump to conclusions without evidence yet always happen to be right. Tack on another underdeveloped subplot dealing with the main character's vaguely defined "psychic" powers which are mentioned off-handedly and move the plot not at all, and you've got a really thin doorstop. Unless you purchased the ebook version, and then you've just got wasted space on your Nook. If I hadn't got this for free, I would be demanding a refund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4