Customer Reviews for

A Witch's Beauty (Mermaid Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an excellent addition to a great saga

    Mina knows being a half-breed leaves her looking from the outside as neither her mother¿s race of Mermaids nor her father¿s Dark Ones trust her. She remains an unholy abomination although she risked her life to save that of Prime Legion Commander for the Goddess, Jonah the Angel (see A MERMAID¿S KISS). Her reward is further distrust and suspicion from Jonah and his angelic horde as she displayed Dark One power.<BR/><BR/>Whereas Marcellas wants her caged as Dark One¿s are always evil, Jonah assigns angels to keep an eye on Mina, who detests the surveillance even if the Prime Legion Commander insists it is for her safety as well as theirs. However, her prime guard is David, a former human turned angel, who like Mina struggles with controlling the dark side that flows within his blood. As they fall in love, no one knows whether their passion will ignite the dark or light of their respective natures or burn out either or both of their souls.<BR/><BR/>The latest erotic Joey W. Hill fantasy is an excellent addition to a great saga. A WITCH¿S BEAUTY is a direct sequel to the fabulous A MERMAID¿S KISS with Mina in spite of her heroism even more of a pariah to the angels. David is a fascinating lead protagonist as he believes he sees the goodness in his beloved¿s soul while everyone else assumes his human origins tainted his perceptions with rose colored glasses. As the eternal war continues with no end in sight, a flicker of hope arises with love, trust, and a new generation. Ms. Hill is one of the best fantasists on the market today as her battle of heaven and earth excels with every entry.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    Mina and David are an amazing combination..beauty and monstrousn

    Mina and David are an amazing combination..beauty and monstrousness, strength and weakness, good and evil...it's all here. Mina is one of the most fascinating characters I have ever met. Her physical manifestation of the struggle between good and evil (half of her body is physical perfection, the other half grotesque) is a poignant symbol of her inner struggle to control her Dark One blood. I usually have trouble with irritating heroines. It's a fine line for an author to create a character who is willful and prickly, while still maintaining some likability. Mina is an incredibly well developed character and her emotional journey in this story is utterly satisfying. Although David is a wonderful character in his own right, this is Mina's story all the way. Hill's expertise as a story-teller is never more apparent than in the chapters leading up to the climatic battle scene with the Dark Ones. Boy, does she know how to build up the sickening anticipation of what was going to befall poor David (and Mina) in the Dark One's World. I am ashamed to admit that I snuck at look at the final pages of the book to reassure myself before tackling those chapters...the awful apprehension was almost to much to bear! (I can't remember feeling that much anxiety since reading Stephen King's The Shining). Anyway, of course Hill takes her characters to Hell and back. If I had to pick one word to describe this book and Hill's writing it would be...powerful. Wow. I am officially a Joey Hill addict (that's the sound of Amazon's CEO cackling with glee). Grade: A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    David and Mina are the very definition of "soul mates"

    David and Mina are the very definition of &quot;soul mates&quot; and after reading this book you can't help but believe they exist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Really Good

    Really good series. Romantic, sensual and Hill has a way of tying in so many human personal issues into the stories in thought provoking ways.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    WOW!

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! THE FIRST ONE WAS GOOD. I WASN'T A BIG FAN BUT I LIKE HER WRITING SO I DECIDED TO VENTURE TO THE NEXT BOOK. OH MY GOSH! I'M SO GLAD I DID BECAUSE THIS STORY WAS THE BEST! THE ENDING WAS BEAUTIFUL AND SAD AND... YOU JUST HAVE TO READ IT TO FIND OUT FOR YOURSELF! I'M NOT A BIG FAN OF HER VAMPIRE NOVELS BECAUSE THEY'RE CRUEL AND WEIRD BUT THESE ANGELS AND MERMAID NOVELS ARE SO TOUCHING! THE NEXT ONE (A MERMAID'S RANSOM) IS JUST AS GOOD BUT NOT AS GREAT AS THIS ONE, THOUGH. I'M IN LOVE WITH DAVID... ^_^

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    I laughed, I cried and I fell in love. Such a great series

    I laughed, I cried and I fell in love. Such a great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    :)

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Passion that Transforms

    Both protagonists in Joey W. Hill's, A Witch's Beauty, are in desperate need of transformation. There is Mina, the sea witch, half breed product of a mermaid mother raped by a Dark One. A half of Mina's body is perfect in its beauty, the other half is pitted with scars from a horrible and unjust childhood punishment. the dual aspects of her physical appearance match the constant struggle between her good and evil impulses, the legacy of her parentage. Then there's, David, a warrior angel in the service of the goddess. Oddly enough, he too is in terrible need of redemption from heavy scars upon his soul. It takes a very talented writer to help this unlikely pair find transcendent love in each other's arms, through trials, missteps, struggles, tragedies and sensual passion. With heartache and laughter, Ms Hill creates the compelling love story that is evident in this abbreviated scene. "I'm not something you can fix, David," [Mina] said. . . . "I'm part chaos and Dark Magic. . . . What do you think your Legion would do if it knew? You think if I have the capacity to shed tears or feel a woman's desire, . . . it will outweigh. . . . thought[s] of slitting Anna's throat, letting her blood flow. . . ? . . . . Don't ever patronize me," she said low. "It's dangerous and stupid." "I get it," [David] said, his voice stern and ruthless . . . . Suddenly Mina was in the air, . . . [S]he flipped and flailed through the air, her joints popping, muscles straining. She refused to scream. . . ."Got you." . . . . He took them back to the ground, cradling her in his arms. . . . "Perhaps we both underestimate each other. . . . It won't change how much I want you. Love you." How these two unusual characters battle the Dark Ones, their own personal scars and demons and even death, is a tale worth reading. I personally have read it four times, seeing in it an allegory of how women manage their good and bad selves as they move toward self love and acceptance. This is an all-purpose, can't miss romance, deep and wide enough to enjoy getting lost in again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just as good as the first in the series if not bettter!!

    Wow! Joey W. Hill did it again. I can't believe this book managed to be as good as the first one. There are some points in this story where my heart was breaking. If you don't like emotional reads......too bad...read it anyways. You wont be sorry I promise. David the hero is one of the few angels that were once human. (most angels are born as angels not humans) He is a very young angel with a very deep troubling human past. But his capacity to LOVE is tremendous and the sea witch is the focus of that love. He accepts her totally and completely flaws and all. And believe me she has a LOT. He saves her time and time again, but in the end it is only she that can save him. This book almost has two endings and believe me you don't want to miss either of them. Jonah and Ann (from the first book "A Mermaids Kiss") play a huge part in the second ending!! I can't wait for the third!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nominee for cheesiest cover ever!

    As a fan of cheesy romance novel covers, I just have to say wow, what a gem of a cover! What's going on there? He's a dagger-wielding angel, she's a mer-kraken? I don't even know, but I love it! I would love to know what was going through the models' minds as they posed for this ridiculosity!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to find books this good!

    A Witch's Beauty was such a great story! It's the kind that sticks with you long after it's over. I loved both of the main characters with their compelling combination of darkness and light. I loved that David fell in love with Mina's dark side and accepted all of her unconditionally. I couldn't put this book down- it's definitely a keeper you enjoy over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hill's Best Yet!

    So far this is my favorite Joey W Hill story. I really enjoyed David's character as he was given a chance at redemption by being made an angel and using his compassion, passion and intuition to love a complex person like Mina. I loved that she retained her inner struggles even after her outer beauty was restored, and that she was able to overcome so much and allow David to love her. This one reads in one setting as I couldn't put it down and was sad to finish the last page. I love Ms. Hill's writing style, the wit, the insight, and the fully developed and compelling characters. Can't wait for her next novel, "A Vampire's Claim". This series also rocks!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3