Customer Reviews for

The Witch's Daughter

Average Rating 4
( 490 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(92)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

A New Twist on a Witch's Tale

I loved this book. I was intrigued by the story of Bess, who lives in England in 1628 near a small village. She's a young teenager, living a simple yet happy life with her family on their farm. She has a crush on the local well to do young man, and life is good. The...
I loved this book. I was intrigued by the story of Bess, who lives in England in 1628 near a small village. She's a young teenager, living a simple yet happy life with her family on their farm. She has a crush on the local well to do young man, and life is good. The strange man in the woods, Gideon, keeps to himself and is rather mysterious and unsettling. She doesn't know what to make of him.

Then misery comes to the village, and when all is said and done, Bess is forced to go to Gideon to save her life and keep a promise to her mother. Bess quickly learns what Gideon is all about--he's a warlock--and he's determined to have Bess as his partner in magical power. Bess flees, and so begins her journey through the centuries, always either denying her power as a witch, or using it only for good. Gideon follows her through the centuries, always finding her and forcing her to continue her desperate attempts to have a peaceful life in a new location.

This was a great read! I am so glad I picked this one up. Paula Brackston writes so well, and her attention to detail brings not only 1628 England to life, but also 1888 London, 1917 France, and modern day England, where Bess is forced to make her final stand against Gideon. He's one nasty creature, and you will fall in love with Bess. She's a wonderful character, who's immortality is both a blessing and a curse.

If you are curious about magic and the differences in variations on witchcraft, plus just want to read a good story, pick this up. One of my favorite reads this year!

posted by Sue_G on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

just ok

This book was just ok. The plot was very different from any other book I've read in a while. I really loved the historical references like jack the ripper. However at times it felt like a movie adaptation of a book: characters were not developed to their full potential,...
This book was just ok. The plot was very different from any other book I've read in a while. I really loved the historical references like jack the ripper. However at times it felt like a movie adaptation of a book: characters were not developed to their full potential, a lot of details that would be helpful to the plot are left out or glazed over, and the good parts seem very rushed. The begining is very dull and takes up half the book, the second part is riviting but so short you're left unstatisfied; the climatic ending so so quick you feel like you missed something and need to go back a reread, but the details just aren't there.

posted by Jean9 on March 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 491 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A New Twist on a Witch's Tale

    I loved this book. I was intrigued by the story of Bess, who lives in England in 1628 near a small village. She's a young teenager, living a simple yet happy life with her family on their farm. She has a crush on the local well to do young man, and life is good. The strange man in the woods, Gideon, keeps to himself and is rather mysterious and unsettling. She doesn't know what to make of him.

    Then misery comes to the village, and when all is said and done, Bess is forced to go to Gideon to save her life and keep a promise to her mother. Bess quickly learns what Gideon is all about--he's a warlock--and he's determined to have Bess as his partner in magical power. Bess flees, and so begins her journey through the centuries, always either denying her power as a witch, or using it only for good. Gideon follows her through the centuries, always finding her and forcing her to continue her desperate attempts to have a peaceful life in a new location.

    This was a great read! I am so glad I picked this one up. Paula Brackston writes so well, and her attention to detail brings not only 1628 England to life, but also 1888 London, 1917 France, and modern day England, where Bess is forced to make her final stand against Gideon. He's one nasty creature, and you will fall in love with Bess. She's a wonderful character, who's immortality is both a blessing and a curse.

    If you are curious about magic and the differences in variations on witchcraft, plus just want to read a good story, pick this up. One of my favorite reads this year!

    44 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    just ok

    This book was just ok. The plot was very different from any other book I've read in a while. I really loved the historical references like jack the ripper. However at times it felt like a movie adaptation of a book: characters were not developed to their full potential, a lot of details that would be helpful to the plot are left out or glazed over, and the good parts seem very rushed. The begining is very dull and takes up half the book, the second part is riviting but so short you're left unstatisfied; the climatic ending so so quick you feel like you missed something and need to go back a reread, but the details just aren't there.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    loved it. needed it.

    i think the people who did not like this book were expecting more of a science fiction, fantasy type book. full of magic spells, curses, goblins and the like. it was a great story. i have loaned it out to 2 different people since finishing and they have felt the same way. the story of bess and her struggles and triumphs. such a strong person and for so long. the strength of this woman was amazing. she lost her family, friends, could trust no one, was alone for years and years and years. still standing strong. did not lose sight for a second. never forgot who she was or what she was doing.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining epic fantasy

    In 1627, the plague ravages Wessex as well as the rest of England. All of the Hawksmith family dies except for the matriarch and her daughter Elizabeth Anne. The child is unaware that her mom the earth healer made a deal with Satanist warlock Gideon Masters. However, mother and daughter are accused of witchcraft; the locals hang her mom while Bess flees into the night making her own pact with Gideon that begins an eternity of solitude.

    In 2007, Elizabeth trains Tegan the teen hedge witch how to use her powers wisely. She also tells her female student tales about her family especially her mom, her master Gideon and his master, her encounter in Whitehall with Jack the Ripper, and her work as a nurse in the front lines in Flanders during WWI.

    This is an entertaining epic fantasy in which ironically the historical subplots engage the audience; while the modern day segue feels awkward and distracting rather than anchoring the story line. Overall The Witch's Daughter is an enjoyable read as Bess is an intriguing Forrest Gump like witch who's almost four centuries past hopefully will be explored further.

    Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Escapist Fun

    This book is set partly in modern times, and partly in the past. It is a fun tale of the supernatural and of immortality. The main character tells part of the story through journal entries and recounts her experiences as she moves through history. I read a lot of books that include or focus on witches as subject matter, and I found this novel to be unique and original. It is entertaining and causes you to really consider what life would have been like in various eras of the past. Great escapist fun.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel, "To Be Chosen"

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fun read for anyone who enjoys a bit of fantasy in their life.

    A fun read for anyone who enjoys a bit of fantasy in their life. I was surprised at how well the historical tenure of the book meshed with the fiction. I also feel like there could be another book someday which always excites me as a reader.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Very interesting

    Loved it! It kept my interest, kept me reading into the late night. I will continue to more of this authors books. Well done.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    It was OK

    I was excited to read this however did not find it as compelling as I wished. It was ok but not exciting. I didn't find my self engrossed by the story or the characters.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    Different and Entertaining!

    I picked this book up because I needed something different, and had gotten tired of just your average ficton novel. This book is great! Is there some supernatural stuff? Yes... but you WILL NOT BE distracted by it. The characters are great, the past to present and back keeps you interested. If you like historical fiction, this author also includes well known events/times within the story and the images she describes make you feel like you are really there. If you are doubting this book because you aren't in to the witches theme BELIEVE ME, the story itself carries so much emotion and action that the few times ''magic'' is actually used will not matter to you. Besides, doesn't it get boring reading about the ''real world?'' I like to be taken away for a bit and this book DEFINETLY does that. You will enjoy this book if you want to be entertained in to the wee hours of the night. You will fall in love with Bess from the very beginning and will not be able to put this book down!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Witch's Daughter

    I enjoyed reasing this book and for the most partfound it well written and intriguing. That sai, I also must agree with the professuinal reviewer who found the "current" writing about Bess' life sketchy at best.
    Are we to belive that after all her years alive, and all her adventures throuh time, this lonely teen age girl is th efirst mortal in hundreds of years that Bess feels is worthy of her training? Come on!
    Then we find out little to nothing about Tegan's lifebeyond as she comes into the story day by day. What of her past, her father, why is her mother such a loser? In or to truly be convinced of the verisimilitude of the relationship between Tegan and Bess, we would need much.more of Tegan's background.and more of why Bess feels she is the one ro train. What is Tegan really about? This story could have been so much more with those details filled in.with as much care and attention as her past lives were given.
    All in all, I have to only give 3 stars bcause every time we are brouht back to the present, and Tegan, I was jerked unhappily out of the "willingness" of any reader to gettruly lost in the truth of the story, and reminded I was reading a book.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    What a great read! This is a fabulous tale covering the span of one witches life and her love for the good side of witchcraft. It follows her loves and losses as she spends her life running from an evil man that wishes to posses her, body and soul.

    The way the author went back and forth from the present to the past was wonderful. A lot of times that can be distracting, but Ms. Brackston makes it effortless. This was actually several different stories rolled into one as she reveals different times in Bess's life.

    The story did start a little slow, but after 30-40 pages the pace pickes up and I could not put it down. Bess' story brought tears to my eyes several times. Loved the ending, and hope this is Ms. Brackston's way of continuing this great tale. If not, well..... it is still actually a pretty good ending!

    Brilliant!!!! Will definitely look for more from this author!!

    -- SPeeD

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Interesting

    It sounds and looks interesting and i look forword to reading it

    2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great novel!!

    I LOVED IT!!!!! Everything about the book was great. A must read novel.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Good book

    Definately worth it. Enchanting, passionate, and riveting. A must read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    OMG! Loved this book!

    Read it. Just read it!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Enchanting

    A captivating story, mesmerizing writing made you see the story unfold in your minds eye. Hoping for a sequal

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Very good.

    Great characters!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was curious to get reading The Witch¿s Daughter by author Paul

    I was curious to get reading The Witch’s Daughter by author Paula Brackston. It sounded interesting and unlike anything I had ever read before and so I was very eager to dive right into the story. It was not what I expected and I mean that in the best of ways. It exceeded my expectations and was an all-around well written, good read.

    In The Witch’s Daughter main character Elizabeth “Bess” Hawksmith has lived through some of the most horrible parts of history and now finds herself living in modern England. When a young girl named Tegan falls into her company, Elizabeth begins to teach the young girl the ways of the Hedge Witch.  With this, comes Tegan asking to know more about Elizabeth and about witches. And so, Elizabeth tells Tegan about the lives that she lived. First as Bess, the witch’s daughter who forced herself into the wicked warlock Gideon Masters’ company and was made a witch herself.

    As time goes on however, and Gideon’s obsession with her grows stronger, Bess begins to play a game of cat and mouse with Gideon. Constantly running away from him, hoping that he won’t find her. Though it seems that in each new life that Bess starts, Gideon makes a reoccurrence in the form of another body. Growing worried for Tegan, Bess knows that Gideon is coming for her and the next time they meet will end with somebody dead.

    What I found really interesting and unique about The Witch’s Daughter was how the story is written. It begins with a modern Elizabeth/Bess who has already experienced the events that are told later on in the novel. After she meets Tegan, Bess reveals the stories that are written in her Book of Shadows and that’s when things get really exciting. We learn about Bess’s life as she became a witch and Gideon Masters’ obsession with her began, we get to see her in the 1800s and see all of the aliases she used and lives she had for herself.

    Parts of The Witch’s Daughter were dark but the way it was written makes certain scenes more numbed. I know that that sounds a bit confusing but the way that Brackston writes certain scenes that involve murder or death were always written so that they were dark and the point got across but they weren’t scenes that left me cringing. They were written artfully which I really enjoyed.

    There is a lot that I do think readers should be aware of before they get reading. In The Witch’s Daughter there is a lot of sex and there is a rape scene. I do think that if that could trigger anything for a reader or be something they didn’t expect from the novel should be wary of.

    The characters in The Witch’s Daughter are very realistic, they’re good, wholesome, original character that I would like to read about over and over again. Bess’s character develops so much throughout the novel. It’s so seldom that we get characters who develop throughout one standalone novel instead of requiring to develop over a series of books. Readers who want unique, great characters will find that in The Witch’s Daughter.

    I would recommend The Witch’s Daughter to readers who are looking for a well-written novel with brilliant characters. Readers who are big fans of historical fiction but want a novel with a magical twist are going to like what The Witch’s Daughter has to offer them. I would also recommend The Witch’s Daughter to readers who are eager for a paranormal novel with a realistic side.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    I found that I could not put this book down. The story was well told and made me want more. I look forward to reading more of Brackston's work .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 491 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25