BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Witch's Daughter

Average Rating 4
( 488 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(91)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

A New Twist on a Witch's Tale

I loved this book. I was intrigued by the story of Bess, who lives in England in 1628 near a small village. She's a young teenager, living a simple yet happy life with her family on their farm. She has a crush on the local well to do young man, and life is good. The...
I loved this book. I was intrigued by the story of Bess, who lives in England in 1628 near a small village. She's a young teenager, living a simple yet happy life with her family on their farm. She has a crush on the local well to do young man, and life is good. The strange man in the woods, Gideon, keeps to himself and is rather mysterious and unsettling. She doesn't know what to make of him.

Then misery comes to the village, and when all is said and done, Bess is forced to go to Gideon to save her life and keep a promise to her mother. Bess quickly learns what Gideon is all about--he's a warlock--and he's determined to have Bess as his partner in magical power. Bess flees, and so begins her journey through the centuries, always either denying her power as a witch, or using it only for good. Gideon follows her through the centuries, always finding her and forcing her to continue her desperate attempts to have a peaceful life in a new location.

This was a great read! I am so glad I picked this one up. Paula Brackston writes so well, and her attention to detail brings not only 1628 England to life, but also 1888 London, 1917 France, and modern day England, where Bess is forced to make her final stand against Gideon. He's one nasty creature, and you will fall in love with Bess. She's a wonderful character, who's immortality is both a blessing and a curse.

If you are curious about magic and the differences in variations on witchcraft, plus just want to read a good story, pick this up. One of my favorite reads this year!

posted by Sue_G on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

just ok

This book was just ok. The plot was very different from any other book I've read in a while. I really loved the historical references like jack the ripper. However at times it felt like a movie adaptation of a book: characters were not developed to their full potential,...
This book was just ok. The plot was very different from any other book I've read in a while. I really loved the historical references like jack the ripper. However at times it felt like a movie adaptation of a book: characters were not developed to their full potential, a lot of details that would be helpful to the plot are left out or glazed over, and the good parts seem very rushed. The begining is very dull and takes up half the book, the second part is riviting but so short you're left unstatisfied; the climatic ending so so quick you feel like you missed something and need to go back a reread, but the details just aren't there.

posted by Jean9 on March 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 190 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Great book

    Grest book, enjoyabie read. Highly recomend this book and the other three books, Witches of The Blue Well, The Winter Witch, and The Midnight Witch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book. I love how Bess kept changing herself to fit

    I loved this book. I love how Bess kept changing herself to fit the times. You felt for her and what she was going though at being a witch back in 1628 and forward. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Fun read - great adventure

    I really enjoyed my adventure with Bess. Paula Brackston has a wonderful way of creating fantastic yet quite believable characters. I especially enjoyed how she intertwined the eras and the unique presentation of the present. A great fun read, especially if you are of a mind that this story may not be that fantastical at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Incredible fictional story mixed with amazing facts

    I loved this book. Between the historical references and the education on how the craft really works. Showing the differences between hedge witches and satanist. This is truly a story i will be reading again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    Totally Engrossing. I could not put it down. I would recommend

    Totally Engrossing. I could not put it down. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in reading about different historical times and strong women.
    I thought the characters were all well developed and the descriptive imagery of each location was enthralling.
    I can't wait to read her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    My absolute favourite book!!

    This book is so amazing, beyond belief! Its beautifully written and the story of Bess is so intriguing. I would reccomend this to everyone old enough to know history. Be prepared to laugh and cry though, it is extremely easy to get connected to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    This book was amazing! i loved it the whole time. i cingratulate

    This book was amazing! i loved it the whole time. i cingratulate the writer of this amazing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Excelent

    Love the story! And the different times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    The Witches Daughter

    A poignant story of a young women ( Besswho loses her father, brother, and little sister all at once to the plague. Then her mother is accussed of and hanged for witchcraft.
    Within a few days, she too stands accused.
    So, she runs and finds shelter and education into the dark arts with a man named Gideon, whom she runs from when he tells her of his plan to makes her his bride and that he is not a man but a demon
    When she is caught and sent to await to the burning, the jailer rapes Bess, she calls for Gideon and starts a chants that changes her forever.
    Next we know, it is present day and she is moving in to her new cottage. Here she meets a young girl Tegan, starts to form a friendship and now the story begin as Bess tells Tegan stories and begins to teach Tegan to be a hedgewitch.
    This is not all, Bess is over 200 and wherever she tries to hide from Gideon, he finds her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Great book

    Great story, very well developed characters, very well written. The author left me wanting more, looking for a sequel. I will most likely to read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    I loved this book! once I started reading I  hated to put it dow

    I loved this book! once I started reading I  hated to put it down to do chores or
     cook dinner  etc.  The writing is good I felt like I was there with Bess on her
    9journey, and I didn't
    Want the book to end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Excellent

    A+ all the way around, a terrific read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Lame

    Madness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    :D

    I loved this!!!!! Ithought it waswell thought out and well written. I was pleased to no end about the historical references to the different era's and how she connevted it all together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    What a great read!

    This is a great book for someone who loves mystery, history, romance. It is an easy read and holds your attention. You would never expect the ending. First time I ever read Paula Brackston. She keeps you on the enge of your seat. I would recommend this for a book club of young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Very interesting

    I really liked this book. The ending wasnt my favorite but despite the lackluster ending id definitely reccomend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    GREAT BOOK

    Loved reading this one. Great for those who like a story within a story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Vntu vngj

    Gjbnn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Ross

    Thanks so do u maybe wanna go out if so meet me at cup of joe res 3 byr

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Enjoyed

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 190 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10