Customer Reviews for

Witchy, Witchy (Spellbound #1 )

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Didn't want it to end!!!

This book was really good! The character's were likeable and interesting. The romance was sweet and not to overpowering(which is refreshing since they are teens)! Also the story kept me interested. So much, that I read this book start to finish in a matter of hours! I c...
This book was really good! The character's were likeable and interesting. The romance was sweet and not to overpowering(which is refreshing since they are teens)! Also the story kept me interested. So much, that I read this book start to finish in a matter of hours! I can NOT wait for he next one in this series!!!

posted by keatonsmumma on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Today's Working Woman reviews Witchy, Witchy by Penelope King

This is my first ever teen fantasy/young adult paranormal romance novel.While I was skeptical at first to read something outside of my particular norm, I found that once I got past the first few pages, I was interested.

Here's the story of teen Calista moving to a ne...
This is my first ever teen fantasy/young adult paranormal romance novel.While I was skeptical at first to read something outside of my particular norm, I found that once I got past the first few pages, I was interested.

Here's the story of teen Calista moving to a new town in a new state with her dad so that they can basically start over. Living in the guest house of a mysterious, yet friendly, woman, she figures out really fast that her life is about to change drastically. The good news is that she finally figures out why she is so different from everyone else. And not just different in the sense that all girls feel while during the crazy teen years, but different as in "I'm a witch and have crazy special powers." different.

So if that's not enough, she still has to deal with starting a new school complete with mean girls, a boy who really wants to be her boyfriend, and a guy she met once on the beach but can't get out of her mind and meets in her dreams every night.

I found the story to be believable yet just enough fantasy/paranormalish that I wanted to continue reading. Penelope King kept the story moving quickly while also revealing the important details at the correct moments. When I got to the climatic point, I was so completely hooked that I was almost disappointed in the way it ended.

posted by Todays_Working_Woman on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't want it to end!!!

    This book was really good! The character's were likeable and interesting. The romance was sweet and not to overpowering(which is refreshing since they are teens)! Also the story kept me interested. So much, that I read this book start to finish in a matter of hours! I can NOT wait for he next one in this series!!!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    A fantastic read! Check it out-you won't be sorry!

    At first I didn't quite know what to make of this book. So many YA's I've read lately throw all the action at you right off the bat. SOmetimes it almost makes my head spin. But reading this book was like soaking in a nice, hot bubble bath. I love the world the author created, and that we really get to know the characters. And when the twist happens...well, I DID not see it coming! I wish there was more romance between Nicholas and Calista, but I can tell the series is just getting going and there's alot more to their story but what a great start! Can't wait to get my hands on the next one!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Recommend!!!!! Very good story!!

    This was a really cute story. I loved the characters and the story line was very appealing and made you want to keep reading to see what would happen.... I would definitely recommend this book to all who love books of sweet romantic fantasies, and paranormal intrigue. It has it all.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Today's Working Woman reviews Witchy, Witchy by Penelope King

    This is my first ever teen fantasy/young adult paranormal romance novel.While I was skeptical at first to read something outside of my particular norm, I found that once I got past the first few pages, I was interested.

    Here's the story of teen Calista moving to a new town in a new state with her dad so that they can basically start over. Living in the guest house of a mysterious, yet friendly, woman, she figures out really fast that her life is about to change drastically. The good news is that she finally figures out why she is so different from everyone else. And not just different in the sense that all girls feel while during the crazy teen years, but different as in "I'm a witch and have crazy special powers." different.

    So if that's not enough, she still has to deal with starting a new school complete with mean girls, a boy who really wants to be her boyfriend, and a guy she met once on the beach but can't get out of her mind and meets in her dreams every night.

    I found the story to be believable yet just enough fantasy/paranormalish that I wanted to continue reading. Penelope King kept the story moving quickly while also revealing the important details at the correct moments. When I got to the climatic point, I was so completely hooked that I was almost disappointed in the way it ended.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    loved it loved it loved it

    This was a nice change of pace from what I've been reading lately (thrillers and dystopian). It was lush, vivid, and put me in dreamland ;) I liked starting at the beginning of Calista's journey and entering her new, magical world. When I leave reviews I usually try to point out the good and the bad, but honestly there wasn't anything I really didn't like about this book. Maybe only now I'm depressed that I can't "magically" make my favorite foods fat-free too!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    WONDERFUL Read it three times

    It is a wondeful book it keeps you hooked and excited

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    This book was an exceptional read!! The character's and storylin

    This book was an exceptional read!! The character's and storyline were very great! Once I started reading, I did not want to put it down! I can't wait to start the next one in the series!!! This author is going on my list to keep up with all of her books she writes! Thank you!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Loved this book!!!!!!

    I loved reading this book. I love the story and the hole plot of this book. The love story, the way it all comes together is so very great. I can not wait to read the next book in this series, also any other books this auther writes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    4.5 stars

    I wish I could give half stars, but since we can't I had to go with four. Don't get me wrong. This book was VERY good. and I will difinately be reading the next one. To me it just seemed like the ending came rather abrubt.I didn't ant it to end!But thankfully the story picks up in the next one judging from the except. I liked the character of Calista and her two friends. In a way it sort of reminded me of the TV show "Charmed" one of my favorite shows ever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Beautiful story. Definitely recommended!

    This was one of my favorite books I've read this summer (out of 11), and I can't believe what a steal it was for only 99cents. I really felt like I was a part of the story and I didn't want it to end. The writer is very good and made the magic and fantasy feel real. The excerpt at the end for the next book put me on pins and needles. When is it coming out?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Amazing

    They really mean it when they say, don't judge a book by its cover. The cover of this book and the name of it are definitely not to my liking and I put the book away twice for those very reasons. But one evening I was very bored and started reading it and was unable to put it down!! If you are like me and the cover or title made you lose interest, ignore that and read this book! The story is thick with imagination and the world the author creates is rich and vibrant where the words practically floated off the page and created a movie right in front of me. This book is definitely a treasure and I can't wait to start reading the next one!!! I will say that the title is unimaginative and the cover art completely lackluster and does not do the quality of this book any justice. Fantastic job on the story and on an exciting new magical adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Love

    Absolutely love this book perfect for 11-16 year old girls !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Really loved it. Magical, different, and an awesome love to go with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Wonderful

    This book just hooks u n takes u threw her life makes u life n cry. Like u actually know n r friends with callie. A full 5 stars for a talented author n a brillantlly written book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    A really great story for all ages, teens and adults. SOme of eve

    A really great story for all ages, teens and adults. SOme of everythig for everyone. getting the next one right now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    Sooooo good! Hooked the whole way through in a world of magic an

    Sooooo good! Hooked the whole way through in a world of magic and fantasy and love and friends and danger and dreams. This book has it all!! I wanted it to go on forever!!! Such a great book for everyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    read

    You know i always looked at htis book on my nook not even reading it wondering why did i even buy this book why would i even read about a witch learning to uae magic? But i made my self read it and well i need to read the second book so badly. Its more then a book with a witch trying to learn her powers its a book with romance,mestery,shocks and thrills. Its a book that makes ypu happy to read it its a book that makes you realize why younever heard of it before ha ha yes it my have a stupis name but like they say "you cant judge a book by its cover. Thank you for reading what i had to say and ill be writeing something eles later. Its a part of my book im writing and the headline/title is called Forever your friend: Raven


    #FOREVER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    This book is DOMB

    DOMB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! However;( ..........

    However if they made a movie out of these series i will go damn crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;););))));););)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Wow!!!

    The book cover really should be change. This is an amazing book, I love it from beginning to end. And the love between those two is something I haven't read in a long time. Nice job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5