Customer Reviews for

Witchy, Witchy (Spellbound #1 )

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Didn't want it to end!!!

This book was really good! The character's were likeable and interesting. The romance was sweet and not to overpowering(which is refreshing since they are teens)! Also the story kept me interested. So much, that I read this book start to finish in a matter of hours! I c...
This book was really good! The character's were likeable and interesting. The romance was sweet and not to overpowering(which is refreshing since they are teens)! Also the story kept me interested. So much, that I read this book start to finish in a matter of hours! I can NOT wait for he next one in this series!!!

posted by keatonsmumma on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Today's Working Woman reviews Witchy, Witchy by Penelope King

This is my first ever teen fantasy/young adult paranormal romance novel.While I was skeptical at first to read something outside of my particular norm, I found that once I got past the first few pages, I was interested.

Here's the story of teen Calista moving to a ne...
This is my first ever teen fantasy/young adult paranormal romance novel.While I was skeptical at first to read something outside of my particular norm, I found that once I got past the first few pages, I was interested.

Here's the story of teen Calista moving to a new town in a new state with her dad so that they can basically start over. Living in the guest house of a mysterious, yet friendly, woman, she figures out really fast that her life is about to change drastically. The good news is that she finally figures out why she is so different from everyone else. And not just different in the sense that all girls feel while during the crazy teen years, but different as in "I'm a witch and have crazy special powers." different.

So if that's not enough, she still has to deal with starting a new school complete with mean girls, a boy who really wants to be her boyfriend, and a guy she met once on the beach but can't get out of her mind and meets in her dreams every night.

I found the story to be believable yet just enough fantasy/paranormalish that I wanted to continue reading. Penelope King kept the story moving quickly while also revealing the important details at the correct moments. When I got to the climatic point, I was so completely hooked that I was almost disappointed in the way it ended.

posted by Todays_Working_Woman on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Age recomindation!!!!!!!!

    18+ lots of sex and foul language

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    read

    You know i always looked at htis book on my nook not even reading it wondering why did i even buy this book why would i even read about a witch learning to uae magic? But i made my self read it and well i need to read the second book so badly. Its more then a book with a witch trying to learn her powers its a book with romance,mestery,shocks and thrills. Its a book that makes ypu happy to read it its a book that makes you realize why younever heard of it before ha ha yes it my have a stupis name but like they say "you cant judge a book by its cover. Thank you for reading what i had to say and ill be writeing something eles later. Its a part of my book im writing and the headline/title is called Forever your friend: Raven


    #FOREVER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    This book is DOMB

    DOMB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! However;( ..........

    However if they made a movie out of these series i will go damn crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;););))));););)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Wow!!!

    The book cover really should be change. This is an amazing book, I love it from beginning to end. And the love between those two is something I haven't read in a long time. Nice job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Lov it

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Seriously good

    This book was so much better than I thought it would be! I had low expectations for it for some reason, but it was very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Anonymous

    Pretty good. Its definitly worth a try. The ending was a bit abrupt, like the author had spent all her time writing the beginning and middle of the book and then realized she had a week left before her deadline and had to find a quick way to end it. Besides that though I liked it. For once I genuinely liked the characters, even Justin, and the romance was subtly sweet, just sparking at the very end of the novel. This was extreamly refreshing; I've gotten so sick of YA books and their overdone romances. The way this book did it made me want to bump my rating up to a four (even though I found the whole soul mate thing a bit sickening, but then I'm not one for that sort of thing so I can't really hold that against the book now can I, especially when I knew it would be a romance when I started). Anyway, it was a good read overall. It didn't make me say Wow and leave me thinking about it days later, but I didn't spend the whole time thinking about how much I hated it either. Three stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Sexy cover

    Sexy girl on the cover. She doesn't really look like I would picture Callie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Age recommendation

    This author (not just this book) writes to mature young adults/ teens who can handle language and mild sexual content. So probably like 14+ . But penelope king is ammmaaaazzzziiing, well worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Hi

    I really love this one it's A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Amazing!!!

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Just curious...Can somebody help me?

    I was wondering if somebody had an age recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Lydia

    Love and nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    So Captivating

    This book starts out great. As you read, you find yourself trying to envision how it will play out. And trust me, it is better than you can imagine. Love this book. Can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Good story

    More of a YA book,but I still enjoyed it. Good characters,believable story lines (if you believe in magic, that is) I would definately read the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    Great story. Great writing. WIll be buying the rest of the serie

    Great story. Great writing. WIll be buying the rest of the series for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Loved It!!!

    Loved It!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Loved it

    Really nice, well written story. All three books were excellent. More more more please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Enjoyable reading

    This was no masterpiece, but was enjoyable nonetheless. As an aspiring writer myself I would be proud to share it but would not consider it my opus. I recommend this because the story is great, the characters are memorable, and I enjoyed the writing style. In all fairness, I suspect I would have appreciated this more if I were still a teenager (as opposed to a mom of a teenager)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6