Customer Reviews for

Witchy, Witchy (Spellbound #1 )

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Didn't want it to end!!!

This book was really good! The character's were likeable and interesting. The romance was sweet and not to overpowering(which is refreshing since they are teens)! Also the story kept me interested. So much, that I read this book start to finish in a matter of hours! I c...
This book was really good! The character's were likeable and interesting. The romance was sweet and not to overpowering(which is refreshing since they are teens)! Also the story kept me interested. So much, that I read this book start to finish in a matter of hours! I can NOT wait for he next one in this series!!!

posted by keatonsmumma on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Today's Working Woman reviews Witchy, Witchy by Penelope King

This is my first ever teen fantasy/young adult paranormal romance novel.While I was skeptical at first to read something outside of my particular norm, I found that once I got past the first few pages, I was interested.

Here's the story of teen Calista moving to a ne...
This is my first ever teen fantasy/young adult paranormal romance novel.While I was skeptical at first to read something outside of my particular norm, I found that once I got past the first few pages, I was interested.

Here's the story of teen Calista moving to a new town in a new state with her dad so that they can basically start over. Living in the guest house of a mysterious, yet friendly, woman, she figures out really fast that her life is about to change drastically. The good news is that she finally figures out why she is so different from everyone else. And not just different in the sense that all girls feel while during the crazy teen years, but different as in "I'm a witch and have crazy special powers." different.

So if that's not enough, she still has to deal with starting a new school complete with mean girls, a boy who really wants to be her boyfriend, and a guy she met once on the beach but can't get out of her mind and meets in her dreams every night.

I found the story to be believable yet just enough fantasy/paranormalish that I wanted to continue reading. Penelope King kept the story moving quickly while also revealing the important details at the correct moments. When I got to the climatic point, I was so completely hooked that I was almost disappointed in the way it ended.

posted by Todays_Working_Woman on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Luv

    This book was wonderful.i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Enjoable

    Good quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    I received this as part of the ARR Paranormal Romance part of th

    I received this as part of the ARR Paranormal Romance part of the Making Connections group on Goodreads. I absolutely loved this book. It had everything I want to read in this type of book, magic, mystery, romance and danger.

    The characters were very engaging and likeable and the story held my interest from the very beginning. The romance was very sweet and the entire story flowed fantastically. I can't wait to read the next two in this trilogy to see what more powers emerge for the delightful heroine Calista. Penelope King is a great author and this book should definitely be picked up now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When it comes to novels about magic, witches and enchantments it

    When it comes to novels about magic, witches and enchantments it's either a love it or hate it for me. I really love historical fiction about witch hunting, so I often find myself being disappointed in modern witch tales, because they don't bring that special flavor to the table (don't ask me what the special flavor is since I have no idea how to explain it, my bad). Another thing I love are fairytales – yes, those about orphans who discover they are actually royalty and they get their beautiful happy ending. Witchy, Witchy is a mix of The Princess Diaries and The Secret Circle, in other worlds it's a fun fairytale-like story about a simple ordinary girl, who then discovers she's anything but ordinary.

    I was hooked on the book from the first sentence on and I finished it practically in one sitting. Calista is a character one must enjoy, she has her soft innocent side and the 'naughty' one as well. She grew up with her father, moving from time to time and often opened the fridge just to realize it's still empty. But then her father accepts a job as a worker on a property of an older lady, so they move into a luxurious house in California and leave with that lady. Soon, Calista discovers many thing about herself and about her past – for example, she's a witch. What I like in the storyline is that she was always aware of her special powers, she simply wasn't able to understand why can she move objects or why she has occasional visions into the future. That way the realization isn't as stressful for her, because she already had a hint that the supernatural exists. On the beach she meets Nicholas, dark hair, green eyes – yum yum I know. And even though she only spoke to him once for 15 minutes or so, she's can't force herself to stop thinking about it. And so her new life begins – new elite school, new awesome friends, new dreams about the boy from the beach and she's caught between real life and magic.

    My first thoughts, when I came across this book, were: oh, what a sparkly cover. Then I started reading and I caught myself smiling all through the book. I really loved Penelope King's writing style, it was as she were painting with words. All the descriptions of people, of surroundings, of the new house, it's all full of colors and every word was on it's proper place. All the characters were likable and the storyline progressed fluently and it always kept my interest on a high point. The end however seemed slightly rushed to me and I didn't really understand what is going on and which characters is where and how they ended, but still... that didn't downgraded my opinion on the book. I would definitely recommended it to all those readers who like a slight scent of fairytales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Witchy, Witchy By Penelope King Calista is not your ordinary te

    Witchy, Witchy
    By Penelope King

    Calista is not your ordinary teenage girl; she has always been blessed with special gifts, like opening her curtains with the flick of her finger. Though she had no idea just how special she was until her and her father move to Crystal Cove Estates in Southern California, there she finds out that she was actually born a witch, and the lady of the house who has hired her father to be her new caretaker is actually none other than her own grandmother, Ana. Not only does Calista have to start a new school and deal with the local bully she must also be on guard against a group of people who had been cursed with an insatiable need to kill witches, witch-hunters. Thus begins Calista’s new life and to make matters more interesting she has been having dreams of a guy she met on the beach her first day there, making her feel like a love sick child, but there is more to these dreams than even she realizes.

    So much happened in this first book I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to do it justice. I loved how Penelope King explained her version of witches; it was very unique and intriguing, that when the world began normal human being could not survive so the Gods created a special group of kind hearted people who were blessed with powers of the lesser Gods. Penelope King was able to write a beautiful love story, but also a story about a young woman finding out about herself and for the first time in her life actually having friends that are as close to her as family. The only thing I wanted more of from this book was the story of her mother but I am hoping that, that story is more intertwined within the next books. I definitely can’t wait to read the next book this one was left on such a cliffhanger I am almost itching to know what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Best book!!

    I love this book although, it is a little boring in the beginning... keep rrading the ending is sooo interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    amazing! loved it!!

    amazing! loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Loved it!

    This was a great story, i cannot wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read!

    Apt title. This book kept me spellbound throughout. I loved the lyrical writing and world that Penelope King created. Calista was likeable and relatable from the start. My only complaint was that I wished there had been a bit more tension in some of the scenes. It was there, but Ms King could have taken things much deeper to make a richer experience. That being said, I still enjoyed my reading experience. The book was fun and light, which is a refreshing change to some of the things I have read lately. It shows what love and hope are. Great job, Ms King! I can't wait to read the next book in this series and I will definately check out the other works from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    LOVED IT!!

    This was a beautifully written sweet story with magic and romance. I really liked all the characters and can't wait for the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 5