Customer Reviews for

With Open Eyes: An Original Short Story

Average Rating 2.5
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

good

It was good to read

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money! I am a huge fan of Iris Johansen, even

Don't waste your money! I am a huge fan of Iris Johansen, even when she gets a little odd with the paranormal characters. This was a huge waste of money. The actual story is less than fifteen pages, followed by the first chapter of the sequel. The story was flat, bo...
Don't waste your money! I am a huge fan of Iris Johansen, even when she gets a little odd with the paranormal characters. This was a huge waste of money. The actual story is less than fifteen pages, followed by the first chapter of the sequel. The story was flat, boring, and predictable. There was nothing at all to make me want to read the sequel. The characters had no depth. The premise is good, but falls flat, a cheap Mentalist rip off. The secondary character is so faithful to her students she goes to work when in crisis but then turns her back and walks away in the end? Dont bother, I have sophomores in high school who wrote better than this.

posted by 5442471 on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Cheated

    I feel cheated. I thought i was buying a full-length novel but just ended up with a few disjointed pages. It ought to be illegal for B&N to deceive their customers in this manner!!






    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Disappointed

    I am really disappointed, i love iris johanson but i didnt realize this book was only 30 pages. Why dont they tell you that when you read the details. I would not have bought it if i had known that.




    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    With open eyes

    What a waste of money!, big fan but quite annoyed that i spent money on 15 pages.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Don't Waste Your Time and Money

    I can't believe I spent money on something that took 10 minutes to read...this was shorter than a free preview! Never again.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Shame on you B&N

    This is a total rip off... only 31 pages. I'm only giving it one start because I have to...

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    What a waste.

    Cannot believe these few pages are all there are. What a waste.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Lal

    What a rip off

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Too short! Waste of money.

    Too short! Waste of money.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    31 pages - no ending, very disappointing.

    31 pages - no ending, very disappointing.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    SAVE YOUR MONEY? THIS IS 17 PAGES IN LARGE FONT AND NOT WORTH READING?

    This is an extremely short story at 17 pages. Wish I had known before I ordered it. I do not suggest buying this.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Worst short story ever

    There really isn't even a story here. Just dumb.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Thought I was getting a good deal on a story, however it was onl

    Thought I was getting a good deal on a story, however it was only 16 pages and very predictable and flat. I usually like this author but this was a waste of money and time.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Linda

    Normally enjoy the author but was very disappointed that i preorder a quick read to find out it was only 15 pages

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Grrrr

    Way too short wow

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Disappointing


    I wont prepurchase again-no plot to speak of. Mystery solved with a few phone calls. Very disappointd.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Less than 15 pgs

    Short 31 pgs is a sample not worth it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Deceived

    I pre-ordered this book,thinking it was a full novel. Shame on B&N for not making it plain that the book was only 16 pages long. I am not happy. I tried not to give any stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Waste of money!

    Such a waste...don't do it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    With open eyes

    Wow, I feel robbed. I love the author but did I just pay for a
    very short story?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Horrible

    I think this is the worse book I have ever read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4