Customer Reviews for

With Their Eyes: September 11th: The View from a High School at Ground Zero

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Listen

Im a christian and im sorry that we are being rude to you guys. I think everyone is the same and just some people are bad. I believe that there is nothing wrong with muslims. There acually pretty kool! But it doesnt mean you have to hate 9 11. Its really important. Live...
Im a christian and im sorry that we are being rude to you guys. I think everyone is the same and just some people are bad. I believe that there is nothing wrong with muslims. There acually pretty kool! But it doesnt mean you have to hate 9 11. Its really important. Lives were killed. But i believe that there no problems with muslims! :)

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hard to Read

I bought this book with the anticipation of getting first hand accounts of what was seen by high school students on 9/11. I was disappointed. While I appreciate what was seen this was basically a play put into print. I would have loved to see the performance that the...
I bought this book with the anticipation of getting first hand accounts of what was seen by high school students on 9/11. I was disappointed. While I appreciate what was seen this was basically a play put into print. I would have loved to see the performance that the students put on, it is just impossible to put this into a book. I would not recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Listen

    Im a christian and im sorry that we are being rude to you guys. I think everyone is the same and just some people are bad. I believe that there is nothing wrong with muslims. There acually pretty kool! But it doesnt mean you have to hate 9 11. Its really important. Lives were killed. But i believe that there no problems with muslims! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    "With Their Eyes" opens up an entirely new view of September 11th. This is the story of students of Stuyvesant High School. They tell their stories about living in New York during and after 9/11, witnessing the planes crashing, and dealing with the aftershock. This book is a series of interviews with students and faculty that was later created into a play. The characters are raw; You can sense the pain they go through even just talking about the subject of September 11th... Of having to remember all of it. Think about it every day when they look out their classroom windows and see where the World Trade Center once stood. They experienced it all from ground zero. You see inside the hearts of people in New York. We all heard the interviews on tv with firefighters and policemen and family members of those who died, but in this book, you learn about students and faculty who where there. They witnessed it. My favorite interview was with a student named Max Willens; A senior. His view on 9/11 is compelling in a way that I think he views it in a different way than anyone else. Especially when he talks about it afterwards... He mentions people taking pictures by the remains of the World Trade Center. It makes me sick to even think about someone doing that.. Posing in a solemn stance for a picture to show to the world. During his second interview, he gets interrupted by an annonymous middle-aged man in the coffee shop. This man gives his viewpoint on everything and tells Max he wasn't wrong. To find these things out, you're going to have to read the book. I highly recommend this book!! It is so touching and truly brings light to what happened on September 11th.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Hard to Read

    I bought this book with the anticipation of getting first hand accounts of what was seen by high school students on 9/11. I was disappointed. While I appreciate what was seen this was basically a play put into print. I would have loved to see the performance that the students put on, it is just impossible to put this into a book. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    An Excellent Memoir ...a subjective view from an alumni

    I was just starting my senior year in Stuyvesant High School when the September 11th tragedy befell New York City. Personally, I was in the shopping complex of the WTC when the first plane hit, and I only reached the school's bridge for comfort when the second plane hooked around and plowed through the other tower. The months of my first term senior year were thus a blur. I was lucky enough to be a part of the school's drama department; I worked closely with Annie Thoms on the SING performance that following spring, and I am thrilled at her success with this novel. Remember: before it was a best seller, it was a student run play on the Stuyvesant High School stage.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Um

    Interesting...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Worst day in american history

    Worst day in american history ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Sebra

    Wears purple booty shorts and a panthers jersey. I miss u desean

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Ashley

    Walks in looking bored and tired.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    I hate this 9/11 stuff

    I hate how tons of christians around the world all blame muslims for what happened on nine eleven.cuz its not our fault becuz im a muslim and i believe that its not fair for the rest of us to be mistreated just because of what some scum did.its not like u should blame all muslims for he did.he was crazy and out of his mind and its not fair

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    With Their Eyes

    This book allows the reader to catch a glimpse of what happened in the eyes of a High School at ground zero. It was especially relateable to teens and young adults because many of the things described in the book were from the point of view of a High School student. It was a moving description of a tragic event in our nations history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    a reviewer

    The book was very detailed but it wasn't all that great. It was like a formated play.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Best 09/11/01 Book Ever

    This book is like the heart of the news about September 11th, 2003. It tells the real stuff of what happened and what our dear friends saw at Stuyvesant. (I go to Stuyvesant every day, so I see Ground Zero every day in the summer.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    GREAT BOOK

    I bought this book because I was in a rush and it looked kind of good. i ended up reading it, and then having to go back to the bookstore to get another book because I had nothing to read at school the next day! I recommend this book to people ages 13 and up. I really ended up enjoying and I'm very happy I ended up picking it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    AMAZING!

    It was truly amazing and inspiring. There were places in the book that were very helpful to me. Right after it happened and for a few months I didn't know how to describe how I was feeling, but then I read this book and it was like somebody finally got it. For those of you still who still struggle with the 'whys' and the 'hows', read this book--it helps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Wonderful Book

    This is a wonderful collection of words that allows readers to really see the fear that came into the hearts of so many. It shows the horrfic event of september 11th so that it could be remembered forever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    Truly Touching

    I think that every kid who is curious how Teens felt on that horrible day should read this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2002

    it was amazing!

    I thought that this book was great. It really helps people understand that they aren't the only ones feeling what they do. I highly recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Better in Person

    I bought the book last week, but I saw the play performed in February (I was a senior at Stuy last year). What was said by the publishers' reviews--that the play was more poignant on stage than in book form--was completely accurate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    Unbelievable!

    This book is a very powerful and inspiring piece of literature. I am a student in Stuyvesant High School, and many kids still talk about what happened. It is a terrible experience for all of us, and we are glad that now, our stories have been written down into a book. The stories are very accurate on what happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    Wow..amazing

    wow this book is truly amazing. you guys should really go out and buy it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2