Customer Reviews for

Withering Tights (The Misadventures of Tallulah Casey Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo

Georgia Nicolson's younger cousin with long legs, knobby knees, and no corkers is off to the Yorkshire moors for the summer at a performing arts school. Tallulah can't wait to show off her stuff. She meets a great group of girls after she does a bit of Irish Dancing dur...
Georgia Nicolson's younger cousin with long legs, knobby knees, and no corkers is off to the Yorkshire moors for the summer at a performing arts school. Tallulah can't wait to show off her stuff. She meets a great group of girls after she does a bit of Irish Dancing during the introductions. Tallulah becomes close to the girls who talk about boys, snogging, and daily drama. Tallulah's nervous that she won't make the summer cut and be invited back to the school for the fall. She can't sing, her dancing tends to be a bit wild, and her acting is suspect. Nevertheless, she's having the time of her life and hopes that the final production of Wuthering Heights will push her over the edge of consideration for a permanent place at the school. Louise Rennison starts out a new series that's quite similar to the CONFESSIONS OF GEORGIA NICOLSON series. Georgia and Tallulah both have body issues, they both have a bunch of great friends, and they both are boy crazy. Tallulah lives with a family that rivals Georgia's own crazy family. The quirky school provides the main difference between the two heroines. While it was a cute and funny read, I wish it had been more different instead of just more of the same.

posted by TeensReadToo on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

seriously for girls ages 12-15

seriously for girls ages 12-15

posted by mandy26f on March 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo

    Georgia Nicolson's younger cousin with long legs, knobby knees, and no corkers is off to the Yorkshire moors for the summer at a performing arts school. Tallulah can't wait to show off her stuff. She meets a great group of girls after she does a bit of Irish Dancing during the introductions. Tallulah becomes close to the girls who talk about boys, snogging, and daily drama. Tallulah's nervous that she won't make the summer cut and be invited back to the school for the fall. She can't sing, her dancing tends to be a bit wild, and her acting is suspect. Nevertheless, she's having the time of her life and hopes that the final production of Wuthering Heights will push her over the edge of consideration for a permanent place at the school. Louise Rennison starts out a new series that's quite similar to the CONFESSIONS OF GEORGIA NICOLSON series. Georgia and Tallulah both have body issues, they both have a bunch of great friends, and they both are boy crazy. Tallulah lives with a family that rivals Georgia's own crazy family. The quirky school provides the main difference between the two heroines. While it was a cute and funny read, I wish it had been more different instead of just more of the same.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    seriously for girls ages 12-15

    seriously for girls ages 12-15

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Funny!

    Wow this book is freaking hilarious. I really do quite enjoy British humor, and was laughing with every page. It does take a good few chapters to really get into it.

    This story centers on Tallulah Casey, who is the cousin of Georgia Nicolson. (from Louise Rennison's other series) She ends up being accepted into theater camp, at Dother Hall, so she doesn't have to go to regular camp with her little bro and eat "butterfly sandwiches." No serious attachments, just something to do for the summer. She ends up staying with a quirky family from the local town because there wasn't any room left at the college. This family adds a lot of humor to this story. They’ve got 2 crazy little twin boys, who can’t talk well, a mother who is bonkers and a father who is way in touch with his feminine side.

    She meets other girls and makes fast friends, soon to be known as the "tree sisters." They are a unique bunch of girls. Lullah ends up loving "college" and wants to stay. But her marks aren't good enough and she will have to work her butt off to stay permanently.

    Lullah is always talking about how she's got to grow into her legs and that she has a lack of "corkers." Like I said before, this is very funny. Her and her friends end up having little adventures and meeting boys and snogging for the first time.

    It is a quick read and a bit young, but still quite enjoyable. It had a bit of an abrupt ending. I though there were more pages to it, but then it ended. There will be another in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Best Ever

    This Is My Favorite Book A Definite Laugh Your Pants Off Book.I Would Definitly a Very Well Written Book Louis Rennison Rocked This. Also If You Like This Book Read The Book Coming Soon Called A Midsummer Dream.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Amazing!

    I had read Louise Rennison's other series, the Confessions of Georgia Nicholson, and they were absolutely side-wracking with laughter! I thought that this book would not dissapoint, and I was right. Withering Tights was hilarious!! A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Lol love these books so much...

    This is the best seiries ever!!!!aaaand i suk at spelling...lol

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    i wish they would make a movie out of this book :)

    Honestly,at the beginning,it's kinda dull.but,starting from chap 4 (i think),it starts to get pretty awesome.i bet there will a lot of hot boys if they make it into a movie. i think if i was tallulah,i will go for Alex.Second choice,might be Cain even though he's kinda rude but i believe there's something special about him.deep deep inside . Ben,definitely not.this guy got issue cuz he kissed me,then acts like it never happened.Charlie,he's already got a girlfriend.over all,it is a great book.i think i like Tallulah more than Georgia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Good stuff.

    Just silly enough. Enjoyable read. Will be getting the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Not worth it

    I read it because I was desperate. Boredom does that to you. I think I halfheartedly laughed twice the entire book. It was kinda hard for me to understand and the characters didn't really have any really noteworthy traits or personalities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Fab. JD

    Just as great as the Georgia series. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Didn't get past first chapter

    Unlike the reviews I read online at B&N, I never found any humor in this book. It reads like a teen book. I never got past the first few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 Stars This book is the epitome of light reading. It's very

    3.5 Stars

    This book is the epitome of light reading. It's very fluffy & full of nonsensical ramblings from the mind of 14-year-old Tallulah. A lot of what she says & does is very silly or just completely over the top. There was very little plot, the story favoring more the idea of cataloging all the happenings to Tallulah & her group of friends as they go to dance school & interact with local boys & boys from another school. I liked the parts of the story that had nothing to do with the boys because I thought the friendships were much more fun to read about than the fawnings over boys who were mostly boring clods who fumbled through their time with the girls like they had no idea how to function properly around so much estrogen.

    One down side to the narrative was that I found myself wondering sometimes whether or not Tallulah had some kind of mental disorder because a lot of what she thought, said, & did was just so beyond obtuse that it seemed she must be suffering from slight brain damage. Her preoccupation with her breasts, nicknamed "corkers," got very old to the point that I wanted to find a sampling of 14-year-olds & ask them if they were really THAT obsessed with their own breast development to talk, think, & write about them with every other breath.

    That said though Tallulah & her friends were funny & the teachers were absolutely insane. The book was a fast, easy read. I would recommend to younger adults who enjoyed Louise Rennison's other series with Georgia Nicholson as it's similar. I do not recommend listening to the audio version of this book as I did. The author narrates it herself & so the audio goes from barely audible whispering to high pitched shouting sometimes in the same scene which had me constantly wincing & adjusting the volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    ?,. Aae

    Yykkkkj,, bplolllllllllllllllllll





    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Someone please put your name last name and email please

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Very funny

    Not quite done yet but its really funny

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Should i read it?

    This book seems like a great book but the describtion of thh n,book doesnt tell me anything!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Loved It! Funny and Fresh!

    A fun and hilarious read from one of our favorite authors, Louise Rennison. My daughter and I read all of the "Georgia Nicholsen" stories and laughed so hard! We still talk about them and frequently quote from the stories. Withering Tights is a great follow up to the series, as there is a family relationship between Georgia and Tallulah, although Georgia's mention is very brief. Tallulah is her own quirky personality, and her adventures are wild and crazy. You'll love it! We ate it up in one day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Fun to Read

    I'll be honest, Tallulah's no Georgia (I'll miss her dearly)- but this is still the best book I've read all summer. It's funny, charming, and you can see a some of the resemblance between Lullah and her cousin. I'm still wondering why she kept saying "great balls of fire"... but I would definitely recommend reading it. Can't wait for the next book:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Great summer read for middle school girls (or older fans of Georgie Nicolson!)!

    Tallulah Casey is Georgia's younger cousin. Fourteen and a half years old, to be exact, and every bit as hilarious, with extremely long legs that she's very self-conscious about. Tallulah has been accepted to a Performing Arts College Summer School in the moors of Britain- basically in the middle of nowhere. Because she applied late, she doesn't get to stay in the dorm. Instead she stays with a funny family in town with two little mischievous boys. The family is a bit odd, and they put her in a small wooden room and give her handmade furry squirrel slippers. Tallulah has a bit of a hard time adjusting to the school- disaster after disaster occurs as she tries to discover her talent and earn herself a permanent place in the program. Meanwhile, she makes some crazy friends- tiny but strong Jo, loyal Vaisey, and boy-magnet Honey, among others. Tallulah and her friends meet up with some boys from a nearby school, and they discover that teenage boys aren't quite what they had expected. Tallulah also tries to avoid Cain, a local boy who reminds her strongly of Heathcliff because of his deplorable manners.

    The title, Withering Tights, acknowledges the desolate setting, crazy Cain, and the musical version of Wuthering Heights that the school puts on at the end of term. One of the most fun things about this book is the local pub-owner's daughter, Ruby, who follows Tallulah around like a younger sister. Ruby and Tallulah find some owl eggs and get to see the chicks! Ruby also has an older brother named Alex, who is going away to a performing arts school in Liverpool. Tallulah, of course, has a secret crush on Alex, but Ruby finds this to be disgusting.

    There's also a very helpful dictionary at the end of the book which helps with the slang. Here's an example: "corkers: Another word for girls' jiggly bits. Also known as norkers. Honkers, etc. Cousin Georgia calls them 'nunga-nungas.' She says because when you pull them out like an elastic band, they go nunga-nunga-nunga. I will be the last to know whether this is true or not." This dictionary is funny even if you don't need to look up the words!

    I really enjoyed this book- it was definitely zany and cute. Four stars! The only downside was that it really reads in a fourteen-year-old's voice, so it was like spending a lot of time with my younger sister. Because of this, I would recommend it mostly to middle school girls, but fans of Georgia Nicolson would probably enjoy it a lot, too. The references to Wuthering Heights add to the depth of the story, but you probably don't need to have read Wuthering Heights to enjoy this book- some info is included in the dictionary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3