BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Within My Heart (Timber Ridge Reflections Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    Great Read

    From Bethany House, I received a copy of WITHIN MY HEART, a novel based in 1877. Rachel Boyd had never recovered from the loss of her husband. Her youngest son, Kurt, is a delinquent at school, causing her endless amounts of pain. Her good friend Ben, the shopkeeper, has fallen ill with heart troubles. He has very little time left in world, despite the efforts administered to him by Rand, the town's only physician. Rachel knows medicine from her father, who was a doctor for whom she felt little love, and assists Rand with his medical practices. At first, she is wary, expecting Rand to be just like her father. In the end, she recognizes him for the caring individual he really is, and welcomes him into her life. He offers a strong, manly figure for her and her two sons. She offers him the chance to feel complete. Ben remains strong throughout the medical procedures and offers a bravery that touches all those who love him, including his beloved wife, Lyda. Although Rachel never forgets her husband, Thomas, she finds a new place in her life for Rand. The book is touching, a tear-jerker, and a page-turner. I never wanted to put it down, nor did I want it to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    A Great Christian Historical Romance!

    Within My Heart by Tamera Alexander is a wonderful historical Christian romance full of faith, love and life in the 1800's wild west. The story is engaging and the characters well rounded and realistic. The story follows the standard format that most love stories do but it is tastefully written and full of strong Christian faith. Don't be fooled though, this is not just your average historical romance book! Ms. Alexander has thrown in some twists to the plot that keep this story intriguing, engaging and fresh. Her style of writing is humorous as well as thought provoking and enjoyable to read. Overall, I enjoyed reading this book and came away relaxed and smiling from reading a good, tasteful romance novel! Many thanks to LibraryThing Early Reviewers for the opportunity to review this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Don't Miss for Tamera Alexander Fans!

    Within My Heart is not a high drama, action packed historical. There are no big baddies to wreak havoc on our hero and heroine. There are several little baddies, but until the end, the tension is low.

    Instead, Within My Heart is the story of love and of loss and of living again. This book sneaks up on you, its vivid scenery and budding romance lowers your guard as the layers of the characters are peeled back. Before you know it, you're hit with an emotional wallop that affects you as deeply as the residents of Timber Ridge.

    When I finished this story, I was red-eyed and wrung out, honking into my last Kleenex. Just as I thought, "the book's over, I can catch my breath," there's the author's note at the end from Tamera Alexander sharing her personal story...and well, I had to get the second box of tissues. (Cyber hugs to Tammy, and thanks for opening up to us).

    Maybe I shouldn't have picked this one up while I was feeling hormonal. But I'm the kind of gal who finds a good cry cathartic, so I loved every minute of this ride. Fans of Alexander will notice the different feel to this book, but I'm confident that like me, they'll embrace it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Captivating

    I was given a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishing to read and review. Within My Heart is about a widow named Rachel who is struggling to raise her two boys and keep her ranch from going under. Rachel's father was a doctor so she knows a lot when it comes to medicine. When her friend Ben passes out she rushes to get the doctor to help. After finding the doctor in a compromising situation she turns a cold shoulder to him. Rachel must put aside her feelings so they can save their patient. The longer that they work together the closer they get. As they fall in love they both work through their fears to become closer to God and to each other. This is a wonderful read that will pull you into their world and you will not want to leave.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Great story

    Tamera Alexander writes excellent stories. They are all full of humbling experiences with timeless threads of history,discovery, romance, and faith. I have enjoyed all her stories so far and look forward towards more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    My wife and I read Christian Historical Romances together and Ta

    My wife and I read Christian Historical Romances together and Tamera's  Fountain Creek and Timber Ridge series are both excellent.  The book ties things together nicely and carries an intriguing plot.  Tough to put it down as you really feel like you are part of the town community.  She is one our favorite authors, right there with Terri L Fivash (Joseph and Daveed series).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Highly recommened

    This story was a great end to the series. Love it. Wonderfully written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging Characters Nearly Any Reader Will Identify With

    Without knowing how to trust people trusting God is an even more indomitable struggle. Alexander draws readers into the past as her characters find their way into minds and hearts long after the pages are once again still. Faith and personal growth play a huge part in the stories of each of our lives and Alexander brings many of those experiences back to readers through the struggles her characters find challenging them in their own journeys. Though my experiences and reasons for similar struggles to those Rachel faces may be different, the feelings and doubts she must overcome are something nearly everyone can relate to. Though I read this book out of order, the previous two titles are in my TBR and I look forward to reading more from Alexander's body of work when the opportunity presents itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Worst of the three.

    If read as stand alone typical plot. If read as followup to the first two in the trilogy not the best. Plot was disjointed and left two many holes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book!

    Award-winning author Tamera Alexander has written another riveting book! I've read almost all of her books and have enjoyed them immensely. Somehow I missed reading Beyond This Moment, the second book in this series, but I'll be reading it soon! The characters are well developed, and the story kept me turning pages. I found the explanations of medical procedures very interesting, and each new plot development kept me reading late into the night as I thought, "Just one more chapter." The satisfying conclusion left me looking forward to Ms. Alexander's next series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    I read "From A Distance" (1st book in this series) quite awhile ago and really liked it - I found it to be a pretty original historical fiction and I appreciate originality in a basically formulaic genre. I somehow or another missed #2 but was excited to read this one. Tamera doesn't disappoint. This book stands alone just fine, but the characters from #2 and #3 are right in the midst of everything so having read them will be beneficial but not necessary.
    In this particular book we follow widow Rachel and her 2 boys Mitch and Kurt as they are trying to make it on the ranch when everything seems to be working against them. In the meantime Dr. Rand has been in town as the only Dr. for a 57 mile radius and now someone that the whole town loves has fallen ill and Dr. Rand needs Rachel's help to perform a new surgery on him to give him a little more time.

    I felt like I was on an emotional journey with the characters and I loved every minute of it. Tamera is masterful in her rendering of characters with depth, settings in detail and story lines that keep you hanging on. This series is absolutely wonderful and I look forward to more from Tamera!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Within My Heart Captured My Heart

    Within My Heart by Tamara Alexander captured my heart from the start. Rachel Boyd is a widowed woman who has two young sons she is trying to raise on her own. Her late husband had dreams of raising them on the ranch and she is struggling to fulfill his wishes. With cattle dying due to the winter months, she finds herself losing more and more money. She finds herself wondering if it is worth it to work so hard to honor her husbands wishes, a wish that was completely different from her own.

    Dr. Rand Brookston is new to town. Rand doesn't have a proper building for a medical clinic and makes many house calls with dreams of opening a clinic in the future. Rand and Rachel's paths cross when Rand starts taking care of someone very close to Rachel. The town of Timber Ridge is behind times on technology and Rand has to decide to perform a new surgery on this patient. If he succeeds, he would gain the trust of the town, but he fails....

    This was a great, intriguing book. The mystery and love story kept me up all night reading to find out what was going to happen. Being in the medical field as I am, I was impressed that Tamara Alexander did her research and was accurate in her writing. This was the first book I have read by her and I can't wait to read more! I would highly recommend this book.

    I was provided this book free of charge from Bethany House Publishers. The opinions are my own and have not been influenced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    A Good Read!

    As a widow, Rachel Boyd must be both mother and father to her young sons. Her dream is to raise the boys on the ranch she and her late husband worked hard to build. Life in post-Civil War Colorado isn't easy, and dreams and reality often take different paths. Debt and dying cattle hinder Rachel's goals. Can she turn things around? Only time will tell. Civil War veteran Dr. Rand Brookston has goals of his own. Setting up his practice in Timber Ridge, he hopes to bring modern medical services to the area. Some of the townsfolk are thrilled to have a resident doctor, others are skeptical. He dreams of building a state of the art clinic in town to better serve the public. Rachel is determined to make it on her own, but her pride threatens to trip her up. She's not about to entertain the thought of remarriage, even though friends and family have gently suggested it for the sake of the boys. Rand wouldn't mind settling down, but the only woman who catches his eye happens to be the stubborn Mrs. Boyd. Rachel and Rand's paths cross in unusual ways, and they settle on a truce of sorts. Rand requires Rachel's assistance with medical procedures; she has experience from working with her late father who was a doctor. Rachel needs Rand's help with the birth of a calf. They both struggle with fears that continually lurk in the shadows. And so it goes until...? No spoilers here! It's a lovely tale of winning the trust of others, facing fears, and trusting God. I enjoyed Within My Heart as much as the first two books in the Timber Ridge series. Even though they are part of a series, each book can stand alone. I prefer this, as you don't spend half the book trying to catch up on who's who and who did what in the last book. If you need a good book to curl up with on a chilly day, this might just be the one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Another Wonderful Book by Tamera Alexander!!

    Since I thoroughly enjoyed the first two books in the Timber Ridge Reflections series, I assumed I'd enjoy this third, and last, book in Tamera Alexander's wonderful series. I LOVED this story, and was not disappointed!! The setting, the characters, and the plot kept me reading and never bored with the story. If you're a fan of historical fiction (or even if you're not!) you need to read WITHIN MY HEART by Tamera Alexander - - I'm sure you'll enjoy it as I did. FIVE STARS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    AN AMAZING HISTORICAL ROMANCE/FICTION! A TALE OF LOVE AND HEALING...

    WITHIN MY HEART by Tamera Alexander is an inspirational historical romance/fiction set in 1877 Timber Ridge, Colorado, Rocky Mountains. It is the third in the Timber Ridge Reflections but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with details, depth, fast paced and page turner from beginning to end. It has romance, trust,forgiveness, faith, tenderness, love, lost, struggles, broken hearts, courage, fear, and second chances. The characters and their story is heartwretching, heartwarming and down right amazing in their struggles to survive the harsh lands, keep their faith, and become a family in the Colorado mountains. Through hardships, struggles, sadness, and healing they continue to keep their faith.This is a wonderful conclusion to Timber Ridge Reflections. (Book One,From A Distance, and Book Two, Beyond This Moment).I would highly recommend this book. Once again, Tamera Alexander has delivered a tender amazing story of love, faith, family, belonging with vivid characters and landscape. This is a keeper and a must have. This book was received from the publisher for the purpose of review and details can be found at Bethany House Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    The widow Rachel Boyd is struggling to raise her two sons and keep her ranch running in the Colorado Rockies. Dr. Rand Brookston comes into town with his new modern way of medicine. Rachel does not like doctors because her father was one.

    Under troubling circumstances, Rachel must trust Dr. Brookston. The doctor is having trouble of his own; adjusting to his new life. The town people are having a hard time accepting him as the new doctor.
    Rachel and Dr. Brookston must aside their difference and have faith in each other.

    Within My Heart is a wonderful historical novel. The author uses incredible detail and descriptions of Colorado. There have been dozens of books and movies about a new doctor in town, but the formula works very well in this novel. You instantly feel for the main character, Rachel, as she struggles to keep her ranch and raise her children by herself. This is a great read.

    I would like to thank Bethany House for sending me this copy to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Must read if your a fan of historical fiction

    Rachel Boyd has been struggling to keep her husband's dream alive since his death two years ago. His dream(which became her dream too) was to have a successful ranch that would be a legacy for her two young sons Mitch and Kurt. Some days she wonders if she has made the right choices.It is a major struggle to keep the ranch afloat, with cattle dying and unable to make her payment to the bank she is forced to go to the bank and ask for more money, she also knows she will need to make some tough decisions where the ranch is concerned, but she is no longer sure that the ranch is her dream. Her father was a physician, not always there for his family, but Rachel learned from him the skill of taking care of the sick, she has a natural talent for it.
    Rand Brookston is the local physician and sometimes veterinarian, he has issues from his past that he struggles to deal with, but he has been watching Rachel for some time. He admires her greatly often asking her to assist in medical procedures, so when Ben Mullens the local store owner and dear friend of Rachel needs a life saving medical procedure preformed Rand asks Rachel to assist. While she judges Rand based on the way her father was she soon comes to see that Rand is nothing like her father.Can she let down the protective shield she has placed around her heart and learn to love again?

    Even though this was the third book in the Timber Ridge Reflections series, I missed the first two and had no problems becoming quickly immersed in this story. I really enjoyed reading this historical romance. Rachel's character had to be tough to run a ranch and raise two boys as well, she relies on God and also has support from friends and family. Her brother is a steady influence in her life, as well as Ben and Lydia. I was so glad when she finally gave in to her feelings for Rand, they needed each other, and he was so good with the boys.

    This book was really so much more than just another romance, we saw a young boy deal with behavior issues, a man with heart issues learn that he didn't have long to live, and makes sure his wife is taken care of. We also got a small glimpse of what happened with Rand during the civil war, combine this with Rachel's struggles and you have a book that you won't be able to put down. On a scale of one to five this book easily rates a 5.

    Even though I was provided a copy of this book by Bethany House for review it in no way alters my opinion of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Does life offer second chances?

    Losing the most important person in your life can make you wonder if there is anything reason for you to go on with your life, but when Rachel Boyd loses her husband Thomas, leaving her behind with her two young sons, Mitch and Kurt and a ranch that is barely making ends meet, she questions whether she has the strength to make it.

    Rachel Boyd has grown up in the shadow of her father, a great physician whom never seemed to have time for her or her mother growing up yet the skills she learned while watching him has helped her become a bit of an expert in being a mid-wife in the small town of Timber Ridge.

    When the new town doctor, Rand Brookston, sets up shop, he soon discovers he needs more than Rachel's trained medical skills to help him. In the latest book from Tamera Alexander in the Timber Ridge Reflections series, we have an opportunity to travel back in time to the Colorado Rockies in the late 1800's in Within My Heart.

    Both characters of Rand and Rachel have fears that only love and their faith in God can conquer and they soon will come to realize that they both need one another to face them.

    I received this novel, compliments of Bethany House Publishers for my honest review and literally read all 378 pages on a cold rainy day. What a perfect way to escape and I would rate this one a perfect 5 out of 5 stars. I can't wait to pick up the first books in this series, From A Distance and Beyond This Moment. Tamera Alexander has such a profound way with words that she makes you feel like you are a part of this characters lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    Refreshing and satisfying romance

    This is a book that leaves the reader with a feeling of satisfaction, even though the plot is what can typically be expected from a romantic novel. There is Rachel, a widow that has two kids and is still recovering from the wounds of the past. She is afraid of opening her heart one more time, and she thinks she will not be strong enough to face once more the hardships that a loss brings along. Justifying her choices by trying to protect her kids, she finds herself taken by the new doctor in town, Rand. However, her own experience with another doctor keeps her from acknowledging how interested she is in him. Rand also has a past that casts a shadow on his present; he was misdiagnosed when receiving a serious wound during the Civil War, and is still living the consequences of a terrifying ordeal. Both share the commonalities of a harsh life in the Colorado mountains, but their care for a patient in need takes them to where none would dare to go by themselves - getting to know each other, face their own fears and accept their love. They come to understand that whatever loss and pain they have experienced before, their love would far outweigh it all. Their learning experience gets really intense at the end of the story, with an imminent dangerous situation that has come to be really common to romantic novels nowadays. Mrs. Alexander's writing is enticing, but this conclusion seems to be unnecessary. However, I also recognize that it is a trend nowadays, a quick climax with forced suspense that will obviously end up with the highly expected ending, the two main characters committing their lives to each other. Despite this, the faith lessons included in the plot are well worth it; it is an invitation to accept God's will, make good use of the time that has been given us, and move forward with life. Through Ben's and Rachel's story, the reader is reminded that God pays attention to details and that joy costs pain. The characters learn that "walking into the unknown [is] a little less frightening knowing God is there." They begin to walk in faith, with their heart on God's promise about our wonderful experiences are but a shadow of what is yet to come. Overall, this is a book that felt a bit too personal (in the best sense of the word). The author includes a note and shares an experience that ratified this sensation; it is always refreshing that an author is willing to write an honest book that would open herself to readers. (I would actually like to have the chance to thank Mrs. Alexander for such a beautiful effort). It is enticing, easy to read and has the gift of helping us understand a bit more of how our faith will be strengthened if only we keep our eyes on God, despite fear and pain. Bethany House Publishers sent me a free copy of this book. They only asked me to write an honest review, whether my opinion of the book is favorable or not; the above is my own opinion. Thank you for reading this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    loved the medical setting in the 1800s

    As I was reading this sweet historical romance, I kept getting flashbacks of when I used to watch Little House of the Prairie and Road to Avonlea: small town, good morals, God-fearing characters and great storytelling. Just as I thoroughly enjoyed those TV series, I also did this book.

    It's the late 1800s. Rachel Boyd is a widow with two young sons, who is struggling to keep her ranch after her husband dies. Rand Brookston is a doctor who chooses to set up practice in the town of Timber Ridge in the wilds of the Colorado Rockies instead of accepting a prestigious fellowship in New York. Both Rachel and Rand have fears they need to confront to move forward in the future. I especially liked Rand's character and his story, and I wouldn't have minded at all if it had been expanded. I understood Rand's fear well, but I thought Rachel's fear was not as hard to overcome and it prolonged unfounded toward the end of the story.

    The setting and the circumstances (I love reading about medicinal practice in the 1800s) was one that truly rendered this book appealing. The medical scenes held my interest, like when an innovative surgery was performed, or when Rand explained a medical phenomena that affected his life in the past. I found these details fascinating.

    Alexander's writing is rich, bringing both setting and emotions to life. I was easily able to see the characters and feel their pain, and I was brought to tears several times. The story is not fast paced but unfolds slowly, and I had to adjust to this pacing. Once I did, I savoured it. Because of this, I found that things were wrapped up a little too quickly in the end. The characters made many references to God and their faith, and some Bible verses were quoted. The message is clear that trusting and relying in God will help one conquer their fears and live a full and satisfying life no matter what trials befall them.

    Although this is Book 3 of the Time Ridge Reflection Series, it can be read alone. I had not read the previous ones and I did not feel like I was missing anything. If you enjoy Christian fiction with a sweet romance thrown in, you will definitely enjoy this one. It's one of those cozy books you'll like reading, snuggled on the couch with a hot cup of tea close by.

    Disclosure: Thanks to Bethany House Publishers for sending me this book for review. I was not compensated in any other way, nor told how to rate or review this product.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2