Customer Reviews for

Within Reach (Harlequin LP Superromance Series #1795)

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Loved it!!

    What a great story! I enjoyed how the author allowed the story to evolve, without rushing it! DEFINITELY a re-read for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Another excellent book from Sarah Mayberry

    One of my favorite authors. Her books are some of the best contemporary romances out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    H

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    Within Reach by Sarah Mayberry was a very emotional story that c

    Within Reach by Sarah Mayberry was a very emotional story that captured my attention right from the beginning. I read it in one day simply because I had to know what was going to happen with the characters. Great writing, real characters and a perfectly paced storyline all make this book fantastic. Angie was a wonderful heroine---caring, compassionate, giving and generous. She did so much to help Michael and his children get through a very traumatic experience in their lives. Michael was a total hottie who was a great husband to his late wife and a wonderful father to his children. As in most romance novels Angie and Michael’s road to their happily ever after was not an easy one. There were sensitive circumstances that made it very difficult for them to accept their feelings for one another. I absolutely loved both Angie and Michael. I loved how honest they were with one another. There was no BS here or game playing.

    The author’s writing was so incredibly vivid; I felt each and every emotion with these characters. I really liked how we got to hear not only what Angie was thinking, but Michael’s thoughts as well. This book was a solid 4 ½ stars for me. I would have absolutely given this book a 5 star rating if not for the ending. We thankfully do get our happily ever after, but the book seemed to end rather abruptly for me. I would have loved an epilogue where we got to see how Angie and Michael were doing in their new relationship.

    Overall, Within Reach is a beautifully written story about two unlikely people finding love after experiencing a tragedy and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Author: Sarah Mayberry Published By: Harlequin Age Recommended



    Author: Sarah Mayberry
    Published By: Harlequin
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 5
    Review:

    "Within Reach" by Sarah Mayberry was a very good sweet contemporary romance... a death had happened so suddenly very early in the novel making it a sad read in the beginning, however it did take off and oh my goodness what a good read it was. This novel reads like something that could happen to any of us when death comes a calling. Michael Young has lost his wife Billie suddenly of a heart defect. Michael's wife Billie had a friend(Angie)...like I would love to have....was their to help out him and the two children ...Charlie and Eva...and was to became even a friend to Billie's husband, Michael. There will be many ways you may look at this novel but do pick up "Within Reach" to see just how this author brings it all together in a very well written script. Will Michael began to have feeling for Angie and how does this make him feel about Billie? THIS WAS HIS WIFE'S BEST FRIEND...from school. Again, you must pick up this read to see...even how the daughter feels about Auntie Angie. What will happen when a grieving husband is left with two children and his wife's best friend? Only leaving me to say....Wow, what a read!


    Was "Within Reach" a easy book for me for me to read ...NO... but it was well writing and definitely gives a insight to a loss and pain. Would I recommend it...YES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very moving story

    I really, really liked this one. I'd heard about Sarah Mayberry's books from multiple sources, saying she was a must read. I'd even picked up two of her ebooks prior to this one, but this is the first of her novels that I've actually read. Based on this experience, I'll definitely be reading the others soon!

    I felt she did a wonderful job with Michael, Angie, and young Eva's grief. Their internal and external dialogue really read true to me. I liked their characters, how they dealt with each other, and how they dealt with their situations. Given the subject matter, the plot dealt a lot more with the hero and heroine coming to terms with life without Billie and figuring out their own relationships with those around them, not focusing a lot on romance, really--so perhaps this is not exactly a "super romance"-type book, but honestly, I don't think it's appropriate to write a book heavy on the romance when the grief is still so (relatively) new. Two thumbs up for a sensitive subject, handled well in a moving story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    I LOVED THIS STORY

    One of my favorite authors Marie Force recommended this book written by her friend Sarah Mayberry. And must confess, I simply could not put it down. I loved the premise - a young mother/wife/best friend dies suddenly leaving behing a grieving, faithful, devoted beyond words husband, equally devoted best friend and two beautiful children. The story was believable, heart-wrenching and moving. And I have to say, I could not put it down. Michael and Angie's connection via loss, love, devotion and desire was captivating. Sarah's writing style was believable and transcending. I actually felt like I was experiencing their desire driven guilt. I loved this book. I'll earmark her as an author to search in the future . . . once I get through the 15 others already in my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Within Reach gets your emotions working in this book. You'll be

    Within Reach gets your emotions working in this book. You'll be
    laughing, crying or getting mad at a certain character
    (coughs)...Michael. I love the author's writing. She has been one of my
    favorites since I first read Her Best Friend. The author always writes
    with a bit of tenderness and humor. I enjoy reading her books. Angie
    and Micheal seem to work in a way that Michael and his wife Billie
    didn't. Angie is more like him. Calm and steady. Billie was wild and
    free. Angie and Michael were never really friends when Billie was alive
    but somehow in her death they have come together. Whether it is for the
    kids or what, either way the friendship grows. They hesitate in letting
    it go to far because each of them thinks that they are hurting Billie in
    some way. When they are together they work. They click in a way that I
    think Michael and Billie didn't. Angie is a great character with a big
    heart. When her best friend Billie dies suddenly she steps in and helps
    take care of Micheal and the kids. She changes with Michael, in a good
    way. She always saw her life as being filled with work. Relationships
    beyond friendship were not needed. Being around Micheal and the kids
    more and more shows her what she is missing out on and what she wants.
    Micheal, Micheal, Micheal. What can I say. He spent so much time after
    his wife's death not really living. When he started to actually live
    again he did it with conditions and kept people at arms length. He then
    strung Angie along. She was the one person who stuck by him from the
    beginning and he pushed her away. He puts himself at risk of loosing it
    all again all because he is scared. I loved the story. It spans a year+
    so it is not as fast paced as most books. You really get to know the
    characters. The kids add a lightheartedness to the story. They tone down
    the seriousness at times. I enjoyed reading it and can't wait to read
    more of her books. I recommend this book as a good weekend or beach
    read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1