Customer Reviews for

Within the Shadows

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    ShadowStar

    She sits and waits for members to join her clan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    I love it

    The book was defintely a page turner and it had me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    It was ok.....

    Not nearly as good as Dark Corner which drove me to this author...but it was ok. Its the fatal attraction movie twisted with supernatural the television series in book form. the actions of the characters and ending was a little predictable but the supernatural events added just enough to keep you reading. On to the next.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Do not waste your time!

    This book was simply a rip off of the movie A Thin Line Between Love and Hate with Martin Lawrence and Lynn Whitfield with a few changes. Make the crazy woman a demon and instead of a struggling, working class man, have the main character be a famous author. Other than that, the plot is the same as the Lawrence movie. This story is tired and not even very interesting after the first 50 pages or so. And the sex scenes were way overdone considering the rest of the story was so poorly written. This was definitely not Brandon Massey's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Shadows Among The Obsessed

    There's pulse-pounding, suspense, horror, and spook, wrapped up in this read and something is lurking in the shadows that can't be touched. Something is trying to possess and curse Andrew Wilson, a successful mystery writer and he never would of thought it was his special lady with those mysterious eyes. In a frightful night things happen which leads Andrew into a frightful house that will change his life forever. Months after that night Andrew returns and that special lady is there and this time there's no escape. Get ready for some shrills & thrills that's going to build into a heart pounding climax and hidden secrets that are revealed and the results can be deadly!! Caution this is one suspense novel that will keep u looking around and wanting to read more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unexpected!!!

    This book kept me on my toes. At times, I was so frustrated with the characters that I wanted to climb into the book and smack them. And Mika, I despised her from the beginning. <smile> When Andrew felt unease in his stomach at the things she was doing, my stomach was turning too. And those cats!!! I have always disliked cats and for them to be there added to my hatred of her. A very well written book and I will definitely be reading his other books. I can see why it won an award.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    Surprisingly good find!

    I was at the library and stumbled across this book. I've never heard of Brandon Massey before, but was pressed for time. I figured i'd take a shot on this book. I am a big fan of fiction and Stephen King type books, and this book was great. It wasn't complete horror, but also suspense. Characters seemed true and personable, and you felt the impossibility of the situation. Awesome book, with irony. Definitely check it out. I know i'll be reading more of his works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    Is it Love or is She Crazy?

    So I had to take a break from the romance novels and hit up one of Brandon Massey's new thrillers titled 'Within The Shadows'. If you love a good thriller, then this is the book for you! It started off with a bang! It ended with a bang! This book shows you that you should be open for the possiblity of anything happening in your life! The good, the bad and the UGLY! Brandon's main character Andrew realized all that. He was a creature of habit until the one fatal day he did something he didn't normally do! Yep, it costed him a lot when he stepped out of his normal habit and didn't FOLLOW his CONSCIENCE!!!! True enough some good came out of it. BUT a whole lot of bad and ugly came out of it ti! It was a great tale of friends, family, and lust! Take a ride with Andrew as he deals with writing a book, selling his 4th novel, sex, love, and the ghostly adventures!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    AWESOME, CREEPY, and SCARY!

    OK - this one got me. It's hard to put in words without sounding cliche - but this one you can't put down. I've been searching a long time for the novel that would keep me up late at night reading with anticipation. I kid you not - I read this book until 3:00 in the morning and kept telling myself 'Ok - I'm gonna stop reading after this chapter...' only to find myself so absored in the story I had to continue reading another chapter. I really had to force myself to put it down! Some good funny spots too. I'm reminded of two movies - 'Fatal Attraction' and 'Play Misty For Me' - great movies about OBSESSED & CRAZY females, only the character in this book really came from hell. Good character development, great story telling. GREAT JOB Brandon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    Your in trubel now

    This just so happens to be my first experience with Brandon Massey's writing, but let me tell you, it definitely won't be my last. I'd avoided his work, yet supported his willingness to do something outside the typical AF-AM fiction for years. Horror just wasn't my thing. You mentioned 'King' to me, I thought Martin Luther, BB, a million others before I'd land on Steven. Well, if this novel is an example of Massey's brand of horror, count me a horror convert. This novel was excellent beyond words, gripping me in its clutches and forcing me to turn pages. Possessed is the best way to describe my experience. Massey worked his hoodoo on me big time. Billed as a 'supernatural FATAL ATTRACTION', Within the Shadows is the story of mystery novelist, Andrew, and the mysterious but beautiful woman, Mika, that enters his world at a coffee shop. Spying the beautiful Mika reading one of his novels, Andrew waltzes over and gives her the soft sell. Soft, because Mika is definitely feeling him from, 'Hello.' After a night of passionate sex (what??, in a horror novel, whodathunkit) Mika manages to become Andrew's second skin. She's everywhere without invitation. On his doorstep. At his friend's house. His dreams. And, she ain't letting go despite his attempts, soft at first and then increasingly more forceful, to get her to step away from his life. Andrew soon finds out that Mika is much more than he ever anticipated. Massey manages to also add in some very interesting subplots: Andrew's strained relationship with his father; Andrew's platonic, heading toward more relationship with an alluring sister-friend; and a ghost that needs Vanna White (dude can't spell for nothing, funny...I was in tears when the ghost wrote, 'Your in trubel now', as a warning to Andrew). I was thoroughly impressed by Massey's work. This was definitely some hard-earned money well spent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Within the Shadows by Brandon Massey is a twisted love letter with a P. S. that no one will see coming.

    Within the Shadows is the new offering from suspense writer Brandon Massey. When author Andrew Wilson meets the heavenly Mika Woods in an Atlanta coffee shop he's instantly smitten with her beauty and poise, but when he realizes he may have moved too fast after spending a night with the woman she begins to show him there's nothing heavenly about her. The plot, when summarized, echoes of the 1987 film Fatal Attraction, but only vaguely. Mika Woods is not Glenn Close. Mika Woods would gut punch Glenn Close. And Michael Douglas. And still kill the bunny if it meant getting her man. She is relentless in her pursuit of Andrew, subjecting him to suffering that he just doesn't deserve. . . or does he? This question and others are answered in a swift narrative that weaves seemingly unrelated subplots into a primary tale that will have you shooting towards the shocking conclusion like a Black Talon bullet, all of your preconceived notions shattering on impact. Make room on your shelf for this one and others. . . Brandon Massey is here to stay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic horror tale

    While driving back with his father after a round of golf, Raymond makes a sudden turn and drives until he has an accident. Nearby is a mansion which his son Andrew enters to look for a phone. The place seems haunted so he quickly goes outside gets a signal on his cell phone. When his father is admitted to the hospital because of injuries due to the accident, Andrew asks him if he knows about the house and he says no but his son knows his father is lying. --- Not long after that episode, Andrew, a thriller writer, is in his favorite coffee shop prepared to do some writer when he meets Mika Woods. She makes it plain she is interested in him and entices him into coming back to her hotel room where they have hot sex. Mika makes it plain that she loves him and he is the soul mate she waited years to find but Andrew wants to take things slow which upset her greatly. Her obsession leads her to stalk Andrew and his friends while his father dreams about the mansion. When Andrew finally admits something supernatural is going on, anyone who gets close to him is in danger from Mika and her paranormal powers. It is up to Andrew¿s father to save the son he abandoned so many years ago.--- Brandon Massey is a fantastic horror writer who will appeal to readers who like Bentley Little. Andrew rings true as he goes from skeptical non believer in the paranormal to a believer because he has witnessed strange happenings and knows he needs to destroy Mika before she further hurts those he loves. WITHIN THIS SHADOW is worthy of a Bram Stoker award nomination.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1