Customer Reviews for

Without Conscience: The Disturbing World of the Psychopaths Among Us

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Without Conscience

    A thought provoking book on the study of individuals without conscience. Eye opening with accounts from case studies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2015

    Required reading

    Required reading for any person that has involvement with sociopaths or psychopaths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I was raised to believe that a loving God made every being equal

    I was raised to believe that a loving God made every being equal even as I was taught about the devil.
    This book details decades of serious research and is a riveting read – and an important one that re-educates the world to the stark fact that equality is not a given.
    Some predators became deranged through bad treatment in childhood. Others are simply born with a less efficient capacity for empathy, just as some babies are born with other mental deformities.
    ‘Without Conscience’ urges a too-kind, too accepting public to become discerning and then to instruct their vulnerable children to become knowledgeable too. It teaches about the profile of a predator, warning signs and ways to protect oneself. Education is the best crime prevention tool.
    I used to feel guilty when I felt suspicious of a person. Now I congratulate myself and step aside as quickly as possible. Forewarned is forearmed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Without Conscious is a must have for anyone who has come into co

    Without Conscious is a must have for anyone who has come into contact with a psychopath/sociopath, as well as, anyone who wishes to not fall victim to one. Dr. Hare delivers his research on the subject matter in an easy to follow and understand approach making this book a quick read. When many people hear the term psychopath they immediately visualize Charles Manson or the likes, however, the majority of psychopaths blend in with society and this book offers glimpses into the other, more common types. Basically, a well written and very informative book that I would recommend to everyone. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    None to compare

    Dr Hare is by far the best in his field when it comes to working with psychopaths. All of a sudden psychopaths are everywhere but he has been working with them and truly understands how they work. Devious minds. It has helped reading his book since I work in a jail setting and have come across a few.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Wonderful forensic appearing book. I don't envy Dr. Hare's perso

    Wonderful forensic appearing book. I don't envy Dr. Hare's personal experiences with psychopaths but totally admire and give him big props for all of his tenacity and hard work in exposing such filth!
    Dr. Hare's readings are WELL worth reading and learning from!

    This book is a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Insightful

    It was a little repetitive and self-congratulatory, but there were also some very insightful points.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 39 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2