Customer Reviews for

Without Fail (Jack Reacher Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Guarding the Vice President

In this novel Jack Reacher is asked to find the holes in the security surrounding the Vice President elect. It's setting is from Wyoming to Washington D.C. and places in between. The action never stops. Besides the exciting story we get to learn a bit more about Reacher...
In this novel Jack Reacher is asked to find the holes in the security surrounding the Vice President elect. It's setting is from Wyoming to Washington D.C. and places in between. The action never stops. Besides the exciting story we get to learn a bit more about Reacher and his brother. All in all a well written book.

posted by JewelDragon on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Certainly Not the Best Reacher Novel

I've read them in order thus far and have loved the series. Without Fail....#6....does not make the grade. In comparison to the first Reacher books, this one plods along. Action is limited, and isn't that a main reason for reading these types of books? By no means ...
I've read them in order thus far and have loved the series. Without Fail....#6....does not make the grade. In comparison to the first Reacher books, this one plods along. Action is limited, and isn't that a main reason for reading these types of books? By no means is the story awful nor is it a waste of money; it just does not rise above average. Plodding, characters lack a little depth, limited action - good overall, but just not the level of GREAT I've come to expect.

posted by SlapShot62 on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 323 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Guarding the Vice President

    In this novel Jack Reacher is asked to find the holes in the security surrounding the Vice President elect. It's setting is from Wyoming to Washington D.C. and places in between. The action never stops. Besides the exciting story we get to learn a bit more about Reacher and his brother. All in all a well written book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly recomended

    I like Jack Reacher stories very much. Hollywood has miscast Tom Cruise in the role of Jack reacher.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    A Secret Service Procedural

    This book combines an exciting story about a plot to kill the Vice President-elect with fascinating details about how the US Secret Service protects its charges and the capabilities and limitations of this fabled organization. The author throws in a bit of gratuitous sex and romance, but not enough to slow down the action. The puzzles involved in the case are presented fairly, so the reader has as much chance as Jack Reacher to figure them out in time. The well-known rivalries between the FBI and other national security organization are shown as real but put in perspective. No agent wants wants bureaucratic conflict to trump the mission. There is plenty of technical stuff about weapons, procedures, and jargon. For once they ring true. I've seen alleged ex-CIA and ex-police authors make blunders that ruin the flow of the story. Lee Child gets it right, which means he has great sources and pays attention to detail. All-in-all, a great read and a good introduction to the Secret Service protective detail.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Without Fail is a great book.

    This is a spectacular book. Jack Reacher is a character worth revisiting time and time again. Reacher and Neagley make this particular story spectacular with the teamwork they use. Froelich and Stuyvesant are fantastic characters.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Certainly Not the Best Reacher Novel

    I've read them in order thus far and have loved the series. Without Fail....#6....does not make the grade. In comparison to the first Reacher books, this one plods along. Action is limited, and isn't that a main reason for reading these types of books? By no means is the story awful nor is it a waste of money; it just does not rise above average. Plodding, characters lack a little depth, limited action - good overall, but just not the level of GREAT I've come to expect.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2002

    A COMPLEX THRILLER SURE TO PLEASE

    England born, New York based thriller writer Lee Child has made an impact on his chosen genre with his first five novels. Much of the acclaim he has received is undoubtedly due to the creation of his memorable protagonist, Jack Reacher. Jack is a cool, canny and collected former military cop who needs all his skills and know-how in 'Without Fail.' A female Secret Service agent comes to Reacher with an astounding request: 'I want to hire you to assassinate the Vice President of the United States.' According to her this is the only way to test the security system she has in place to protect the newly elected V.P. When she makes this request, she does leave out one significant detail: a team of accomplished killers have already drawn a bead on the Vice President. They, of course, are not aware of Reacher's involvement. Child has spun a complex, unsettling thriller that will satisfy the most ardent suspense fiction fan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OK...just not fantastic

    I'm working my way thru the Jack Reacher books. This is probably my least favorite of the ones I've read so far. It was still worth reading, especially if you're a Jack Reacher fan and it does share some info about Jack's brother that is interesting. It just didn't grab me with the same degree of excitement that the other Reacher books have done. Plus it seems like the same basic plot has been done by Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, Daniel Silva, and several others.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    One of the waeker Reacher Novels

    I have read at least half of the Reacher series and thisnwas my least favorite but still a decent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    A very good book.

    This is a great addition to the Jack Reacher series but a little bit different than the others in the series. Lee Child pulled off yet one more fantastic book that is a must read for every Lee Child reader

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    loved it

    all of the jack reacher series can be counted on to be a page turner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    Of the first six, the least entertaining

    I'm a big Jack Reacher fan, and I'm reading them in order. Killing Floor got me hooked, and the sequels were both different and entertaining.
    "Without Fail" disappointed me a little. I sense a pattern (Jack working with one - no here two good-looking women), but nothing seems to be happening until page 250. No page turners, no cliff hangers, Jack not getting physical with bad guys.
    The plot is good, but the pages leading in to it were a wasteland of non-events.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Lee Childs & Jack Reacher just gets better and better

    Sure, there's some reality supsense involved, but the writing is crisp, with the perfect amount of detail and I've never been able to guess what's going to happen next or who the bad guy is (at least not 100%). A master and I found this to be one of best I've read; a lot of mental suspense as opposed to all action, but I found it to be a good character building book of the series. Reacher is a complex dude, always slightly out of reach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    This is way below average when compared to the first 5 books in

    This is way below average when compared to the first 5 books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Reacher missed too many obvious clues

    I don't mind Reacher being a physical superman, even to the point of being unrealistic, but he's also supposed to be reasonably intelligent: he didn't get to be a high-ranking officer, then busted, then fight his way back to Major by being stupid. So when he missed several significant clues during this investigation, including two major ones right at the beginning that I spotted immediately, that was far too unrealistic and contrived for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Addictive

    Since finding the first Reacher novel, I've been hooked. I highly reccomend this series to anyone who enjoys mysteries and military fiction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Best series ever!

    I could simply reiterate all the great reviews everyone has already written, but instead I will simply add: From the Killing Floor to The Affair...non-stop completely engrossing story lines. I can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Just OK

    not one of Childs best efforts. Seemed liked it took along time to get to a certain place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    Good escapist read but too simple

    Some times Child's way to make Reacher look smart is to dumb down everyone around him. Other than that it was a good airplane read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    Best to Date!!!

    This installment in the Jack Reacher series was amazing. I've read all of the Reacher books and this one I could not put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2003

    Another of Lee Child's Finest

    Once again Jack Reacher is on the case in this amazingly written book. Just as in all of the Jack Reacher series, Lee Child paints one of the most vivid and provocative tales that I have ever read. I give this book 5 stars and recommend it to any and all readers that love a good action novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 323 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17