BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Without Fail (Jack Reacher Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 318 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Guarding the Vice President

In this novel Jack Reacher is asked to find the holes in the security surrounding the Vice President elect. It's setting is from Wyoming to Washington D.C. and places in between. The action never stops. Besides the exciting story we get to learn a bit more about Reacher...
In this novel Jack Reacher is asked to find the holes in the security surrounding the Vice President elect. It's setting is from Wyoming to Washington D.C. and places in between. The action never stops. Besides the exciting story we get to learn a bit more about Reacher and his brother. All in all a well written book.

posted by JewelDragon on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Certainly Not the Best Reacher Novel

I've read them in order thus far and have loved the series. Without Fail....#6....does not make the grade. In comparison to the first Reacher books, this one plods along. Action is limited, and isn't that a main reason for reading these types of books? By no means ...
I've read them in order thus far and have loved the series. Without Fail....#6....does not make the grade. In comparison to the first Reacher books, this one plods along. Action is limited, and isn't that a main reason for reading these types of books? By no means is the story awful nor is it a waste of money; it just does not rise above average. Plodding, characters lack a little depth, limited action - good overall, but just not the level of GREAT I've come to expect.

posted by SlapShot62 on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Guarding the Vice President

    In this novel Jack Reacher is asked to find the holes in the security surrounding the Vice President elect. It's setting is from Wyoming to Washington D.C. and places in between. The action never stops. Besides the exciting story we get to learn a bit more about Reacher and his brother. All in all a well written book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    A Secret Service Procedural

    This book combines an exciting story about a plot to kill the Vice President-elect with fascinating details about how the US Secret Service protects its charges and the capabilities and limitations of this fabled organization. The author throws in a bit of gratuitous sex and romance, but not enough to slow down the action. The puzzles involved in the case are presented fairly, so the reader has as much chance as Jack Reacher to figure them out in time. The well-known rivalries between the FBI and other national security organization are shown as real but put in perspective. No agent wants wants bureaucratic conflict to trump the mission. There is plenty of technical stuff about weapons, procedures, and jargon. For once they ring true. I've seen alleged ex-CIA and ex-police authors make blunders that ruin the flow of the story. Lee Child gets it right, which means he has great sources and pays attention to detail. All-in-all, a great read and a good introduction to the Secret Service protective detail.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    loved it

    all of the jack reacher series can be counted on to be a page turner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2014

    I to am a retired CID, who started out in the Rangers, and in 19

    I to am a retired CID, who started out in the Rangers, and in 1989, I was to busted up to keep up physically, attended Military Police , MPI then worked with CID, eventually working with the Drugs, God I hated that one. I associated with Reacher the first time I read him, thank God an American Hero with some sense of true God and Country. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Very good read

    Mc

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Luv it

    One of the better jack reachers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Lee Child does it again!!!

    Loved this book. A great read and couldn't put it down. I really enjoyed looking at the secrete service and their function.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Jessie

    Ran in after him "are you okay?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    good read as I continue to research "early Reacher"--N

    good read as I continue to research "early Reacher"--No melodrama here as everyine on both sides of the plot are at risk the entire novel--good suspenseful situations come at the reader pretty quick. Enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    This book fits into the niche of fringe detective novels, comfor

    This book fits into the niche of fringe detective novels, comfortably. I like the main character, and the book was not much effort to read, and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    From JNK

    This is a good book. As always does great. However the ending lacked. It was entirely to slow and nothing like most Reacher action scenes. That was the only big dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5