Customer Reviews for

Without Mercy (Sean Dillon Series #13)

Average Rating 3
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    not worth the time

    This was my first Higgins book and will be my last for a LONG while. The plot was confusing because it jumped around and scenes that should have been written in detail and should have been full of suspense and action were summed up in one page. The action is minimal, there is no character development and I was so horrified by the poor quality of this book that I made myself finish it just to see where he took the story. I realize this novel is late in a series of novels with Dillon, but a strong novelist will write a series book as a stand-alone piece as well as a continuation for established fans. Unlike other series that I've discovered half-way through, I won't be going back to the earlier novels to read about any of these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    Not sure abut this one

    I haven't read Without Mercy yet, but just the fact that Hannah Bernstein has been killed off makes me wonder if the book will be as good as his others. I love Higgin's books especially the Sean Dillon series. I feel that getting rid of Hannah will do the story a grave injustice. But, I can't make a decision until I at least read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    Haven't read yet

    Hello I didn't read the book because in Germany it's not availible at this moment but i will buy to know whats happen to Hannah Bernstein. But now i read that she will be killed. Now i think the action is maybee flown away. I'm a great Fan of Mr. Higgins but i think to cut Hannah out was the wrong decison. Dilon and Hannah were a great team with this toch of love. Maybee i'll buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2005

    Don't Waste Your Money

    I have been a fan of Jack Higgins for over 30 years. Almost all of his books have been great, fast paced excitement, plausible stories rooted in history or great espionage thrillers designed to provide dashing heroes and ¿Daring Do¿ plots to show how good the good guys can be and how bad the bad guys can be. However, after the last three books dealing with the Rashid dynasty I had made the decision not to buy this lasted excuse for a ¿Jack Higgins¿ novel. However it was my birthday and my kids bought it for me. So I had to read it. (I wish they had bought me an UGLY tie instead.) This book follows the trend of the last two books. The characters are the same old tired bunch. The book jumps back and forth so much it loses continuity and all sense of rhythm. However on a bright note by now Mr. Higgins assumes we all know Sean Dillion¿s complete life history so he doesn¿t explain it to us each time the great ¿Sean Dillion¿s¿ name is mentioned. The plot is as weak as a two week old tea bag and about as exciting. There is no action in the book what so ever! Most of the book is written in the third person as a narrative. There is very little dialog between the characters. If any more people are shot and fall off the balcony of the Gangster¿s penthouse on the Wapping Pier, then the British govt. can designate it the official execution chamber of the ¿Wandsworth¿s Prison¿. Also if the Salter¿s are such rich and powerful ¿Govners¿ in the British underworld, why do they have such a lousy security system if they have one at all? Also the friendly banter between people who have just tried to kill each other for the second, third and in some cases fourth time is ludicrous. Also if they are that bad at killing each other, how did these people become the pre-eminent spies/agents of their respective governments? By the next book I expect to see poor old Hannah Bernstein back in action because all the bad guys get resurrected why shouldn¿t Mr. Higgins inflict it on one of the good guys too? Not only does Mr. Higgins keep replaying the falling dead guy off the balcony but this is the third time that Dillon has been shot down flying a sea plane and just like in the book ¿Thunder Point¿ he goes down in the same water depth and of course just off shore with in easy swimming distance. Otherwise he wouldn¿t be able to heroically drag his companions to the beach and save them. Another point I am sure that Al Bowlly was a Great Jazz Pianist but didn¿t these guys ever listen to anyone else. Also since when does every Bad guy in the book have to be a Jazz pianist himself? Come on Mr. Higgins, the books are getting repetitive and boring. The best thing that could have happened in this book is that the bad guys would have succeeded and Dillon and company are killed. Then Higgins would have to come up with some new characters for his books. I am sorry this rant was so long but I hate what Higgins is doing to his books. He is too gifted an author to write such garbage. And if his editor won¿t tell him so then we, his audience should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action packed Dillon thriller

    During a top secret operation sanctioned by England¿s Special Branch Chief General Ferguson, agent Sean Dillon killed several Provo IRA operatives. and Russian Major Greta Novikova. Russian Josef Belov, who used his multi-billion dollar company, to fund terrorism, also was killed. Special Branch thought Major Yuri Ashimov and Russian Major Greta Novikova were also killed but they survived. General Ferguson¿s aide Deputy Superintendent Hannah Bernstein was critically injured. --- Ashimov wants revenge and is backed by President Putin in his desire because he saw too many of his plans and operatives destroyed by the Special Branch. In the hospital where Hannah is recuperating a nurse who is a sleeper agent in the IRA is ordered to kill her. She succeeds and is then killed by her handler. After a few more attempts are made on General Ferguson¿s agents they find out the two Russian agents are alive and pulling the strings of the IRA. Chasing each other half-way across the world, the adversaries vow to kill the enemy and only luck and skill will determine which side wins. --- Jack Higgins never writes a dull book. His novels are always exciting so that readers can¿t turn the pages quickly enough to find out what happens next. One of the author¿s greatest talents is his ability to make cold blooded killing machines like Sean Dillon sympathetic to the reader. This book is one of Mr. Higgins' best novels to date and will definitely appear on the bestseller lists. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1