Customer Reviews for

Without Remorse

Average Rating 4.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Starts with the Best

This is my favorite Clancy book. It is gripping, emotional and downright thrilling! I have 4 copies of it now and have read it about 10 times. Each time finding more and more I missed the previous time through. Do not let the length deter you and skip all the profes...
This is my favorite Clancy book. It is gripping, emotional and downright thrilling! I have 4 copies of it now and have read it about 10 times. Each time finding more and more I missed the previous time through. Do not let the length deter you and skip all the professional readers out there who don't like it. They just don't get it. This is the beginning and without this book and the pain in Clark's past we would not be fully involved in the future books. This book is powerful and I fully agree with what Clark does and who he does it to. This is a must add to every Clancy collection.

posted by Dei3Nascar8 on October 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Nook Book version has lots of errors

I found many typographical errors, run-together words, funny symbols, and misspellings in the Nook Book version. These are not in the print version.

posted by 9944112 on October 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Starts with the Best

    This is my favorite Clancy book. It is gripping, emotional and downright thrilling! I have 4 copies of it now and have read it about 10 times. Each time finding more and more I missed the previous time through. Do not let the length deter you and skip all the professional readers out there who don't like it. They just don't get it. This is the beginning and without this book and the pain in Clark's past we would not be fully involved in the future books. This book is powerful and I fully agree with what Clark does and who he does it to. This is a must add to every Clancy collection.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Nook Book version has lots of errors

    I found many typographical errors, run-together words, funny symbols, and misspellings in the Nook Book version. These are not in the print version.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    I have not read any of the other Tom Clancy books before reading this one and I was pleasantly surprised. The story moved along quickly and I had a hard time putting it down. I will not go into the plot since other reviewers have already done that. The story had me guessing what was going to happen next only to find out there was some kind of twist and what I thought would happen didn't happen at all. The ending was unexpected and I wondered while reading the last couple of chapters how it would work out since I knew the main character is in the later books in the series by the author. When I read the end I wanted to shout for joy but everyone was in bed so I left it to just a smile and put the book on my shelf by the next book in the series, Patriot Games. Yes, I did pick up all of the books in the series prior to reading Without Remorse and am glad that I did. This is a terrific read and would recommend it to anyone that doesn't mind the language and detail in the book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    The secret of John Clark

    Unlike most Clancy novels, this one takes off from the beginning. When John Kelly's pregnant wife is killed in a car crash, it seems his life is over. But when he meets another woman(an abused prostitute who has run away) and falls in love with her he tries to help her with her recover from her drug addiction. But when she is killed by her former pimp, Kelly looks for revenge. Meanwhile, Kelly's new career with the CIA is beginning to form. An excellent book about one of Clancy's main characters.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good book but nook errors

    The book itself is well writen but nook version has errors original book doesnt have like on page 517 miss o'tooles name is misspelt and in original book it is spelt correctly

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Character

    I read this first in the Jack Ryan series of books. It does a good job of introducing a main character that continues to have a prime place throughout the series. Mr. Kelly (later Clark) is a conplex person with a unique sense of morality. Troubled by a personal tragedy with a need to save himself and others, Mr. Kelly deals a decisive blow against the bad guys. This book is well written and stays interesting from beginning to conclusion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Don't Listen to the 'Professional Critics'

    In reading the professional critic's reviews, I was struck at how insulated from reality they are. They complain, whine, and moan about how immoral the actions are of the protagonist in this story. Yet, they give scant consideration to the types of individuals he is killing. The pro-critics like come from the place that insists that justice comes from only law enforcement and never the private citizen. What if law enforcement did not care? What if some part of law enforcement were in on the problem. This is the case in this book. What is a private citizen to do? Is he to simply let things continue?

    John Kelly, a navy seal, is living a solitary life as he grieves for the loss of his pregnant wife. He has disconnected from society. On the way back to his boat after a supply run, he impulsively picks up a pretty young hitcher by the name of Pam. He takes her back to his boat where out of sheer need and lonliness, they become lovers and fall in love in the process. Pam has a secret. She is a prostitute and a drug addicted drug mule. She is running from that life after witnessing one of her associates murdered for the sadistic pleasure of her pimp/drug lord. After chance encounter with a couple that also happen to be doctors, the story all comes out. Rather than abandon Pam, John helps her beat her addictions. She wants to help those girls she left behind. A bad bit of timing and a slight underestimation by Kelly leads to Pam being murdered and left in a fountain for all to see. It also leads to Kelly being left for dead. Kelly's doctor friends help patch him back up. He decides to take down the operation and the operators responsible for Pam's death. Complicating this aim is an operation to rescue POWs in veitnam. Kelly is reactivated and plans and ultimately is point man on the rescue. He is also now killing pimps and drug lords between his military related trips. The prostitution and drug ring has a cop on the inside. This cop is getting ever closer to Kelly. Will Kelly get the POWs out? What becomes of his quest to eliminate the operation that killed Pam? Will his admiration and care for the nurse that is his reluctant helper turn into more?

    This is a good book for those that realize that sometimes violence has to be the answer when all other options fail. This is for those that, under the right circumstances, can kill without remorse.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    In the beginning...

    Tom Clancy's Jonh Clark is born in one of Clancy's best. John Kelly, a former Navy SEAL, loses his wife in a tragic traffic accident. After some time, Kelly picks up a female hitchhiker. He takes her to his island, falls in love with her, and learns of her past as a prostitute. After he learns the story of her life, he takes her with him as he recons the location the people who harmed her. He is spotted, shot in the back on the head with a shotgun, lucky for him, the window slowed the bullet, and his girlfriend is viciously murdered. Kelly goes on a roaring rampage of revenge as he kills drug dealer after drug dealer without remorse. A very human story that ultimately results in the death of a certain John Kelly and his rebirth as John Clark. Tom Clancy's portrayal of this human story is so wonderfully well-done that it surpasses even, im opinion, The Hunt for Red October in eloquence and wonder. After reading this book, you will look forward to the movie in 07.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Outstanding

    This is a great prequel to the Rainbow Six book, and really helps you get to know the John Kelly/Clark character. I highly recommend it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No

    No

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Without Remorse

    Great emotional, thrilling, edge-of-your-seat roller coaster. But the way the eBook was created has many typos. The actual book doesn't because I've read it before. Several times through each chapter, some commas will be periods. Sometimes there will be spaces between different sections, sometimes not. Two people talking in the same paragraph. A sentence that ends abruptly and a little farther down it will pick up with an indentation like that phrase sprouted a sudden new paragraph. Anyway, great book, 5 stars no doubt. But the eBook version does need to be cleaned up. Nevertheless, the dozens and dozens of typos won't distract your reading, or at least not me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Great read

    Probably the best in the Ryan series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    Highy recomended.

    We are introduced to John Clark in this novel. We also are emersed in the writing style on Tom Clancy. While this wasn't his first book, I believe, it sets the stage for his very great series of stories that are both plausable and fast paced. It made me want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Awesome

    This is my favorite clancy book of all time. Wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Hunter C.

    Amazing book. I recommemed it all peoplwho love war books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Another Tom Clancy Great.

    Excellent Reading. Need more of the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Hhaam

    Haaaaaaaaaaam

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    This one is waaay, waay, too long. Could have been written in ha

    This one is waaay, waay, too long. Could have been written in half the pages. Not a bad story but too much chit chat and explaining and outlining the different situations. Too much hero worship. I served multiple enlistments and believe me, we're not all the "best and brightest" to be fawned over.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    An outstanding read. I've read it 3 times. Definitely my favor

    An outstanding read. I've read it 3 times. Definitely my favorite Tom Clancy novel, and I love them all. Great emotion and action in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    The best of Clancy's books

    A must read. You won't be able to put it down. John Kelly is amazing. A great revenge novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 283 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15