Customer Reviews for

Without Reservations: The Travels of an Independent Woman

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Excellent Book

    This is the second time I read this book. I read it 3 years ago before I headed to Europe and while cleaning out my storage room, I found the book and have not been able to put it down. Alice does an excellent job recounting her memories of the time she spent in Europe. She paints a vivid picture with lots of detail that I lost myself daily envisioning myself living through her story. I highly recommend this book. Through her, I live vicarously until I can once again travel to Europe.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Travel memoir but not for type A travelers!

    Dear Alice,
    Each morning I am awakened by the sound of a tinkling bell. A cheerful sound, it reminds me of the bells that shopkeepers attach to their doors at Christmastime. In this case, the bell marks the opening of the hotel door. From my room, which is just off the winding staircase, I can hear it clearly. It reminds me of the bell that calls to worship the novice embarking on a new life. In a way I too am a novice, leaving, temporarily, one life for another.
    Love, Alice"

    At first I was a little leary of reading this travel memoir. I was afraid of my mental comparison to "Under the Tuscan Sun" (which I could not finish). I'm glad I did not pass up the opportunity to travel with Alice across Europe. Alice observes the countries in the way I would like to--to not get caught up in the "big" things we are all are supposed to see but to relish in the small and everyday beauties different countries/cultures have to offer us. In my younger years, whenever I traveled it became all about the perfect photo, or how much stuff I could cram in the day to make the most of my trip. As I've grown older, I've learned to lay off the camera a little more and just sit back and watch. Oh sure, if I only have a day I still might choose to pack a day with sights but I've decided to give myself permission to just "be" and watch others in the same state.

    I love how the author will send herself postcards to remind herself of those tiny, expressive moments years later. This is something I shall have to do in the future. To see a post-card in your own hand, writing about a special moment should surely take you back to that moment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wanderlust!

    Part memoir, part travel log, this is a tale of a woman who decides to give up her quotidian life to travel throughout France, England & Italy for the large part of a year. She writes about the various places she visits, the sights she sees, the people she encounters. She has given up the roles and discovers/finds bits & pieces of her true self along the way. The writing is basic, but good. If you're expecting a big denouement, you won't find it here. But you may just find yourself contemplating life, catching a bit of wanderlust and randomly manifesting travel plans out of the blue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    This book introduced me to the travel memoir and I wil

    This book introduced me to the travel memoir and I will be eternally grateful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Highly recommended to me. So far I agree.

    Was very highly recommended to me by someone who is an avid reader and a traveler. Haven't read much yet, but so far am really enjoying the book. It might be more of a book for a woman.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    great

    I really enjoyed this book I felt like I had gone on a vacation and it led me thru the eyes of the writer into the cities she had gone and the experiences she had. I am looking forward to her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Tony

    Walks to the bar

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Aaron

    Hey guys

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Bree

    Hi..

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Brooklyn

    I never got stitches. Never had time. *shows a four inch long scab, basically* Not a scar in literal terms...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Bw

    Lol..i guess

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Zack

    Anyone want to chat?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Sellena to guys

    Wanna chat? Meet me in the hot tub at res 13.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Andrew

    Sorry family game night

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Synthia

    "Me and my brother?" She frowns apologetically

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Pik

    Ok.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Alison

    She walks in.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Dakota

    He yawns, pulling out his phone to text.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Dakota

    (Lmafooo im a girl) "Id like a beer"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Steve

    *Gets drunk dancing to swing my sword butter editition*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3